Shackles of despair

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago

image.png

CHAPTER FIVE

The next day was roll call day, to see if everyone had returned from the midterm break, if most people had not resumed school, they would call to find out why.

They finished with the Jss1 class and moved to the Jss2 class.

"Nkechi John!!!", "Present!"*
"Blessing Emmanuel"
There was silence in the hall, Simca and her friends as prefects were around controlling the noise, and looking for new victims, Simca fidgeted a bit but , Cyndy told her not to worry.

When the silence was prolonged, her friend said that she hadn't yet arrived, everyone was so surprised, because everyone usually woke up at the same time, and appeared at the same time, so what was she still doing in the hostel.

They would tackle that later though, they called "Jennifer Leo ", there was silence again, the teachers asked in hushed tones, what was going on.

As they were about to move on, Jennifer ran inside panting, "Present ma" she said,

"What's this, why are you late, where did you go to?" The civic teacher asked her

"Mrs Linda told me to get something for her outside the school, so I took the shortest route there" She had explained, by then Mrs Linda appeared and confirmed what the girl who was still trying to catch her breath said.

They told her to join the line and wanted to move on to the nest person before Jennifer spoke "Ma, there is something else I saw, I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw it, it was while I was coming back, it's what made me run back here in a hurry" The girl said after catching her breath

"What could that be, that it couldn't wait until after this role call?" Teacher Evelyn asked

The girl spoke in a panicking voice, "Ma, as.. as I was Coming along the Bush track, I... I... s..a..w Blessing..." She wanted to continue but the teacher cut her short.

"You saw Blessing, so? She isn't here, I hope you told her to come, you're wasting time go straight to the point" Teacher Evelyn said

"I.. saw her lying down in the... bush..sh, I thought she wa..s sleeping, but when I checked properly,.. she wasn't breathing, her body was cold too, it's like she is dead" she finally dropped the bombshells.

The teachers who loved Blessing quickly ran to the location and called the ambulance, it was there that Blessing was confirmed dead, The entire school shook, the Doctor said she died from strangling, they wondered how that was possible.

Simca and her friends paid an outsider to say something, as they were still worrying, the person came in and asked to see the principal of the school, when she was directed there, the person said .

"Madam, you have to learn to control your students, I saw one of them on Uniform the other day, I usually see her with one man, I think just yesterday I saw her and the man arguing, it was intense, I just minded my business, after all I always told her to get back to school and she would insult me" The person said and left.

The principal told the teachers, the hostel mistress confirmed that, Blessing came into her hostel late the day of resumption (The day Simca asked her to do some work) making the teachers believe that it was all true.

The school used this to justify their claims, when the news got to Blessing's mother, she slumped and died in the spot.
Blessing was her only child.

In a few weeks the entire commotion died off, and Simca as well as her friends laughed at what they called a smart move.

Cc:
@ngoenyi
@bessie2023
@kidi40
@alli001

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 months ago 

Good day my dear @fortwis09 i really enjoyed reading your post, Simca and her friends will have to pay for what the did. Interesting story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22