My Ways Of Avoiding Procrastination

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Greetings everyone and my fellow Nigerians and Steemians. I am happy to take part in this contest organised by @goodybest. You may notice that I have not really been active in this platform as I think I will due to some reasons beyond my control but I am glad that I have resume and never to stop writing. I am so happy to participate in this interesting contest with the title 'My ways of Avoiding Procrastination'. Most of us has been a victim of procrastination in one way or the other. I have been a victim of procrastination which sometimes I regretted that I allowed procrastination to set in. It is an habit that we should fight with everyday because it happens on daily basis. I have also been able to deal with procrastination in some ways which I am glad I did.

The big question is now is what is procrastination?

I want to define procrastination as an act of postponing, delaying and and putting off some things intentionally and habitually for no good reason.

pedro-da-silva-unEmGQqdO7Q-unsplash.jpg
Source

Procrastination they say is a stealer of time. If a person keeps on postponing, what him or her wanted to do, such a person will never achieve his or her aim because time wait for no one.

Procrastination can make one to lose a previllege for life and will be left with regret and "I had know?"

So it is wise to always do what we want to do and not postponing it to tomorrow because tomorrow never comes.

Procrastination can make a student fail exams and can also make potential workers miss thier previlleges in a place they would have been working if they had move and act immediately without postponing.

A friend of mine keeps on postponing dropping her application letter and curriculum vitae in a work place she intended to go and drop. She keeps on posting till the day of the interview came, she was still at home saying she will drop it the coming week till she misses the job opportunity. She went when the interview had already been conducted and workers were picked. You see what procrastination has caused her?
So it is not good to procrastinate.

From my own standpoint, I think procrastination sometimes is caused by laziness. Lazy people most time procrastinate because of their less desire to do something.

Procrastination can make a person to have negative feelings, bad health conditions and lack productivity.

Please read below my ways of avoiding procrastination

My Ways Of Avoiding Procrastination

For me not to get involved in procrastination, I do the following:

  • I have a to do list.

thomas-bormans-pcpsVsyFp_s-unsplash.jpg
Source

Having a to do list helped me to organise my time and the task I will perform first and which one will come last. My to do list comes in many forms and format.
I have the one that is on the daily basis, weekly basis and lastly monthly basis. Following this list has helped me to accomplish so many things and avoid procrastination.
I also arranged it in such a way that shows which of the things I want to do is more important, and which one is less important. And I choose the most pressing needs.

  • I organise my time
    Organising my time has help me not to spent my time on things that are less important. And to know things that are more important, I often referred to my to do list. They are task that are less important but consumed a lot of time. So I dont have to waste my time on them, I prefer coming back to them later when I am done with important things.

  • I have learn to focus my attention and avoid being distracted.

Focusing on what to do have helped me so much to avoid procrastination. When I am less focused on a particular things, procrastination will set in and I will want to shift it to some other time. But if I am focused, I won't be distracted and there will be nothing like postponing that task.

  • I discussed my goal with family members and friends.
    Discussing my plans with family members has really helped me to tackle procrastination and has proved to be an effective tool. Yes it has really helped me. The reason is that, when I discussed it with family members and friends, they will always remind me about my plans while some will asked me how far I have gone with my plans. It usually motivate me to work harder and to achieve my goals.

So many things has really helped me to avoid procrastination the stealer of time and I am happy about that, I am almost free from being a procrastinator.

Conclusion

Procrastination doesn't do us any good, so I encourage my dear friends and Steemians to try and avoid procrastination. It doesn't have positive impacts in our life rather it has thousands of negative consequences. It can rob us of our joy when we continually procrastinate and meet failures. No one will be happy over being a failure and what causes failure is procrastination.

I invite @manuelhooks @kesybliss and @oasiskp to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello @imaphil you've written so well on this topic, your tips are practical. I will advice you continue to be active in the platform, so that you can Power up and have a club status, but for a fast progress, you can buy at least 10 steems from exchange transfer to your Steemit wallet and power up. We're in my same city, I'll be glad to communicate with you. Contact me through my WhatsApp number, 07069286623

Status Club
None
Steem Exclusive
Plagiarism Free
BOT Free
Voting CSI
[ ? ] ( 0.00 % self, 6 upvotes, 3 accounts, last 7d )
Grading:
9/10
Verification date:
09-30-22


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68338.18
ETH 2645.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69