MY NEIGHBORHOOD WATCH #45 Reporting Event Around Us

in Steem4Nigeria27 days ago

20240422_171406_0000.pngdesign with canva

  • Good day my fellow steemian friends, how are you guys doing, hope you all have a great day. Today I want to take part on this neighborhood watch contest by steem4nigeria. I have a very interesting event happening in my neighborhood today which I'll like to highlights on pictures and words, hope you find it interesting.
ON MONDAY ,22-4-2024 AT ORON ROAD ,UYO ,AKWA IBOM

I was done with my morning chores and ready for work, since I was late I had to take a tricycle from where I usually do to my work place. I waited for some minutes but still couldn't see any to pick me up, I start wondering, why are this people not coming out up till this time, I was upset and provoked. Then I start walking, on getting to the tie road, I was able to know the reason why there wasn't any bike to pick me.

  • The unexpected fuel scarcity
IMG_20240422_111950_084.jpg

The road was so quiet and scanty, all local means of transport were parked on the roadside, I saw this woman on my way going to work, and ask her what was going on, according to her , she said that all fuel station were closing down due to lack of sufficient fuel to supply.


IMG_20240422_112353_512.jpgoron road, uyo

After asking and researching, rumors has it that, fuel tankers which were supposed to deliver fuels were being hold by tasks collectors, demanding for a huge amount of tax which causes a lot of controversy among them, they said that the tanker drivers were not willing to pay the amount of money demanded by the tax collector and because of this they were not allowed to move from the park till the issue is settled.

  • Taking advantage

On hearing this, different fuel stations lock up their pump, refusing to run sells and left people stranded. Some fuel stations has no choice as the were out of fuel to sell, some deliberately refuse to sell, they purposely lockdown their pomp's, for the purpose of selling it out at higher prices after a while.

IMG_20240422_112927_284.jpgIMG_20240422_112226_347.jpgIMG_20240422_112220_817.jpg
IMG_20240422_113046_071.jpgIMG_20240422_113101_490.jpgIMG_20240422_113036_008.jpg

As people were being stranded and desperate for fuel, black market seller's has their chance to double up their profit, they increased thier fuel prices 2times higher than before. Despite the fuel prices people were willing to buy from them.

  • The saviour
    But in the midst of all this, there was this fueling station that helps a lot of people which was called THE TOTAL FUELING STATION, although their pomp is not that much better, they were willing to open up and sell, even with the normal amount. You can imagine how such station will be?
IMG_20240422_112039_819.jpgIMG_20240422_111938_037.jpg

IMG_20240422_111921_239.jpgthe gateman

Every pomp's were all surrounded with people and cars. Even the seller was not recognized by people, and because of that the security starts chasing some people away and close the gate including me. They only open the gate to allow those inside which have already buy fuel to Walk or drove out. Even with that I was happy because finally I got in at my time and bought the fuel.

  • Effects
    this incident has a lot of effects on people especially transporters, workers are not left out as the amount of money for transport were moving higher than expected which makes transport fare rise, I was even among, because I trek to work because of that, also we were not able to work smoothly as normal because of the fuel scarcity. I pray all this should be resolved and thing will come back to normal.

I would like to see @alli001 @kidi40 @hahdie entry on this contest.

All photos are mine

my best regards @jewel005

Sort:  
Loading...

Fuel scarcity is something not to be joked about especially now that power supply is no longer frequent. This problem should quickly be tackled by the government before it gets out of hand and affects businesses which needs light to operate. Best of luck friend

 25 days ago 

Fuel scarcity has given rise to a lot of problems. People are now taking advantage of this. I bought 2 bucket of water at the rate of #100 today. All this is because of the increase in fuel price. I hope everything go well. Goodluck with the contest.

Thanks bro, I hope things will be back to normal soon because its affecting almost everyone and it's hitting hard over here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66884.03
ETH 3079.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77