SEC WK2: The Language In My Country

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago (edited)

Greetings to every Steemit members. I want to thank Steem4Nigeria for the opportunity given to take part in this contest, am so delighted and I believe my content will be of great benefits to other steem memebers.

Language_20240122_113038_0000.jpg
Canva
What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

Nigeria is the name of my country, which is known as the giant of Africa. In Nigeria, over 525 native languages are being spoken. And the lingua Franca language is the "English Language" which is the official language of Country. The Other major Languages spoken in Nigeria ; Igbo, Hausa, and Yoruba. Other sub,is Ibibio, Kanuri and Tiv. Nigeria has over 300 tribes that speaks different languages and this is amazing. Despite coming from a different tribe that speaks different languages, we do communicate and relate well with others, using the official language "English" and "Pidgin". This shows that Language can never be a barrier to our day to day activities.

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

I'm familiar with 5 Languages. Which is Ibibio, Annang, Efik, English and Pidgin. I can say am multilingual. Though learning these different languages wasn't easy,it was a gradual process and it was fun. It's good to know how to communicate with people from diverse culture, understanding them and their believes using their language.

20240122_114554_0001.jpg

Canva

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

Staying in a different place(tribe) far from home can never be problem because I will sure be able to communicate and relate well with people from other tribe. As we all know, we won't be speaking our dialect all the time and everywhere we go. Learning and knowing different languages has been a great benefits to me, because no matter where I am I can always reach out, and rapport with people using any language I know depending on where I find my self. And also in the business settings, people tend to speak the Pidgin language more.. I see the Pidgin language as a trade language in Nigeria.
And am not limited to the Languages I speak currently, I will still explore more languages in other tribes. I consider this as part of learning.

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason.

Yes,since knowing different languages has been of great benefits to me, I will teach my children the different languages I know. And with time. They will explore more and know various languages in the country and also beyond. I see that it is best and easy for younger ones to acquire as many languages while they are still young.

I am excited to have made a little contribution to this contest. I invite @darealudeme to also participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 5 months ago 

Nigeria es uno de los países más grandes de áfrica, con una gran cantidad de etnias que manejan distintos idiomas, lo cual resulta interesante, ya que incentiva a los ciudadanos a conocer un poco de cada uno para poder comunicarse de forma efectiva.

El inglés es un idioma que se usa en todo el mundo y es util para las comunicaciones con cualquier nacionalidad.

Éxitos en el concurso.

This post has been upvoted through Steemcurator09


TEAM Newcomer: Curation Guideline for January 2024
Curated by - @𝗁𝖾𝗋𝗂𝖺𝖽𝗂

Note:

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

 5 months ago 

Hello,hope your day is going well.It's awesome to read that your country nigeria has over 525 languages.

You are familiar with 5 languages including English and Pidgin. Learning these languages has helped you alot in your life life but also helped in your business especially with Pidgin being a trade language.

You are willing to teach these languages to your kids ,really enjoyed reading your blog wish you success ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48