SEC15 WK3: "Growing up in a Rural or Urban Area"**

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago

IMG_20240130_174447_383~2.jpg

At times in life, it is always difficult to let go of what we know and are used to. But as the sayings goes "the only constant thing in life is change" Today I will take you guys through a journey of my life in the rural environment where I grew up. We will discuss the....

IMG_20240130_075014_386.jpg

difference between urban and rural
areas, stating three major features.
Discuss which area did I grew up and why?
Know whether if i was told to go to the area i didn't grow up from, will i?
Know What things are there in the area i grew up from, that aren't in the other place?

My life in rural environment

Sometime ago in the year 1980, after giving birth to my elder sister, my parents in search of better life, took a leap of faith and journey through Akwa Ibom State to Bayelsa State. A journey which lasted them about 3 days (thank God for advancement in technologies).

Twon Brass is a small island with fishermen settlement and Agip oil company. Their major occupation is fishing, apart from the few who works in Agip. I and my siblings attended both primary and secondary school there. My father was a palm wine tapper, while my mother was a tailor (the very first female tailor in Twon Brass Bayelsa State).Most weekends, we will go fishing and picking of periwinkles even though my mom used to frown at it or we will go to assist my father in his hut by carrying palm wine from the bush to town.

IMG_20240130_175154_591~2.jpgIMG_20240130_174730_477.jpg

IMG_20240130_174447_383~2.jpg

To really grasp the difference between Rural and Urban, let look at their definitions.
URBAN... this is an area or region that is densely populated with high built-in infrastructures/ industrialization.
RURAL..is a human settlement, village, Hamlet with low population density not more than 15000. It's mostly located outskirts of cities.

Differentiate between urban and rural areas stating three major features

URBAN...
1-High population density
2-High standard of living as a result of systemic development of infrastructures,
facilities, cities and towns thereby making life fast and complicated.
3-They are isolated from nature because of their built-in environment, thereby making their source of income to be non-
agricultural such as trades, commerce,
service industries.

RURAL...
1-Low population density
2-low source of income because their main source of income are Agriculture and animals husbandry derived from natural habitat thereby making life simple and relaxed.
3-they have direct contact with nature and other natural elements.

Which area did you grow up and why?

IMG_20240130_174715_204~2.jpg

As stated earlier, I was born and raised in RURAL environment known as Twon Brass Bayelsa State. Reason being that as a child I didn't have control of where I want to be born and raised. So my parents in search of a better life, journey down to brass and gave birth to all of us except my elder sister.

If you were told to go to the area you didn't grow up from, will you?

The answer is emphatical yes. Infact am currently living in an urban area, because as stated earlier, change is the only thing permanent. In as much as I enjoyed my childhood in the rural environment, a lot was lacking. So it was time to make a change. 2021, I relocated to Uyo Akwa Ibom State where am currently staying.

What things are there in the area you grew up from that aren't in the other?

Can't really say much except for the peace and security. One can literally walked alone at night without being scared of hoodlums. Easy access to fresh fish and quick money from instant sales. But as it is with everything, the disadvantage really outweigh the advantage in the sense that, no easy access to quality education (no tertiary institution), no healthy competition (something to spur you up to want more) and no high profile connection.

I sincerely appreciate the organiser of this contest. It brought back lots of memories.
I want to use this opportunity to invite my friends @bossj23, @ngoenyi and @uduak01 to also participate in this contest

Sort:  

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your comment has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @josepha?
 5 months ago 

Greetings @kemsyluv

Your current place of habitation is in the urban area, because you consider that there are better life opportunities and better options for employment, education and health.

You were born in a rural area and your father was a man who worked with palm wine, which, you helped to take it to the city for sale. Although you grew up in a rural area, in the year 2021 you decided to change your lifestyle from rural to urban.

In rural areas you point out the low density or population, as well as very few employment opportunities, while in the city it is more populated with more infrastructure, but people are more isolated from the natural environment.

I think that in the urban area you now have better opportunities to take advantage of technology and the ease of obtaining a better job.

I congratulate you and wish you success in your challenge.

 5 months ago 

It sure did have better opportunities. Thank you so much for visiting my post

 5 months ago 

Success, my friend. May you have better opportunities where you feel more relaxed to lead a more victorious life, whether in the rural or urban area.

God bless your life and family.

Loading...
 5 months ago 

This is a beautiful piece dear. The urban and rural dwellings are unique in their own way.

Thank you for the invite and all the best in this contest friend.

 5 months ago 

Hello dear, I wish to you to be in peace and living their best moments of life.I really enjoyed the explanation you gave about your entire life on this topic. Like every parent, your parents also came to the city for a good life. Life in the village is easy but there is no higher education, this is a big shortcoming of the rural area.I enjoyed reading your post. Wish you good may you always achieve whatever you aim for yourself in life and make the best journey .Greetings from me Have a beautiful.

 5 months ago 

Thank you so much my friend. I say a big amen to your prayers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65432.88
ETH 3423.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30