Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 36: Away From Home

in Steem4Nigeria3 months ago

family-3283949_1280.jpg
home is that place that makes you relax

Home Sweet Home!


Greetings to all the wanderful people in the Steem4nigeria community. Speaking of home, my home community Is the Steem4nigeria Community.

What is your definition of "Home"


To some people, home is a physical location that makes them comfortable, a comfort zone. To others it includes the people, unique relationships and the environment that embodies some precious memories.
I feel home is that security I find among my family, in a familiar physical location like the house I live and the city of Uyo in AkwaIbom State.

family-spending-time-together-home_23-2149038325.jpg
home is your comfort zone

Have you been away from home, Where exactly was it?


I have been away from home, visiting places, but I really felt away from home when I first went to Kano state for work.
Every thing was different, the weather, the people, the food, the language, the road, the culture and no relationships.
My work and workmates were the closest to home at that time. I quickly became homesick.

What was your experience like...interesting, boring, maltreated, loved etc...Kindly share with us.


I was homesick, everything was different and I needed something that was a little familiar; friends, family, places or even food that looked familiar. Nothing I saw had any memory attached to it. I did not know where each road goes, unlike when I am in Uyo, I can tell how to get to my destination but in Kano, I will have to ask around and avoid getting lost.
A simple thing like asking for direction was a problem because I did not know the language. Even my body did not like the place and the type of food which made me physically sick, lost weight and wish to go home.

photostudio_1712407202803.jpg
When you are away from home, food become your enemy

If you're given another opportunity to be away from home to the same place you visited, would you go? Give us reasons.


I went for work, I had very limited choice. I had to learn the language, get accustomed to eating Brabusco, Tuwon shinkafa and Tuwon masara. Kano started feeling like home when I could interact with the traders at the market and with people at work.
I was posted back to AkwaIbom State and back to Kano a fee times. Food is very available in Kano and that is why I would love to go there again and more importantly, it's my work that kept me there. Now that it has started to feel like home, I will be happy to go there.

photostudio_1712408716855.jpg
Home is more than the house, it's the relationship

Conclusion


Home sweet home, home is wherever you have develop a fondness for. I can be a physical house, or a combination of the house and your family who lives in the house. Your town can be your home.


Thanks for reading my post I'm inviting @okere-blessing, @eliany and @josepha

Read my introduction here in
my achievement 1

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Your experience was a waw! You have really expressed well in this contest topic and I wish you the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54