SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago

Language is very important in our society as it is a simple means by which we communicate better with one another when being in the mix of people. In the world, there are thousands of languages that people speak every day and I have shared the languages that are found in my country.


What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

The name of my country is called Nigeria which is the largest country in Africa. Nigeria is a country that is blessed with diverse ethnicities if you find yourself in the southern part of the country you will be amazed at the way the people communicate with one another.

@josepha.png
canvas

Every ethnic group, state, or village, has its specific language for communication, and by my calculations with the little research I have carried out on languages in my country, I have come to discover that there are over 525 native languages spoken in my country, Nigeria.

English is the most widely spoken language in Nigeria that was introduced to Nigerians by our Colonia master. However, besides English being the most spoken lingua franca language spoken in Nigeria, Pidgin is the general language that is spoken in homes, outside schools, villages, and most local areas in Nigeria.

As a country that is blessed with diverse ethnicities, those in the northern part of Nigeria speak Hausa, while those in the Western part speak Yoruba whereas, Igbo is the language that is known in the Eastern part. Efik-Ibobio, Tiv Idoma Fulani Edo Isoko, and several other languages in Nigeria.


Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

Among the listed languages in Nigeria, I am only familiar with 7 languages which are:

  • English language

  • Pidgin Language

  • Igbo language

  • Hausa language

  • Yoruba Language

  • Efik-Ibobio Language

  • Bendi Language which is my native language

English and Pidgin are the languages that I use every day of my life for communication, business, chatting, and so on. Sometimes I even enjoy speaking Pidgin fluently the others. Bendi language is my native language which is the only well-known language in the village.


How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

IMG20221209143721.jpg

Language has improved my life many times. There was a time around 2014 when I went to the local government Secretariat of Bekwarra local government area to do my birth certificate, age declaration, and other documents that I was only attended to because I was able to speak my native language.

Some people who came from afar to do the same birth certificate that I went for, were sent back home without being attended to because they were unable to speak Bendi. On that day and several other days in which I couldn't talk about language has helped me to improve my life.


Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

image.png
source

Yes, I am willing to teach my children these languages for the following reasons.

  • Through speaking of these languages my children can get to meet with their destiny helper.

  • It will help my children create good relationships with strangers, visitors, etc.

  • It will increase the chances of my children getting employed faster.

  • My children will get to know when someone has insulted them or gossiping them.

  • It will help increase their business relationships.

  • It makes things and life easy for them.

I am using this opportunity to invite: @pelon53, @patjewell, and @chant to also take part in the contest in which I have participated.

Sort:  
 8 months ago 

Wow 🤯
This story you shared about successful getting your birth certificate because you were able to speak your language did happens to a friend of mine at my very present.

we went to summit our four files from at the faculty, on getting in work my friend, she approach the professor and Greated, the man replied her abàdie but she couldn't respond. The professor I'm shocked 😳 flip through her name again and ask are you sure your from Akwa Ibom, she replied yes, the man ask which LGA, she replied ikono and he ask again where's the road to ikono, she then pointed to a wrong direction ⬆️.
We all laughed and the professor ask her where did you grow up, she said Abuja and he questioned her for not disturbing her parents to teach her the language where she belongs.

This indeed show she wasn't able to identify her true identity and her name alone didn't help her. She was lucky not be send out.

So this helps why I always appreciate my language and will teach to my children and even more other languages i know.

Good luck sir

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Congratulations!
This publication has been supported through the Steemcurator06 account for containing good quality content.

Curated by @ridwant

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

 8 months ago 

Greetings dear friend

It is possible to be really dignified by speaking the mother tongue, only those who have grown up with respect and dignity for the mother tongue, and the number of languages ​​you have in your country are many, but in spite of that, English is the international language that we all should know, good for you. Good luck

 8 months ago 

Regards,

Language helps us communicate and communicate. Even if English is the main language in your country Nigeria. Territorial states use their own dialects. There are many languages ​​spoken in your country. You know 7 languages ​​and want to teach your child these languages ​​so that he can communicate with people from other countries including Nigeria. Your writing gives me a good idea about the language of your country.

Loading...

English! Wherever you go in the world, you will always find someone who speaks English.
I was wondering the other day if we will not soon say that no matter where you go in the world, you will find someone who speaks Mandarin, as it seems that the Chinese are getting their fingers in all the "pies." (•ิ‿•ิ)

I always thought that Algeria was the biggest country land-wise, but Nigeria is the country with the biggest population in Africa.
We are never too old to learn.

Good luck with the contest and with the football!
PS: Thank you for the invitation that I made use of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61733.68
ETH 2481.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63