Steemit Engagement Challenge S2W2 | Steem4Nigeria Contest | No place like home: About my country Nigeria

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Greetings to you my noble friend

flyerdesign_13062022_110635.png designed with flyer maker

Today, I welcome you in a very special way here on my post. In this post, I have discussed about my country, the things that interest me so much in my country Nigeria and several other things which will also interest you. Let's get straight to the details of the discussion here below.


Open a brief introduction that tells us about your Country.

Nigeria is the name of my country. I am a bonafide citizen of this great country called Nigeria by birth. Nigeria is a country that is situated in West Africa with a coast on the Gulf of Guinea and that of the Atlantic Ocean. Nigeria as a country, shares boundaries with other countries which are Cameroon, Benin, Niger Republic and Chad.

Nigeria geography is ranges from southern coastal swamps down to the tropical forest, grassland, woodlands, and desert land in the northern part of the country.

The system of government in Nigeria is a federal republic, and the chief of state and the head of government is the president: President Maj. Gen. (ret.) Muhammadu Buhari who was sworned into office in May 29, 2015; with Vice President Oluyemi "Yemi" Osinbajo.

Nigeria has a mixed relegions and also mixed economic system which includes different variety of private ownership, combines with the centralized economic planing and government rules and regulation. As an economic country, we are also member of the ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States.

Other Fact About Nigeria
CapitalAbuja
CurrencyNigerian Naira (NGN)
LanguagesEnglish (general), Hausa,Igbo (Ibo),Yoruba, Efik Fulani

What are the great things that interest you about your country?

There are so many things that so much interest me about Nigeria which I would really love to discuss about with a none stop. However, here I have briefly details out 9 things that interest me about Nigeria according to there other of priority.

  • Family:

This one of the thing that interest me about Nigeria. In Nigeria family details are varies from other ethic groups and it's in Nigeria where you will get to see how male are the ones that dominate more than female in a families.

  • Food and Recipes:

This is another thing that interest me about Nigeria. In Nigeria, when its come to food and Recipes we are bless with so many food and every ethic groups have they own special food and unique way of eating their special food. Some ethic groups eat with hand (right hand only), whereas other use utensils in eating.

I came to discovered that it's only in Nigeria restaurants that you will get to eat your native food which is prepared by someone that isn't from your tribe.

  • Diet:

Nigeria as I have earlier said, we are blessed with so many foods but it is only in Nigeria where you will see cassava, yams, rice and beans as the most eat diet because we aren't used to eating of spicy food, fond hot, etc because of our weather conditions and the nature of our works.

  • Cultural Attributes:

As a Nigerians we are very proud of our cultural heritage of our various ethic groups. When it comes to culture every tribes in Nigeria has their own fashion style and dancing steps. Nigeria women wear Elaorate headdresses when it comes to important festivals.

  • Recreation/tourism:

When it comes to recreation, Nigerians are good in soccer which is the most famous. Horse race, wrestling basketball dancing etc are also practice. As for tourism we are blessed with so many natural creature in every part of the state in Nigeria you will get to see more than one tourist centre.

  • Dating:

Dating is what Nigerians believe is the first stage of getting marry. Well this is very important ooh. Let's keep that aside and only focus on marriage. It's only in Nigeria that marriage customs change with time, but the payment of bridal dowry or token is very common in all part of the country.

  • Respect for Gift:

In Nigeria it is a very bad habits (manners) for anyone to receive anything that is given to him/her with the left hand. If you try it your name na sorry. Usually gifts are receive with both hands not just the right or left.

Other funny great things that interest me about Nigeria..

  • Jokes/comedy:

Nigeria is a country of jokes where everything is use to crack jokes in a very funny and acting ways by comedians.

  • Visiting:

Nigeria is one of the country where if you're to visit someone the person will tell you pom and play that when visiting bring bread is a appreciated, but not necessary.

Another funniest and interesting thing about Nigeria that I can remember as a child when I was growing up when you loss your tooth you will hold it in your fist with eight stones to make it nine which is for male, while if it's female she will hold six stones with her tooth to make seven. What we do then after holding the stones with our tooth was that we would close our eyes and shout out loud, and count the number in our fist and say a word like I want my tooth back!. So my fellow dear read from Nigeria and other countries do you also had such experienced?.

