My Neighborhood Watch #30 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeria7 months ago

It's always exciting to make first post in a community. Thank you Steem4Nigeria for explaining the rules so nicely in the contest post link. Before I start I would like to invite three fellow Steemians @yakspeace @paholags @eveetim to participate the contest.

I am from City of Kolkata in India where I'm born and brought up. I lived here for sixty five years. I have been seeing the street dogs and stray cats from my childhood. I had personal experience of minor dog attack. But recently I was attacked by two dogs who chased me when I was crossing them. I felt the touch of the mouth on my leg from behind. Anyways I lucky escaped. Normally they are not immunized.

I recently discovered an Animal Health Centre of Government of West Bengal in my locality. There are doctors and compounders who treat animals both domestic as well as live stocks.

IMG_20240105_161933159.jpg

Here I found dogs and cats are immunized. Vaccine to be provided by the owners.

IMG_20240111_113320329.jpg

One lady allowed to take the photo of eleven years old Dachshunds dog with her who came for vaccination.

IMG_20240111_113332555.jpg

I also took a selfie with them. This dogs normally survive upto fifteen years.

IMG_20240111_114109414.jpg

Though domestic cats are coming for immunization but no one spend money for street dogs vaccine.

I saw another puppy waiting inside the centre for immunization. I didn't find the owner. But it was also a pedigree breed.

World health organization has a country wide resolution to eradicate human death from dog-mediated rabies by 2030. The implementation of project 'National Action Plan For Dog Mediated Rabies Elimination (NAPRE) from India by 2030' has been launched but they require huge fund for vaccination and neutering of street dogs which is several thousand crores of Indian rupees in a year.

In our state of West Bengal we have seen report of mass vaccination of street dogs where camp was organised by Block Animal Health Centre in collaboration with The Rotary Club of Chanchal and Dog loves Link.

I hope this issue should be proactively addressed locally as done in the above case before the government allocate and disburse the funds. Immunization has to be done yearly.

I can hear the sweet morning Azan from nearby mosque.

So good morning to all Steemians

Thank you for reading my post.

@impersonal

Sort:  
Loading...

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70