Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 40: My Worst Highschool Experience.

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago

HELLO BEAUTIFUL COMMUNITY
I am @jovita30, it's a great pleasure to be here again. Am always happy when I see a contest that is life relatable.
I want to personally thank @ruthjoe for the invitation to this contest.

Introduction

High school is known as secondary school in Nigeria. It is attended after completing junior secondary school or elementary school.
Nigeria operates a 6 3 3 4 system of education. We spend 6 years in primary, 3 years in junior secondary school, 3 years in senior secondary school (high school) and 4 year at least in the university depending on your discipline.
The high school is very dramatic. It determines a lot about us. This a also a place where we make so much mistakes and also learn so much lessons.
I would be sharing my experiences as a high school student, hope you learn from my experience.

pittsburgh-4811970_1280.jpg

Source

ABOUT MY SCHOOL

(Ojo senior high School)
My school is located in Lagos. Lagos is a city in Nigeria. Just as the name suggested, my school is in Ojo local government.
That's to say Ojo high school is in Ojo local government area of Lagos state in Nigeria.
It's a very popular school in the local district called district 5. District 5 is made of so many local government s, Ojo inclusive.
The school apart from it's academic excellence is also known for unique characters.
In my school we had the good, bad and ugly.
We come first in everything, in debates, sports, essay writing, spelling B, match pass and of course fighting.
Most parents send their children to the school because of all this above qualities including the fighting.
In Lagos survival is not an option but a necessity. Because my school is a government owned school, the school authority does not regulate who comes to the school.

nigeria-walk-1577895_1280.jpg

Source

MY WORST HIGH SCHOOL EXPERIENCE

I was thirteen years when I got in to high school. I was an intelligent student, so that made me the favorite of many. I represented my school in various competitions and won. My principal loved me.
Often times she would invite me to her house and my parents would not refuse me from going.
As a secondary school student, I was a member of the MDGs and Learn. I was even a per education for the society of women and AIDS in Nigeria ( SWAN).
In my second year, I was made the senior prefect. Normally that post is given when a person in his or her third year, that's final year in highschool, but I was given thepost at my second year because of my unique characteristics.
Little did I know what would become of me as a senior prefect.
Power they say corrupts but they never told me that absolute power would corrupt me absolutely.
Few months after my new portfolio I became arrogant and mean. At first I wanted to put on a hard skin so my mate would not look down on me because of my small stature.
I never knew how far i sailed on that ship untill I realized I had made more enemies than friends.
From the day I became the head girl, I was alone. I missed out on my childhood, I had no friends, it was frustrating and heartbroken, at the same time I could do anything about it.

As time goes by I wanted to leave school and correct my mistakes, I was hoping life would give me another chance to correct my mistakes.
I finished my school with no friends even till date my class mates still address me as a mean girl.

specs-3296472_1280.webp

Source

THE LESSONS I LEARNT

If something does not kill you, it would make you stronger.
The lessons I learnt are still with me till date.
One of the lessons I learnt is that, a tree can never make a forest. You would need people someday, no matter how independent you are today.

  • Humanity is not weakness but rather, it's a strength.

  • Power is for service and not for servants.

conclusion

I know you have also learnt one or two lessons from my experience. Pls kindly share.
Thank you for availing your time to go through my post.

Sort:  
Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56162.63
ETH 2368.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31