Friendship; Its Importance In Our Lives

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago

png_20231114_230947_0000.png
Canva


          INTRODUCTION

Friendship is a very strong force in a person's life, it could influence the way we act, speak and behave. It is always advisable to make good friends, as the Bible says Bad company or friends corrupt good manners. This shows how highly the Bible rates friendship. Friendship is a state where people think highly, love, respect and cherish each other.

Being a friend to another person means they become a big part of our lives. They support us when we face challenges, stand with us even when the world doesn't and reprimand us when others are afraid to do so.

Man is a social being and always need a friend to share memories with. I have had acquaintances and I have also had friends too. And I will be writing on what I think about friendship.


What qualities do you value most in a friend? Why are these qualities important to you?


IMG-20231113-WA0015.jpg

My friends are integral parts of my life, so I choose my friends carefully. I have acquaintances and associates, friends and close friends. I just work and chat with acquaintances and associates but friends and close friends are a big part of my life. There are some qualities that makes me attracted to people who I deem fit to be friends with me...some of these qualities are:

  • Trustworthy and Honest: I value trust a lot in my friendships and also honesty. I wouldn't want to be a friend to someone who is dishonest. A person who lies and is cunning, is never a quality I accept. So therefore to be my friend, you have to be trustworthy and honest.

  • Caring and Supportive: A friend who is like a pillar in the time of challenges is one I also sort out for. I need my friend to have my best interest at heart too. So this quality is very important to me.

  • Intelligent and with a sense of Humour: I love engaging with my friends intelligently. I wouldn't want a friend who can't distinguish when I am sarcastic and serious. Or one who doesn't have a sense of humour. I am a jovial person and enjoy friends who understand my jokes and also make me laugh as well.

These qualities are very important to me, and my friend should also be a forgiving person too.
There are other qualities I already expect my friend to have too.


Have you ever had a disagreement or conflict with a friend? How did you handle it, and what did you learn from the experience?


IMG-20231113-WA0014.jpg

There is always that point where disagreements come in. That is why I need a friend with a good quality, who will be able to resolve the issue with me amicably.

I had a conflict with my friend and was an issue that went on for 3 days. She was worried on a faithful morning and I tried to know what was wrong with her. Instead of telling me to give her space, she snubbed me. It was painful though, but I thought she really needed attention. I read the issue wrongly and went on to ask her again, she raised her voice and shouted on me. I told her I won't care anymore and left. I gave her a lot of space and for 3 days we didn't talk.

She came over on the fourth day and offered me a gift of which I declined. She apologized for the way she reacted and told me what happened and why she reacted that way. I was calm and forgave her. We continued living our best lives and enjoying each others' jokes. I learnt that to establish a strong friendship, forgiveness should be in the center of such friendship.


What role does trust play in a friendship? How do you build and maintain trust with your friends?

Trust plays a great role in friendship. I included it as one of the qualities I seek out for. I make sure that I also maintain trust in the relationship too. I make sure I don't tell lies, I try to be truthful.

I let my friend know what is wrong with me. I try as much as possible to maintain and build trust through honesty and living a good life. I give my friend that notion that I can be trusted at any point through my words, behaviours and actions.


IMG-20231113-WA0011.jpg


How do you support your friends during challenging times? What are some ways you show empathy and offer help when they need it?


Being a pillar in times of challenges distinguishes friends from frenemies. I don't allow my friends to go through their trying times alone. Sometimes all they need are words of encouragement, other times they just need financial help. But at all times a friend will always look up to that person gets their backs when the going is rough. I help my friends financially, with words of advice, and other necessary ways to help them.


What does it mean to be a good friend? How do you strive to be a good friend to those around you?

To be a good friend means you love your friend same way you love yourself. You give your all for your friend. I strive so hard to be a better friend daily. I exude good behaviours and attitudes, I am honest and trustworthy. I love and care for my friend.

A good friend is one who loves their friend as themselves.

Thanks for going through my post..

I invite @imohmitch, @davidmarkgeorge and @godswillokon to participate in this contest.

I have given 25% beneficiary to @null in support of burnsteem25

Cc,
@sahmie

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64256.72
ETH 2794.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65