Handling Rejection

in Steem4Nigeria7 days ago (edited)

Good day everyone one in this community, hope your day went well as mine was, I'm excited to participate in this contest title Handling Rejection organizing by @lhorgic. This is a very good contest that will help us to understand how we can be able to handle any state of rejection.

opposites-2779480_1280.jpg

Pixabay

• What do you understand by the word "Rejection"

This part of the article, I'm going to express the meaning of rejection. What rejection is and what rejection is not.

Now, rejection in my own understanding is the act of dismissal, or refusal, decline, etc. The main point to be noted about rejection is that rejection brings negative report, like sadness, weeping, anger, frustration, disappointment, self doubt, low self esteem etc. All this are outcome of rejection, when talking about rejection all this should be considered and all this things mentioned are negative side of human, it brings negative report.

Looking into the aspect of what rejection is not about will help understand what rejection is really about. Rejection is not acceptance, when ever talking about rejection is means the opposite of acceptance. When someone is accepted the person is not rejected, while if a person is rejection the person is not accepted.

kid-2101825_1280.jpg
Pixabay

• Share with us your Rejection experience and how you handled it.

I experienced rejection in the year 2022, which I applied to study at the Nigerian Police Academy (POLAC) to also graduate as an ASP (Assistance Superintendent of Police) and I was rejected after all the struggle and the expenses, time wasted, money wasted and lot more.

I have been experiencing different rejection but why I decided to talk about the this particular one is because I spent a lot, even my parents spent a lot, even till the extend that I have to travelled to Kano, Wudil where the academy is located for another screening.

It started with writing of JAMB, I got their cut off mark, that was my first success, and after then I bought the school form with some amount of money, furthermore I travel to my state for some other screening which should be done at different state of origin, I was qualified to go further to Kano for the school screening itself.

This wasn't just the expenses, I had to get recommended from different three people, the Chairman of my village, a police officer with a rank above ASP, get another recommendation from a lawyer and all this was an expensive movement which I did all.

Furthermore, I have to travel to different places like my village to get some reports of good character from people in my hometown and did all was needed.

man-272676_1280.jpg
Pixabay

I later move to Kano, Wudil where I spent a lot of money for the transport from Port Harcourt to Kano, and the feeding and the accomodations I took, because I don't know anyone there, so I have to pay for a hotel room to stay. The feeding was so expensive also, a plate of food for morning will consume up to 1,000 naira and I have to eat two times a day to help keep some money for my transport back to Port Harcourt.

After like a week at Kano, while the event was supposed to be done within three days, they took it longer than the day expected, I have to spend up to two weeks in Kano with the expensive life.

And at the end of it, I was rejected of the admission, this was a heart breaking stuff, in the whole Akwa Ibom state, we can out about 100+ candidate and only 10 were chosen and I wasn't among. I felt like crying, I felt like given up, I felt so sad. But I never let the negative report of it to hinder me from still trying something else.

Just imagine the expenses, the time wasted because it didn't only affects the time at the moment but it decline my admission that year, I have to stay at home again and wait for the next year to rewrite JAMB again and try again.

I have to still pick another JAMB from the next year that fame which was last year, and glory to God am now a student of the university of Uyo.

So this was how I was been rejected, this is not the only rejection I have faced, rejection can come more than once, it can keep coming but stay still and see the salvation of the Lord.

• Were there lessons learnt, kindly share with us and encourage others going through similar experience.

little-boy-7356705_1280.jpg
Pixabay

In this experience now, I have learnt a lot of things. People can be running after what God did not destine them for, I now sited that I wasn't meant to become a police man in life, that I was just running after my own desire not the desire of the Lord.

So I will advise or encourage others, that every situation that we face the Lord knows it, just that we need to be patient and be consistent. Not because you have tried this year and you were rejected you have to rest, No! Continue, press towards it, look into other alternative, don't give up, try other ways because we are not meant to be useless or be rejected, continue check out another alternative and surely God will see everyone us through.

Thanks for reading, hope is useful.

I invite @samuelnkenta, @wealth2, @bossj23

Sort:  
Loading...
TEAM 1

Congratulations!

Your post has been supported by THE QUEST TEAM. We support quality posts, good comments anywhere, and any tags


post.PNG

Curated by : @fjjrg

Thank you so much for your support, am grateful 🤗

Phew!
Life. It must have been so difficult to bear the pain for not qualifying. As people we can become heartbroken and stop believing in our abilities or "luck".

You were broken. You picked up your broken pieces and moulded a new you. I am super proud of your progress.

We should try not to give up.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60666.25
ETH 2702.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43