Steemit Engagement Challenge S5/W6 - A Friend in Need is a Friend Indeed

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

W6 - A friend in need is friend indeed..png

Greetings to everyone on the platform, it is yet another interesting engagement challenge enrolled in this amazing community. And I’m much happy to be a part of it yet again for my second time in a row, thanks very much to @steem4nigeria for the opportunity given to engage myself in the challenge. This week’s theme, “a friend in need is a friend indeed” is nothing but a very interesting and also a slice of life to talk about. We all have friends one way or the other and I myself believe that as humans, we can’t do without having at least one good friend. Which is definitely why I do much want to share my story and views on the theme.


My understanding on the saying “a friend in need is a friend indeed”.


The saying “a friend in need is a friend indeed” is an old saying that can be interpreted in many ways. Having been hearing it a lot from other people, each one of them has his/her own way of giving perfect explanation to it. The most common meaning and understanding that I have heard from the saying is, that it means a true friend is the one that comes through in your time of need. I do not disagree with that meaning to it, but what I think it means or how I understand it is that, a true friend is the one that comes through not only in your time of need but also is around when he is least needed.

A true friend is not the one that always helps you out, though I do consider those to as true friends. But friends that also try to help you out even though they can’t or those that also ask for your help because they know you are reliable to ask for them to ask for your help in their time of need I consider them too as true friends. Human beings cannot always be perfect, but at least we try to be, we all can’t always be around to offer our help when it is needed or sometimes we can’t even help when we are called upon because it’s just beyond us. And not being able to offer help doesn’t make you bad friend, it definitely doesn’t. A friend indeed is someone who not only offers help when he’s needed, but also who also calls you for help when he needs it because he knows you’re reliable. The offering of help to friends should be a reciprocal thing, being dependent on each other is all it means to me by the saying “a friend in need is a friend indeed”.


Do you have anyone you can call a friend indeed?


I do have a lot of fiends that I can proudly call friends indeed, really great people they all are and I’m much grateful to all of them. But the one I would like to write about here is my friend and brother from a different bloodline called John Kofi Baidoo (JKB).

IMG-20210725-WA0019.jpg

This fellow has been my closest friend ever since my entrance into the university, and we have been together whenever we are at school. He is from a different region from my town, and also a different ethnic tribe from mine, but we click together like we all the same. And currently as we are on vacations from school, we are apart physically but always in touch with each other through phone calls and also text messaging.


How did you meet and how long have you known each other?


I met JKB in my first year of the university back in 2019, I was late to report to the university due to some reasons. I came later on and didn’t have a clue to where to go or what to do, then I decided to ask someone where to find my department block at the campus. And that person just happened to be JKB, my guardian angel sent to me from God. Coincidentally he was also a first year student who was also offering the same course I was given, so he told me all about what I should do and even assisted me in doing them. Which was pretty surprising to me because he seemed busy when I asked for directions to the block, but he left what he was doing at that moment to help me out despite not knowing who I was at that time. I realized he wasn’t even a native of Tamale, the town where the University was located, I asked him where he came from and he told me he came from a different region of the country, he was very far away from home. He was the person to even update me on our lecture times and venues to where it will be held, and even filled me in on what I’ve missed already. We have been together ever since for almost four years now.

IMG-20210720-WA0041.jpg


What are the special qualities that attracted you to the person or the sacrifices they have made for you in the past?


For starters, a person who just decided to leave what he was doing to help you out in a very important way without even knowing who you are. He doesn’t take long to be friends with someone new and also always the person you’ll want to talk to when something is bothering you. He’s a kind of person that tells you when you’re doing something off focus from what you should be doing, or tells you when he sees you’re deviating from the right path. He’s also a really smart and hardworking guy that loves to study, and always encourages me to study as hard as I can in other to achieve good grades for our dreams to become medical laboratory scientists.

IMG-20220318-WA0017.jpg


Do you think your friendship will remained intact as it started?


I do hope it does, and I’m pretty sure it would. Have known him for almost four years now, we have been like brothers even though we aren’t related by blood. We normally spend our short vacations at my house with my family, and my family even consider him now as family too. JKB is like the older brother I never had, and I couldn’t ask for a better brother.

Untitled.png


Is the person on Steemit and how is he/she faring in the Ecosystem? If they are not, why have they not joined through you?


Unfortunately JKB isn’t on steemit yet, I joined steemit last year October through another amazing fun friend named Mukarama (@mukka). And during that we were apart again due to a long vacation we had, and getting to introduce it to him at that time wasn’t successful because he wasn’t always on the internet. So I had to wait till we resume school, and so I gave him a bit of information about and he loved the idea. But blending steemit with campus life hasn’t been something I do mostly, so we couldn’t make head on to register him.


Write a short message to tell him/her how amazing he/she is.


What I would want to tell him is that, he has been good to me over the years. Treating me like his biological younger brother, I’m much grateful to him. I wish I could repay the favor one day, but he makes it quite impossible always giving me more to smile about. I wish we could be together like that forever in this world and even in the next. May God bless you John Kofi Baidoo!

IMG-20210423-WA0001.jpg

Thank you very much for reading and much regard to @steem4nigeria for the opportunity given to this contest, it sure has been memory draw back one. I invite @mukka, @amryksr and @fombae to also participate this contest. Thank you everyone.

Sort:  

Congratulations on your entry Bro, from your engagement, I learned that JKB is an indeed friend of yours despite we all have our differences but he's worth calling a friend in need bye.

 2 years ago 

Your friend JKB who met in 2019 at your university time is your friend in deed. Yes, we all have a solid friend we can rely on when things go tough. We appreciate you telling us about @imuniru38, your best friend.

He is really a great person indeed, thank you for reading.😊

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your feed back and if you don't mind visit my blog also.

I'll be glad to.

 2 years ago 

Thanks dear.

Hola amigo, la vida siempre nos sorprende al colocar personas increíbles a nuestro lado y tú has Sido premiado con un excelente amigo, deseo su amistad perdure por siempre.

Éxitos y bendiciones🤗

Thank you for your kind wishes.

 2 years ago 

So true, I have my scale to gauze my friends, I call my friend at 3 in the morning and see how many care to attend my call. My true friends always attend and some of them even come to my house to see if all was well. Cheers.

A friend is always a friend but we must be careful how we treat friends anyway. We must learn to assist and help them always. I wish you well in the contest

Thank you for sharing in the contest. Amazing Ghana wishes you well. Share with @amazing-ghana also. Together we can grow.

Loading...

You've spoken well. There are some friends that would want to see us at the top while there are some friends that just wants our downfall. Also, the kind of friend we move with, tells who we are.vi hope we all move with friends that are of positive behaviours.

I'm very much pleased with your amazing comment, thank you for passing by.

Best of luck in the contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62574.15
ETH 3443.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51