<center,>Which of the things mentioned above do you prefer your country for, over other countries?

Among all the things that I have mentioned above, I prefer Nigeria for the top 4 mentioned things which are;

  • Family
  • Food and Recipes
  • Diet
  • Recreation/tourism
No Place like home: If you eventually leave your country in search of greener pastures, would you be willing to come back because of your response in (3).

Yes, I would be willing to come back because it's usually said that "No place like home" which means that no matter where you find yourself you can never be 100% comfortable like you're in your home. So leaving your home in search of greener pastures to another man land you are nothing but a stranger anything can happen.

The main reason why a lot of people including me because am praying for the opportunity to leave Nigeria to another country in search for greener pastures is for me to make my family proud. So to this alone I would be willing to come back because of my family.

Secondly, Food and Recipes, is another thing that would make me to come back home. You can imagine you as a Nigerian eating Chinese foods for the first time and also as a Chinese you're eating Nigeria food for the first time you will never love it.

Am used to Nigeria foods most especially my village foods and most of the time that I do traveled home often or yearly is just for me to eat my village food. So with thing I would come back home.

Tourism is another reason why I would be willing to come back home. I came to found out that in Nigeria we are all blessed with so many natural resources, that can be a good tourists attractions for people all over the world to be visiting. With the vast tourist attractions that we have in Nigeria, after making money abroad I will come back and develop them so I can be getting cool cash. You know today, one of the fast growing business is hospitality business so I would surely come back and invest in such types of business.


Conclusion:

Nigeria is regarded as the giant of Africa's and it's still a developing country that has experienced both military and civilian administrations. The population of Nigeria is estimated to around 170 million people and we are still growing in terms of Infrastructures. I sincerely thank @steem4nigeria for organizing this contest which I have participated.

I am inviting my friends @simonmwigwe, @preye2 and @yakspeace to also join me and participate in this contest.

Thank you for reading through my post my dear friend.....

Sort:  

Nigeria is a very big country with so many amazing places. You are right about country's food. We cannot live without having our own country's food

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much for reading through my post.

 2 years ago 

The first day I saw Yoruba,s food known as Amala and ewedu I got more convinced that Nigeria are very good when it comes to recipes.

And Even if I travel I need to come back for fresh foods and my family.

Nigeria is a Blessed country with unique culture, various tribe have their various believe, food and lifestyle.. No place like home as you rightly said, Nigerians are funny people even in the midst of problem they still crack joke from the problem.. I love my nigeria ❤️

Thanks for sharing this nice article about Nigeria, Best of luck friend 💃

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your precious time here.

 2 years ago 

No place like home my dear friend, as a Nigerian I can relate to all you have said in your article, Nigeria is actually blessed with so many natural resources. Plenty food and attractive site for tourism. Thank you for inviting me.
I wish you all the best.

Nigeria is actually a beautiful country as one of my relatives who stays there praises the beauty of Nigeria and honesty and simplicity of the people there. I enjoyed going through your post!

 2 years ago 

Thank cyiu so much for reading through my post. I am sure that one day you will pay your relative s visit.

 2 years ago 

You are right... Nigerians are good in making anything a joke. Even in the midst of problems, challenges and chaos, we will still find something to do, turn some difficult things to joke and ease ourselves the stress. Thank you for sharing why you prefer Nigeria to any other country.

Kind regards!

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your time here I appreciate.

Nigeria is really best when it comes to culture and dressing
I love my country Nigeria so much
Thanks for sharing with us

 2 years ago 

The ethnic diversity of Nigeria has allowed the existence of a wide gastronomic range that has managed to permeate your palate and your heart.

Interesting fact that you share with us, about how to receive gifts in Nigeria; and how to request the recovery of the lost tooth.

Family warmth and Nigerian food are reasons that keep your feelings in this great nation; and even when you can migrate, your heart will always remain in Nigeria.

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much my dear friend for reading through my post. I really appreciate.

As a Nigerian woman I agree with you, Nigeria is filled with fresh foods, that's why some places have low cost of living

Your post is manually rewarded by the @nftmc Community Curation Trail.


Join the NFTMC community to get rewarded.

USE TAG - #nftmc

Curation Trail- @nftmc
Discord- https://discord.gg/5P57gwYYcT
Twitter- https://mobile.twitter.com/NFTMC3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86