My Neighborhood Watch #49 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago

AGC_20240504_113227418.PORTRAIT.jpg

Hello friends of steem4Nigeria community, it's exciting to be participating in the new edition of My Neighborhood watch. For this week's neighborhood watch, I will be presenting an interesting view of what the rural area of Nigeria looks like...Take a walk with me.

In every country we have rural settlements and Urban settlements, and most times people in the urban settlement have never lived in the rural areas before. I have lived mostly in the urban settlement but I have travelled to the rural area every time I get the chance to.

I got the chance to travel to the rural area and I got to see the production of palm oil. When I was younger, we used crude tools to make palm oil. I remember my grandmom boiling the palm fruits in big pots and then I will help to pound. Pounding the palm fruits was always difficult and demanded a special method to get the desired result. It was always not easy making palm oil, but we did enjoyed doing it. It was always fun and exciting when a lot of people are doing the production.

I will be reporting how palm oil is produced in the rural area today and it is lovely to see that they are now using machines to produce this oil.

AGC_20240504_113139509.PORTRAIT.jpg

Palm oil is a common commodity in Nigeria. 60-70% of traditional food cooked in Nigeria uses palm oil.

I watched diligently how the production was made. The palm fruits which were gotten from its trees and were carefully selected and kept in a basin.


AGC_20240504_112951092.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

These young boy helped his parents to pick and select the palm fruits.

After which a fire was set and the palm fruits was boiled. The fire was really hot, felt like a furnace. Soon the fruits were checked to see if it got soft.

AGC_20240504_112936784.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg


After some minutes, the palm fruits were scooped out from the pot. It wasn't an easy task doing that, but they did it with expertise and made it look so easy.

AGC_20240504_113105605.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

The palm fruits were poured into a grinding machine, and work began. The man in charge of grinding was giving out perfect instructions to them, as there should be no mistakes during the process.

AGC_20240504_113204681.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

This guys were soaked completely in oil and the happiness they exude was second to none. I looked and was bewildered by the level of smiles and happiness they had even while going through a tough task. Life looks a little bit easy for us in the urban area but we are always working and working..no time for happiness and having a good time with family. These people were together working and smiling so hard.

The palm fruit were grinded into a paste and then it was poured into a suppressing machine. This machine pressed the oil out from the mixture. It was a wonderful process..and I watched with diligence to see the end product.

AGC_20240504_113132646.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpgAGC_20240504_113127457.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

Soon oil was spilling in large quantities into the basin. The oil were allowed to cool and stored in rubbers.

AGC_20240504_113216142.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg


The residue was reused and grinded again with another set of palm fruits. This is done to make sure that they get more oil from it. The brilliance shown was great and I knew it was gotten from years of experience and expertise.

AGC_20240504_113152136.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpgAGC_20240504_113147957.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

The palm kernel too is useful to them. So they separated the kernel from the chaff. The chaff is usually used to make fire and sometimes used as feed to farm animals. Every residue was kept safe. And the process continued for hours. They did it until they got large basins of oil

AGC_20240504_113110635.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpgAGC_20240504_113054797.PORTRAIT.ORIGINAL.jpg

The process was a lovely one, I really enjoyed being in the rural area once more. I had a great time with them and they were very funny. I took a lot of pictures of the process.

This is the event that happened around me...would love to read the events that happened around you @imohmitch and @vudeme123.

Thanks for reading my post, I hope you were educated on the process of making palm oil.

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...
 last month 

Wawaooo, this a great one from you dear, it was a step by step process, after the one of our forefathers using sack bags to produce Oil, it later come to this as every day technology is making us great but now it has also change to another technology where machine is doing everything.
Thank you for this report.

 last month 

Your post is informative, thank you for carrying us along on the detailed process of producing palm oil.
There is no wastage at all. The kernel and chaff from the extract are all useful. The process was indeed lovely.
Thank you for sharing and best of luck

Thank you very much for dropping by on my post... I appreciate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25