SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

Today, I welcome you here to this post which I have shared the number of languages in my country.


Jasminemary (2).pngcanvas design


What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

Nigeria is the name of my country. I am proudly a Nigerian by birth. In Nigeria, we have more than 300 ethnic groups with over 500 languages across the 36 States.

Nigeria has many regional differences and distinct religions, and it is regarded as the most cultural country in the world. The official language of Nigeria is English whereas Hausa, Igbo, and Yoruba are the regional languages in Nigeria.

image.png
Source

Besides the national and regional languages that is in my country Nigeria, several other languages make up the 500 languages in Nigeria which some of them are; Efik-Ibobio, Tiv, Idoma, Fulani, Edo, Isoko, Ijaw, Kanuri, Ukwuani, Bendi and many other languages.


Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

Among the listed languages in Nigeria, I am familiar with seven (7) languages which are; English, Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba, Efik-Ibobio, Bendi, and Tiv.

The seven languages that I am familiar with are the languages that you can easily see Nigerians speaking because people that are from the region where such languages are spoken are seen across the 36 of Nigeria.


How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

This language has improved/helped my life and business in many ways which I can't finish to explain them all, but to share with you the recent ways in which these languages have improved my life and business.

Just last week when I went to my school bursary to verify my school fees receipt, I saw how people were driven out of the office my case where different because I spoke my native language with the lady in charge.

Also, there was a time that I went to Onitsha's main market this language Igbo helped me in my business. If not for the fact that I spoke Igbo with the people I bought goods from I would have been cheated with prices and quality in the market.


Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

image.png
Source

Yes, I am willing to teach my children these languages because languages are very important in our society as it is an easy means of identifying your tribal person.

There is usually joy when you travel to another country or state and find a person who also speaks the same language as you. It makes communication easier and I would want my children to have an easy means of communication aside from the English language.

Also, I want my children to know my native language and speak them fluently. In my village, if you can't speak Bendi, it will be difficult for my village people to recognize you and give you a position which I wouldn't want my children to miss getting for their desire or be seen as a visitor in their own home.

I am calling on my friends: @dave-hanny, @yaladeeds, and @vickyson to also take part in the contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 8 months ago 

I wonder who doesn't love communication.
And there's no way we communicate without using a language either verbal or non verbal.

Each country is blessed by God 🙏 with different norms, culture and so on.
But looking at our side as a country, I think we're one among the best. We hold great and impactful linguistics to explore by many.

And in appreciating God's wonderful works is by not letting it ghost but pass to the coming generation in appreciation. And your choice is great.
.this contains pretty learnable tips which i love.
Keep it up.

Thanks

 8 months ago 

Valuable reach, your entry showed the clear advantage language has in business. Indeed people would always identify with their own and language is a factor in negotiations

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

 8 months ago 

Regards,
The language of a country helps to communicate the culture of that country. Language is the best medium to express our thoughts. There are 500 languages ​​spoken in your country, Nigeria, among which there are some notable languages. The official language of Nigeria is English, English is an international language. English language is prevalent in all countries and it is a universally accepted language for international relations. Good luck to you.

Thank you for showing me support.

 8 months ago 

Wow.. You've said alot friend about your country, Nigeria.. Best of luck dear

 8 months ago 

Nigeria es un país con una gran variedad cultural, donde convergen distintas tribus con idiomas diferentes, lo cual hace que sus ciudadanos deban conocer de cada uno de ellos.

El inglés es un idioma universal, y sin dudas aprenderlo nos ayudará a tener mejor comunicación alrededor del mundo.

Éxitos en el concurso.

When it comes to languages Nigeria is blessed. Thanks for reaching out to my post.

Thank you dear and thank you for telling other non Nigerian steemians about us.

Thank you ma.

Welcome🤗

 8 months ago 

Being able to communicate is very important to us.
Wish you the best in this challenge

Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64