My Neighborhood Watch #54 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria2 days ago

update-5238354_1280.jpg
source

It's another opportunity to bring greetings and good wishes to my steemit friends present in the @steem4nigeria community. As people would always say, information is power. And I'm glad that @xkool has been us an open flow to bring onboard the latest happenings in our environment.

Update from my environment

I was far asleep when all the drama started. The sound was so intense that sleep could not longer conquer it. When I woke up, I found myself in a mix of confusion as many thought and questions over shadowed my mind. I was trying to figure out if was the compound dog that was playing with my neighbors door or could it be that he was under attack? Oh, what could be happening by this time of the night. I took my phone and it was already 1:30 am.

question-3385451_1280.jpg
source

I kept on wondering what could be happening not until I over heard her saying "give me my money and I will leave your house for you. I'm tired of this marriage and all your insult". What....? I was shock to hear that statement from her, but then I got more shocked when he responded by saying go to wherever you want to go. Marrying you was the greatest mistake of my life". That was indeed a strong statement from him.

Immediately I heard that statement, at the speed of light, my mind ran back to recall a certain day in secondary school when my English teacher walked into our class and asked us to write an essay titled " had I known". That's a statement of regret. After I had that statement, I still can not remember how many mini seconds it took me to advice myself and also pray against marital regret. May I never have a cause to say had I known in my marriage. You can support me by saying Amen as you read.

When the quarrel got intense, I felt a need to intervene. Before I could reach their door step, one of my neighbor was already their pleading with them to be patient with each other. While we were pleading the husband went in and locked the door leaving the wife with her loads outside. It took us more than 20 minutes begging him to open the door. But it was shocking how he disrespected us by saying we are disturbing his sleep and he locked the door again.

I looked at the wife with tears in my eyes. She got married to him less than a year after she lost both parents. She now have only her husband to call her own, but this is the treatment she is receiving from someone who is suppose to be her source of joy, confidence, and a pillar on which she can stand. We thought of what we could do, but the scriptures said" what God has joined together, let no man put assonder. As such we made her to pass the remaining hours of the night together with one of the ladies in the compound.

problem-2731501_1280.jpg
source

It was still early in the morning when an old retired pastor came to the compound to settle the matter. He quoted all the scriptures he knew and gave them all the advice he could give but it was shocking that all his efforts fell on the deaf ear 👂 of the husband. There and then, I lost all respect for him because he has became inhuman. He could not respect the presence of the old man of God, neither do the words of God sink into his mind. What provoked us the more was the slap he landed on the woman's face in the presence of the man of God.

After his efforts was neglected by the husband, he left disappointed in the action of the man who never misses church programs. In the evening, the current pastor of their church came and sat with them. I have no idea of what he told them, but all I can remember is the next morning I over heard them calling each other Baby and sweetheart. Isn't that shocking? There and then, I remembered that what God can not do does not exist. Today I saw them holding the hands of each other on their way to church.

I call on mummy @patjewell, @simonnwigwe, @ruthjoe, and @josepha to update us on the latest happenings in their environment.

Sort:  
Loading...
 yesterday 

Oh wow! God is good!
I am sure there are many neighborhoods that can tell the same story. However, the ending might not always be the same.

Good luck, and thank you for the invitation.

You are right ma'am. In most cases the couples hardly comes back together. Thank you for always being here when invited.

Pleasure!☕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62779.83
ETH 3443.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50