Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 43: My beliefs about Cesarean Section (CS)

in Steem4Nigerialast month

Introduction

Welcome to my blog as I participate on this beautiful topic.

baby-7063677_640.jpgSource

How do you explain CS to a lay man understanding?

Cesarian section commonly known as CS, C-section or elective CS, is the process of delivering children through, a surgical operation. So, the baby in this process is delivered through the opening up of the pregnant mother's belly in order to bring out the baby. This is different from vaginal delivery, which people call "normal delivery."

The truth here is that people don't know that both methods of delivery are normal delivery.

Do you think CS should be a choice /right or as situation demands?

pregnant-6189040_640.jpgSource

As much as I know, situations demand CS. Such as:

  • Over weight or big baby. If the baby is too big, maybe weighing from 3.5kg and above, it will be a risk for the mother because she may sustain serious injury as a result of a 'tear' during delivery. Conditions like this often make doctors suggest caesarian section.
  • Another reason for CS is the position of the baby. For example, if the baby is lying in a breech position, that is feet down and the head up, or if the baby lies vertically instead of horizontally facing downwards, which will be easier for the mother to push out. The C-section is usually recommended for this.
  • CS can be suggested if the baby has some abnormalities like

pexels-amina-filkins-5427991_1.jpgSource

  • The case of having multiple babies, like triplets or more. The mother may not have enough strength to push out three babies, and pushing may cause harm to the babies. That's why the C-section is the easiest delivery method for such cases.
  • The position of the placenta can also be the reason for CS. If the placenta lowers down before the baby, it is dangerous because a woman cannot first give birth to placenta. Rather, she delivers the baby before the placenta follows.
  • The condition of the mother also determines if she should be operated upon or not. For instance, a friend of mine had high blood pressure at the time she was in labour. She was unstable, so the doctors quickly suggested C-section. Another one had her water (amniotic sac) broken at seven months. She couldn't go through the other process of delivery so she was booked for CS delivery to save the baby.

Many reasons which I may not be able to highlight here give rise to the doctors suggesting C-section delivery to women.

I have heard that women used to choose to deliver their babies through CS (elective CS). But I remember my first child's delivery. The labour pains were so great that I had to shout I needed CS. The doctors just laughed at me and told me I was going to deliver. I seriously wanted to be operated on due to pain, but I finally delivered, not through CS.

Is there any history or stories about the belief of women who gives birth through CS in your country/Community? Share with us.

pexels-jonathanborba-3259629_2.jpgSource

Oh, yes. In my country/community, anyone who delivers through CS does not have a normal delivery like I've mentioned above. Women are usually termed as being evil, lazy, weak and can't push the baby out or endure labour pains.

Some will even think, since it was a CS delivery, that it wasn't a safe delivery like the other.

My sister, I mean my younger sister, almost lost her life and the baby two years ago because of a refusal to be operated upon. To her, she wanted to deliver like "the Hebrew women." That's the language most people use.

Thank God, she was able to accept the operation after so many cries, pleas and explanations that nothing would happen, because she was afraid of dying in the process too.

What is your advice to that person who is refusing this process because of what people will say?

pexels-jozemara-friorili-lemes-1872140-3470004.jpgSource

My darling sister, C-section delivery is a safe and normal delivery. You're not a weak, lazy or evil person, but circumstances happen. As long as you and your child are safe, then you have nothing to worry about.

Is it about the surgery injury? Never worry, you're not the only one in it. Thousands of women have gone through it and came out successfully, safe and sound, you too will. You're not alone, not the first, and certainly won't be the last.

Will you support your sister,wife to Choose CS in case of any emergency during childbirth? Or you allow her to wait until the due time.

Of course, yes. I would encourage anyone to go through CS delivery. I personally wanted to deliver through C-section due to labour pains and I also had pleaded that my younger sister accept the delivery of her baby.

Conclusion

This is me giving thanks to God for the knowledge of caesarian section which He gave to the doctors. Though it was always dangerous in times past due to limited knowledge by doctors, now, it is safer and better now.

Thank you, doctors, for yielding to saving our women and children. Here's sending you lots of love and respect!

I'm inviting @ogechukwu-martha, @okere-blessing and @realitytrend

02-21-05-993__481.pngpixabay

10% to Steem4Nigeria

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

My dear this is a case no woman will wish to give birth but being that when the conditions demand this, there is no alternative than to submit.

In the same hand, thank God for the wisdom given to the doctors about saving the life of women who could not deliver safely.

Thanks for the invitation I will try and participate.

 last month 

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate you. I'll be here to read your entry, best wishes dear.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57142.21
ETH 2984.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25