My Neighborhood Watch #53 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago

It's always exciting to make post in a community like Steem4Nigeria. Before I start I would like to invite two fellow Steemians @crismenia and @joymm to participate in the contest.

Today atmosphere has improved. Heat is no more felt now. It was cloudy throughout the day. It might have rain in neighbouring districts. Hope it will rain anytime in our locality.

12-06-24 (dd mm yy) may be numerically appears as dozen half-dozen two dozens. This is again a very interesting day for the Bengali families who have son-in-law and mother-in-law.

On this day son-in-law is retreated with most important delicious items preferably cooked by mother-in-law. Son-in-law usually arrive with wife to her places in the morning. He brought lots fruits and clothes for mother-in-law and father-in-law. On this day puja of Maa Shashti is held who is goddess of children birth or reproduction. There is hand fan made of palm leaves used to air the son-in-law by mother-in-law for blessings of Maa Shashti

712px-Shashthi_Arnab_Dutta.jpgWikipedia

There is a movie called Jamai Shashti in Bengali which is also first shortfilm talkies. It was released in Crown hall of Kolkata in 1931.

As I stayed at father-in-law's place there was once Jamai Shashti held in my case. My mother in-law has also left us long ago. So it's not a special day for me. It just like any other day for me. I had regular food throughout the day. I had flattened rice, mango, milk and omlate in breakfast.

IMG_20240612_104005639.jpg

IMG_20240612_144345087.jpg

IMG_20240612_124338944.jpg

IMG_20240612_111825073.jpg

In the lunch I had white rice, jinga alu posto, kakrol bhaji and fish curry. I had also some fruits afterwards.

There were many Jamai Shashti thalli (platter) offered by many restaurants for both working mothers in-laws and son-in-law. They also provide hand fans and other material for blessings of Jamai.

A typical menu for lunch in Jamai Shashti

Shubhra Dehradun Rice Rice
Illis Fish from Kolaghat Fried
Gourd Prawns
Vetki Paturi
Chital Fish Muitha
Mutton Kasa Meat
Mango Sandesh from Nakur
Gangarampur Rabri
Bancharam Lencha
Ice Cream
Benarasi Pan

রবীন্দ্রনাথ ঠাকুরের জামাইষষ্ঠী

Thank you for reading my post.
@impersonal

Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59426.36
ETH 2654.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43