Contest: Life Reflections

in Steem4Nigeria6 months ago (edited)

Life Reflections.jpg

Downloaded on Pixabay and Edited on Canva

Introduction

For every human who seeks growth either is personnel or professional life, the one thing that can help in getting that growth is doing Life Reflections on our own life. In philosophy, this is known as introspection. This is when we get to sit down and reflect on our own life and actions, after all, no one knows us better, so we are in a very good position to be the judge of our own lives.

Unfortunately, there are challenges on self-reflections.

One challenge is that some people can be too harsh on themselves especially when they reflect on those parts they thought they could have done better. And this leads to them carrying a burden.

Another challenge in self-reflection is that some people are not sincere in judging their own actions. They find reasons to justify even their bad actions.

The goal of self-reflection should be to analyze our lives to see where we have to make improvement to better our lives and not to burden ourselves with past actions we cannot change. It is not a way to justify ones’ own actions but to see where improvement can be made.

purpose-2393845_1280.jpg

Pixabay

I @jbeecom, am very glad to share my thoughts and experience on this topic/contest.

Have you ever felt someone is better than you are? If yes, in what aspect?

Yes. At some point in the past, I used to feel that way most of the times.
I used to look at some people life and feel like I should be like them, that life is not fair to all, that we all don’t have equal opportunities and that isn’t fair.
Currently, I’m not really feeling it.
However, I sometimes used to admire some people’s life (not in totality but a singular aspect) and aspire to be like that or make necessary improvement to get to that level of the person life. I now see it as a source of inspiration rather than a competition.

Mention 3 personalities or features of your life you don't like and would love to change

One, I’m big on procrastination. I would love to see that change. For example, there are so many things I should have done last year but I never really find time to them like my Data Analytics Course on Coursera, my Web Dev. Courses on Udemy and my school project. (Hopefully I’ll finish all those things before the first half of this year.

Two, I’m big on doing things late 😥😓, and it’s slowly affecting me in many ways, so I would love to be more pro-active in my actions. This is somehow related to the procrastination. Going to work, school, church and basically other things late has always been a bit embarrassing for me.

Three, I would love to have more self-discipline. Sometimes I spent too much time on irrelevant things than I should and I wish I do have the courage to live how I actually want.

mirror-1138098_1280.jpg

Pixabay

Do you think it's healthy thinking or reflecting on your Imperfections and mistakes?

A control and limited amount (in time) of reflection is healthy as it can be a reminder of why you should do better. However, dwelling in it and allowing it to overshadow you and subsequently prevent you from doing other things is not healthy.

If you were given an opportunity by God to change your looks, would you or you'll maintain?

Smiles. Maybe. I’ll add some touches. That being said, I am PERFECTLY HAPPY with the way I am.

I don’t worry about my looks and what people think of me. For example I barbed my year this year and some people were like ‘you don’t look handsome again’ and I was like ‘I DON’T CARE, I LOVE HOW I LOOK!’.

Conclusion

Self-reflection is great and it can be a mirror that helps on evaluate our past actions with the hope of evaluating our actions and making corrections where necessary. We should be honest to ourselves while doing it and avoid self-justification. However, we shouldn’t be too harsh on ourselves. After all, we are all humans and we are flawed in many ways.

Self-reflections should not make us use our past actions to burden our future and suppressed our growth, rather it should make us better than our past self for the future.

I invite you @allison001 @crystal247 @kidi40 to participate in this great contest.

Cc,
@bossj23

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...
 6 months ago 

"The goal of self-reflection...is not a way to justify ones’ own actions but to see where improvement can be made."

Now this is deep and so true. There is the human nature to cover ones mistakes and expose that of others, to shield one's self from attack or the truth.

As the year begins, I try to reflect on many things I did in the past and see how I can pick lessons and move on. Thank you for this, I will use this knowledge while carrying out my reflection.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60270.38
ETH 3307.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40