Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 51: I Learnt to Say NO.

in Steem4Nigerialast month

Most of the time even when you're not happy with yourself and someone walks up to you and asks you for something, you will just accept his or her request to make him or her not feel bad. I am sure you can relate to my point here.


Do you always find it hard to say NO to people's requests?

image.png
Source

Yes, I always find it hard to say NO to people's requests. I am a lady who doesn't like trouble or making someone feel bad over my action of not accepting his or her request.

One thing about me is that if your request is genuine and authentic I hardly say NO to it, but if I notice your request is something that would spoil my name or put me in trouble I wouldn't waste time saying NO to you. Nevertheless, saying NO to people's requests is something that I find hard to say.


Mention reasons why people find it difficult to say NO.

A lot of people find it so difficult to say NO due to various social factors and behalf psychological reasons like some of the reasons I have shared below.

image.png
Source

Fear of rejection: People find it difficult to say NO because they worry that saying NO to people might lead them to rejection, conflict, disappointment, or ruin their lives.

The desire to please: Several people find it difficult to say NO because of their strong desire to be accepted and liked by others.

Feeling of Guilty: Several people find it difficult to say No because of the way they may feel guilty about turning someone down, most especially if they believe saying No could hurt the request of the person's feelings.

Fear of Missing Out (FOMO): People are afraid of saying NO because they are afraid of saying No so they won't miss opportunity and connection.


What was that experience that taught you to say NO?

The experience that taught me to say NO was the experience my friend introduced me to follow her to Abuja and learn fashion design I neglected her advice by saying NO and that it was a school that I wanted to go to first and not learning a trade.

Today, my friend who invited me to join her some years ago has traveled to about 3 different countries she is currently doing her bachelor's degree program at the University of Abuja as a part-time student, whereas my negligent of saying NO has made me the opportunity that was offer to me.


What is your advice for those who still struggle to give NO as an answer

Well, it all depends on what you are been asked to do, but if you're been as to do something that would benefit or better still be of help to you,. Please don't say no to such type of request, accept the request. However, if is something that would put you into trouble please avoid such type of request by saying NO to it. Just learn how to be wise in your dealings.

I am inviting; @ibraheem75, @owulama, and @dave-hanny

Cc:-
@steem4nigeria

Sort:  
Loading...
 last month 

Saying no usually means to so many people that they are mean, no! It doesn't mean that, saying no means you are willing but that doesn't go well with you, it has a negative effects on you. I understand that there are times we can say yes, let it not be a lifestyle before it ends in premium tears and regret.

Nice content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59758.56
ETH 2523.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47