Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 57: What gender do you prefer your child to be?

in Steem4Nigeria2 days ago

The Joy of becoming a parent is always very special. The tears that drip from the eyes when one carries his newborn baby and looks into his or her eyes and says hello are always of Joy. It's a great privilege to have a baby of your own. Some yearn for one, but they don't have one, not because they are too bad or condemned, and those who have experienced the Joy, experience not because they are too good, but because it's just underserved kindness from above.

Having a preference for a specific gender is natural, some prefer male, while some prefer female, but culture may overshadow our preferences. In my culture, male children are preferred because it's believed they are the Carriers of lineage. Therefore, in this post, I will share my preference regarding the gender of my children and my experiences.

IMG_20240902_171050_540.jpg
My daughter


THE EXPENSIVE GENDER TO TRAIN


Children are precious gifts from God, and they should be treated suitably. Therefore, training children is expensive, irrespective of gender. It all depends on the quality of the training a parent wants to give to his child, not the gender. In infancy, both male and female children eat milk, and a parent has to provide it irrespective of gender; as they grow, they need formal education irrespective of gender. Therefore, training children is expensive, not determined by gender.


THE GENDER I PREFER AS CHILDREN


I grew up in a family of six children, five girls and one boy. Fortunately, I am the only boy. So I grew up with the desire to reproduce male children for two reasons;

First: I have experienced what it means to be in the mix of girls, the drama, the gossip, and the discussion; they are always very fun. I just want to experience how it feels to be in the mix of boys.

Secondly: I want my family lineage to be Carried forward as the true African man I am.

So when I got married, my wife and I sat and talked about the gender of our first child. I wanted a boy as my first child, and she also wanted a boy to make my Dad happy. One fateful day, when I returned from work, I got good news: my wife was pregnant. We expected a boy because my wife said she calculated her ovulation as recommended, and I said fine, a boy is who I want as my first child. She registered for antenatal, we took all the medical Precautions. Before the time for delivery, we went for a scan to know the sex of our baby, and we were told it was a girl. My wife was disappointed, but I was still hopeful. When we got home, I prayed to God and thanked him for our baby and asked him to protect my baby and my wife and grant us a safe delivery; I also prayed he would help me to love my baby irrespective of gender. Behold, my wife delivered a beautiful baby girl.

My reaction: I was thrilled when I looked at my baby, she was very beautiful.

I love my daughter very much, she gives me Joy and happiness, and I have come to realize that the Joy of becoming a parent is paramount. You know what? My daughter is Daddy's girl, I can do anything for her, and my love for her is immeasurably. I still want to have a boy, and I pray God should grant me my desire, but if he doesn't, I am forever grateful to him for allowing me to experience the Joy of becoming a father, the best Joy ever, that Joy I have when my daughter crawl to me to carry her when I am back from work, that Joy I have when she smiles at me and kisses me, I am forever grateful for these.

My daughterMy daughter and I

IMG_20240628_110956_029.jpg

IMG_20240728_163654_155.jpg


GENDER THAT EXHIBIT TENDENCY OF GOING OUT OF CONTROL DURING ADOLESCENCE


Adolescence is a period in life when we want to experience absolute freedom not just a relative one. A time we feel we have arrived, we want to do things ourselves. It is a time we become more inquisitive and experimental, we want to know everything and experience everything, and sadly, we may dislike anyone who tries to stop us from experiencing what we desire. Both male and female children want this kind of freedom during adolescence, they both want to do what their peers are doing. Therefore both genders tend to go out of control during adolescence. What matters is giving our children proper training, and Ernestly praying to God to help them imbibe the training we give them.


MY OPINION ON THE STATEMENT; "WHAT A BOY CAN DO, A CAN DO BETTER"


In my opinion, the above statement is true. There's no need to work out ourselves for male children because we feel they can care for us the most or do certain things for us more; female children can do the same for us; they can do the best for us. Remember I mentioned earlier that I have five sisters? To be honest, they provide for my parents more than I do. They are very caring and loving towards my parents. They also achieve a lot in life, and academically. I have a sister on steemit who is doing very well too, I joined steemit three months after she joined, and today where she is and what has achieved can never be compared to mine. These personal experiences have made me believe girls can equally achieve what boys achieve, and even achieve more than boys.

IMG_20240902_171019_847.jpg


CONCLUSION


Preferring to have a specific gender for children is not bad. But if we have the gender we did not request, let's love our baby; what matters is experiencing the Joy of being parents. Both male and female are gifts from God, and they both can attend greater heights in life.


I invite;

@goodybest
@blessedbee
@ninapenda


BEST REGARDS

@iddy

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Such a beautiful and wonderful daughter, God gave you full option.
Thank you for the invitation

Thank you very much, dear. God gave us the full option.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33