Contest: Counting my Eggs

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovZFsWgVggxJw4bh8qRdowjgjvEbbNBNckZRmzMCJ8iqs2BBDNxoGtuRwS2XU1LwyoDe4t3mRzmAts3yFZYnG9QTx.png

source

Hi famz, trust y'all are keeping well. Welcome once again to my blog. Let me start by appreciating my brother and colleague @sahmie for putting up this contest. I found the topic to be a thoughtful one. I felt I really have one or two things to share as touching the topic before us. Let's get right into it guys. I really do hope you find my entry Interesting...smiles.

Introduction

I think a farmer like me would understand what it means to count ones eggs since we deal practically with birds that lay this eggs and we watch them daily with expectation.
Some would actually lay up to 15 egg and then hatch just few. My experience lately with my hen is just so disappointing.

I watch them lay many eggs and see them hatch just few of them after having so much expectations from these hen. I mean I had literally counted the eggs hoping I would have the same number of chicks...sigh! Well let me attempt the questions below.

Have you ever found yourself counting your eggs before? If yes, how do you feel when it didn't go as counted.

I think this happens to almost everyone, therefore am not excluded. I've found myself counting my eggs like it the only business I have and that because I have expectations. Even when I do not feel like doing such, I end up because am eager to see result for my inputs.

It might not be a healthy practice but how can you help a man who is so eager to see his things going just as planned. The question now is, has my plan always come out as expected? The answer is no! There are many times my expectations go south inspite of my input but you know, it's not the end of the world as we can always try again.

How do you handle the idea of counting your eggs before they hatch on Steemit? Do you set realistic expectations or take risks?

The truth is sometimes you can't help but count. That of steemit seems inevitable sometimes. An average user who makes good and quality post would surely have expectations that such post would be appreciated enough to get good upvotes and then he sets his mind on it.

The rule on steemit say, vote is not guaranteed but at the back of our mind we seem to have this notion that there could be some exception to this rule if everything is done properly, especially if the post is of a very high quality.

Now to your question, for me, I find myself doing both, I mean I take risk and also set realistic expectations. That's where the balance is for a user like me. There are posts I make that are targeted ones and there are other post I make that I do not really expect a return from. It's more like a 50/50 chances stuff.

I call this method the balance for me because the targeted ones most often brings some consoling returns which the one posted with the 50/50 chances would not. I am not actually saying the 50/50 (risk) post doesn't bring returns at all...nah in fact, most of the post I got good upvote on were those I never expected would bring them.

How does counting your eggs apply to life outside of Steemit? Have you learned any lessons about being cautious or optimistic?

Counting ones eggs is actually a mindset which is not limited to a particular aspect of area of one's life. It's a thought pattern that reflects in all we do. But then I've learnt lately not to be too optimistic or have very high expectations. It better to allow the eggs hatch than to count ahead.

photo-1498654077810-12c21d4d6dc3.jpeg

unsplash

Our lives is not in our hands neither can we tell what will happen the very next minute unless you're trying to live by faith as a believer. When living by faith you see beyond the reality that stares at you in the face. So if your counting of egg is not borne out of faith then you should learn to be realistic and factual. It would go a long way in helping your mental health and sanity.

Should you focus more on the effort you put in or the potential rewards on Steemit or any platform?

Am glad you used the term Petential Reward, meaning a reward that might or might not come anyway. Having high expectations about reward is the quickest way to gas out and eventually leave the scene. There were times I was practically surviving on the platform with little or no rewards, yet I was seeing some other users scooping in as much reward as they can.

That would have been the time I would have gas out and probably left, there wouldn't be @ lhorgic anywhere here anymore. But then I stuck to my method. I kept making targeted post and was at the same time taking my risk by making post that might not bring me returns.

photo-1604876128648-8d3b61d6d951.jpeg

unsplash

In a nutshell, my answer would be to focus on your effort. You're effort would surely pay off someday, I really can't tell when or how but I know that one's sincere and pure effort wouldn't go unnoticed on the platform. Just learn to make do with the little you think you're getting as reward.

How do you balance ambition and counting your eggs? Any strategies for managing expectations while pursuing goals?

I didn't know I was going to come across this question, but then I've shared my balancing strategy in the previous sections. Don't be over ambitious. Just try to be real and factual. You would save your self a lot of headache. If you know you're the kind that can't handled surprises, I mean the one that shocks you when things do not go as planned then you need to embrace reality and not some uncertain and futuristic view about your input.

Conclusion

Someone once said that those who expect too much are those who gets hurt the more. This saying when viewed from the human point is accurate but from my religious standpoint, it's a no. If I trust God with all my heart, He won't disappoint nor let me down... smiles. Am sorry I had to chip in my faith talk...you know, it's my lifestyle.

Trust you enjoyed the ride down here. Thanks for your time. Let me invite my friends @rakiya @josepha @olaniyidennis


Regards
@lhorgic♥️


Sort:  

Greetings!
Happy to see your post. you have elaborated things in a manner able way. Your style of writing is unmatched. You have used markdowns like a pro. It seems that you are a hard working. I hope I will see great posts in future. I am very impressed with your writing. I appreciate you.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 6 months ago 

Thank for commending my effort, I really do appreciate. I look forward to seeing your entry as well.

@lhorgic see you soon

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 6 months ago 

Thanks for the engagement friend, I really appreciate.

@lhorgic my pleasure 😊

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 6 months ago 

Thank you for sharing your insightful entry for the "Counting my Eggs" contest. Your analogy of counting eggs in farming to setting expectations in various aspects of life, including Steemit, is thought-provoking. It's essential to find a balance between optimism and realism, especially when it comes to expecting rewards on platforms like Steemit. Your approach of focusing on effort rather than solely on potential rewards is commendable and can lead to long-term satisfaction and success. Additionally, your emphasis on faith and trusting in a higher power is a reminder of the importance of perspective and resilience in navigating life's challenges. Keep up the great work, and best of luck in achieving your goals on Steemit and beyond.

 6 months ago 

Wao! This is one of the best things I've read today. The way you carefully dropped your thoughts as touching this write up is really awesome. Thank for the quality engagement, am grateful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60071.31
ETH 2409.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43