Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 20: I Wish I Handled it Better

in Steem4Nigeria10 months ago

In life, we experience and encounter various situation that make us to act in a certain way. Sometimes we make the wrong choice, sometimes we make the right one. But in that moment, we are expected to act, to take a decision, to do something. And after everything has been said and done. We start to reflect about our actions. Did I do the right thing? Could I have handled it better?

WHAT WAS THE SITUATION YOU FOUND YOURSELF THAT MADE YOU REACT DIFFERENTLY FROM HOW YOU SHOULD HAVE.

I have encountered many situations that I wish I handled differently. One spectacular one was the time when I lost my phone. I was on my way back from church funny enough. Who would have thought one would get robed few hours after spending time in gods presence. But I did. On my way to the house, I met two strangers who claimed to be foreigners. The asked me for directions, saying they were new to the areas and they just wanted to sell their goods. Unfortunately, I believed them, which was quite stupid on my side. Although I didn’t know where they were heading, but strangely they managed to convince me to follow them to some distance afar off where the goods were.


While we were walking, they started talking about how they were part of a secret society. They brought out some papers and it turned to money. Instantly I became more cautious. I decided to make a run for it. However they stopped me, saying some bullshit I couldn’t comprehend. They asked me for my phone which I just bought recently and my atm card and pin number and I just gave it to them. It was like I was under a spell. They told me to go back home and I also did.


It was when I was afar off that I regained my consciousness. I immediately realized what I had done. I just gave two strangers my new phone worth a hundred thousand naira and an access to my bank account. I was dumbfounded. I tried raising alarmed but it was too late. I couldn’t find them again. It tried blocking my account but they have already withdrawal all the money in it. I was completely and utterly shattered.

pexels-liza-summer-6383267.jpg
Source

SHARE WITH US HOW YOU HANDLED IT THE WRONG WAY

In retrospect, I regret answering those strangers. I should have not been too trusting to individuals I have never met before. Because it was when I felt pity n them that I became gullible. It was when I started talking to them that I gave them access to manipulate me. Some say i was jazzed, others says I was hypnotized.

HOW SHOULD YOU HAVE HANDLED IT

I believe, I could have done better. I could have dismiss them when I knew I could not help them istead of following two complete strangers. I could have not been to gullible or weak or too trusting. Thinking about it now, there are so many things I could have done to prevent such unfortunate incident from happening. However we can only reflect and learn from our mistake.

A GENERAL ADVICE FOR YOUR READERS BASED ON YOUR EXPERIENCE

pexels-anna-tarazevich-5697261.jpg
Source

To my fellow steemians out there, the few advice I can give you are;

1. DON’T BE TOO TRUSTING TO PEOPLE YOU DON’T KNOW VERY WELL:

No one can tell the intent of a mans heart. So we should be careful of the kind of people we trust. Nowadays people can pretend to look pitiful and unfortunate just so they can gain the sympathy of some. When you meet a stranger or someone you don’t know very well, don’t be too willing to help them or divulge some information to them. Tread cautiously or else it will back fire on you.

2. SOMETIMES LISTEN TO YOUR INNER MAN.

There are times when our inner man whispers to us what we cannot see or discern ordinarily. But most people unfortunately are not in tune with their inner man. We sometimes fight with ourselves instead of relying on ourselves. So we should try to listen more to our inner man to direct us.

I invite @saintkelvin, @patjewell and @smartlouis to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Nice entry friend, my name has 17 at the ending, take note of this correct. I was passing by and decided to read your post that was how I got to see it.

Okay thanks

 10 months ago 

So sorry for the situation that happened. It is so unfortunate that the way things are, one cannot render help again not only to a stranger, to a know person also. All what we need to do is to be very careful and conscious of ourselves all the time. Best luck.

 10 months ago 

So sad you loss your phone but be thankful for not losing your life because that would've been the worst, I've learn from your mistake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59615.63
ETH 2524.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44