Steem4Nigeria Weekly Contest- What are the adjustments you have personally made to cope with the present economic conditions in your city || by @josantos

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Capture.PNG
Background Image Design using Powerpoint


Greetings everyone, it is your favourite writer once again in the person of @josantos, I am glad to be in attendance at this wonderful contest organised in the @steem4nigeria community which centres on the personal adjustment that I have made as a person with regards to the economic condition in my city. I urge you all to read through my blog as I provide answers to a few questions given below.


What are the economic situations in your city/ location as of today?


As of today, the economic situation in my location is very bad. It has been about 3 days today since we started to experience a scarcity of fuel and light. Filling stations are closed down completely because of the absence of fuel on them and also for 3 days now we have been having issues with NEPA. It is like a coincidence because all of these started happening almost at the same time.

Over the years I have learned that both NEPA and fuel play an important role in the economy of every location. Since the scarcity of this fuel and the absence of NEPA which started about 3 days ago, everything in the market has become very expensive. Normally things we buy at the rate of #200 are now sold at almost #500 just with a space of three days.

Everything in the market seems to be adding money to its price. I bought a box of the cotton board which was initially sold at the rate of #200 at the rate of #350. Even the price of a motorcycle which is initially #100 from my house to the market is now #150. To be frank the economic situation of my state at this point is very bad. Those travelling are complaining, those buying things at the market are complaining as well.


What are those government subventions, policies or palliatives put in place now to help reduce the over-bearing inflation?


With this happening, the government in my area have ensured that they provide water for the people. Currently, there has been no atom of rain for the past 2 weeks in my area. We normally get our water from the tap which we use NEPA to pump or buy fuel and then use the generator. As of yesterday, the L.G.A chairman went around and gave out 5 litres of fuel each to places with the borehole.

The water was pumped and everyone was able to fetch it, we even have some water left in the tank. We know the essence of water in our lives. In the essence, we felt the absence of light and fuel because of the absence of water in our various houses. Thanks to the chairman who came to our rescue. The government has also encouraged people around including the students to go into farming so that we can be able to control the prices of goods and service in the market.


What are those personal adjustments you've put in place to help reduce the economic impact around you?


In my case, the personal adjustment I have put in place to help reduce the economic impact around me is that I have decided to cut down my expenses. Initially, I go to the market almost every day to purchase things that I will prepare as a student but seeing that the price of things is increasing daily in the market and transport money is on the rise, I have resolved to purchase foodstuffs that will serve me for at least a week.

I have also decided to reduce my extra vacant way of living. Instead of cooking using meat, fish, etc, I have resolved to use only one of them for the main time until things become better again. I intend to use this period and then save a little. More also, I have decided not to attend meetings that are not too important because the money for transport across my city currently is very alarming. I only go to school for a lecture and I have stopped partying as well. I'm certain that this adjustment will help me most especially in this very period of economic crisis.


Do you have any recommendations for the audience today as a way of helping them at these trying times?


My recommendation to my audience today is that we all should know the season we are currently experiencing and then make proper adjustments to fit in. Just as it is in my case, I ensure I cut down a few unnecessary expenses and then focus on only the very necessary expenses. To be able to survive this trial time we need to be focused and then remove everything that is not necessary for our spending. I have decided to cancel going to the party, also reduce the quality of food I make for myself and also going to the market regularly.

For those who don't have farms or gardens, it is high time to get one for yourself. Instead of buying Ogu leaves at the market, you can have them at the back of your house and all other petty things which we get from the market. Let's all do the once we can at this time so that we can reduce expenses and then be able to balance every other aspect of our lives.


Conclusion


To survive the present economic situation of your city or location, all you need to do is to first and foremost adjust the rate of spending and then become productive yourself. As Peter Obi will rightly say, we Nigerians are consumers and that is the reason the country is not moving forward. We should stop consuming and become producers. Everyone should have something he/she can produce no matter how small it may be. Get a farm, and start planting something you normally buy from the market. I invite @predomina, @dave-hanny and @goodybest to join this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @Reminiscence01

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67723.65
ETH 3810.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50