Friendship; its important in our lives

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago

10f07103.jpg
Edited with text on photos

Warm greetings to all my steemit friends in @steem4nigeria community. It is a pleasure to find myself here. And I am glad to learn about what every one of us needs in a friend. Using the questions below, I will be sharing mine with you. Be blessed as you read through.

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

What qualities do you value most in a friend? Why are these qualities important to you?

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

IMG_20231112_050231.JPG
Together with kenneth my friend

The power of friendship can not be overemphasized as it is one of the basic aspects of life. You will believe me that life without friendship is unimaginable as no one can live alone in this world of ours.

Unfortunately, we all have different requirements when it comes to choosing who to regard as a friend. And most times our choice depends on who we are (our personality). For example, a thief would prefer a friend who is also a thief, a pastor prefers God God-fearing person, drunken also prefers drunkers to be their friends, etc.

As for me, below are the qualities I need in a friend.

  1. trustworthy: I need someone I can trust. A person of his or her word. Not someone whose lies and truth can not be identified.
  2. Serious-minded and hard-working: unserious friends can influence you into being lazy. Permit me to say that they are dream killers.
  3. Supportive and sympathetic: a proof of friendship is found in sacrifice. He or she who can not sacrifice for you in times of need is not a friend. As such I need a supportive friend and someone who has sympathy.
  4. Sense of understanding and selflessness: there is no friendship without understanding. If two people can not understand each other, they can not live together. And a good friend is always selfless. And that's one thing I need in a friend.
  5. Good adviser. A genuine friend would always give you supportive advice so that you don't end in regret.

All the qualities mentioned above a important to me because I hate to keep bad company and I don't want someone who will affect or influence my Life negatively.

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

Have you ever had a disagreement or conflict with a friend? How did you handle it, and what did you learn from the experience?

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

It is almost impossible for two people to live together without having misunderstandings. As people would always say, if you never had a misunderstanding with your friend, then the friendship is questionable because it means you people are not open to each other.

I might not recall all the misunderstandings I had with my friend, but I could remember that we once had an issue because of the lady he was dating. After studying the girl, I felt she was not good enough for him. As such, I told him that bro, this girl isn't your class. He thought I was against his relationship.

As a friend, I stood by my words and I gave him reasons. He understood my reasons and we all moved on. Today he respects me more as a friend because I saved him from her. From that, I have learned that different things can cause misunderstandings between you and a friend. But it is part of life and it can always be sorted out.

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

What role does trust play in a friendship? How do you build and maintain trust with your friends?

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

Screenshot_20231112-050208.png
myself with school friends

As earlier mentioned, friendship is not friendship when trust is taken out. How do you call someone who lies, betrays, steals, and disrespects you a friend? In friendship, trust plays a role in keeping confidence, fidelity, courage, and respect among people who call themselves friends.

To maintain friendships with my friends, I try to respect, support, trust, and guide them when needs arise. I don't fake myself before them. I also keep my word and I try as much as possible not to disrespect them.

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

How do you support your friends during challenging times? What are some ways you show empathy and offer help when they need it?

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

In friendship, there are various ways of giving support. As for me, I offer support to my friends base on the nature of the challenge. In an issue that requires financial support, I give money. If it is something that requires just advice, I offer advice. Some of the issues require prayers, and as such we pray together. It is a thing of joy when you help a friend who is in need. Remember, a friend in need is a friend indeed.

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

What does it mean to be a good friend? How do you strive to be a good friend to those around you?

5pzNQikkRxkU6fsR5uUQtkN8CEsR2fsvdZ74yn5VYkLmjo8BE5LjdJU18RXAUukmHc7xmbaMjUnBb3UHgfXE1heFsNMU.png

All it means to be a good friend to people around you is to be supportive, respectful, hardworking, sincere, trustworthy, sympathetic, empathetic, etc. Just be good to them, and live in a way that society supports. Try to also be a role model. And all those are the striving that you have to do in order to be a friend to them. Be
Sincere, and do all it takes to be good with them.

Thank you for reading. I call on @yakspeace, @musa-spp, @josepha, and @mjerry to participate.

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67422.69
ETH 3492.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70