Steem4Nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 8 - An Indoor Game Native To My People.

in Steem4Nigerialast year

IMG_20230701_055220.jpg
source

We all loved playing games, and whenever it comes to an indoor game, there is always an argument among the players because everyone wants to be a winner, and it is usually heated, which I love paying attention to whenever I see people playing an indoor game just like the one I have discussed here.


Tell us a little about the culture of The People who play this game.

The game Nsa Isong is known as a mancala game by the people in the southern part of Nigeria, whereas those in the eastern part of Nigeria call it Ba-awa and Jerin, and those in the western part of Nigeria call it Ay Olpn. The game is loved by everyone, from children to adults.

images (1).jpeg
source

One thing that I know about the game is that it is often played under a tree where the players will be dropping seeds or stones in the adjoining hollows or holes like most children usually do. As I said, it is just like a traditional game, which has been in existence for a decade.


How many players can play the game, and Is it gender- or age-sensitive?

The game is usually played by two players that do seat opposite each other. In terms of gender or age sensitivity, there is none when it comes to playing the game. Like when I was small, I did play the game with my friends (age mates) on the ground, where we would dig a hole, gather stones, and begin to play the game.


Can the game be played in different ways? And What are the rules of the game?

Yes, it can be played in different ways, either online using our smartphones or using the traditional method, which is played by two players. In this case, below are the rules of the game.

Game Rule:

  • Players must keep on dropping the seed in the adjoining hallows,
  • At any point where you have to drop you have dropped the last seed you will pick the whole seed inside opposite it and continue dropping.
  • Where the seed end you will stop distribution, for the second player to continue, and many other rules.

Can a player cheat in this game? and Are they any useful skills, physical or intellectual abilities that can be acquired playing this game.

Yes a player can cheat his or her opponent when the person is not paying attention. However, in terms of useful skills physical or intellectual ability I will say that the game has it. By playing the game one has to use his or her physical efforts to be distributing the seeds and as well be using his or her intellectual ability to think to win his or her opponent.


What could you do to preserve this cultural heritage years?

Well the only thing that I think I can do to preserve this cultural heritage is to continue playing the game and as well encourage the people around me to equally do the same. The game unites people together which is the sweetest thing that I like about the game.

I am inviting : @yakspeace and @ruthjoe

Sort:  

I concur with you when you say a player can be cheated if he loses Concentration and it's good to know what you people called the game in your native language, I guess that's Akwa Ibom right?

 last year 

Yeah, am sure you also played the game back then.

Loading...

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61182.87
ETH 3360.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49