My Neighborhood Watch #59 - Reporting Events Around us

in Steem4Nigeriayesterday (edited)
Contest greetings to all my fellow contestants,I welcome you all to this wonderful contest. This contest have make me familiar and be aware of what is going on in our society all over the world,this is from users content reports. So I have to appreciate you @xkool24 for the untireless work. I report on the community Masquerade day.

Report From Ikot Ntu Village,

In every first week of August in each year,this community will make way for their ancestral masquerade festival,this is the period of the month where those that are not members of being initiated to go out from their houses, children under age, women and even visitors that are not members in their own community to be moving around the community. So Yesterday Ikot Ntu, make her first festival to set in the masquerade. When "My Neighborhood Watch Reporter @etett visited the area.

1000004197.jpg
Shot from Redmi A3
The whole of the community was silent, there was no activities as it used to be on normal days,
So that morning I was seeing people buying food items back to their house,I didn't understand the pattern, when I get closer to some body, try to make enquiry I discovered that the masquerade will be set from Noon time till the evening time.
So it was there I understood the whole thing.
I went back and bought some stuff that I will eat during this hours of time that they will be displaying their masquerade dancing festival.

The Order Of The Festival

It was announced that those that are not members or being initiated shouldn't be out side, women and children, there should be no secret viewing, that is hiding somewhere and sights how they are dancing and setting in the Ekpo masquerade As a strengthen,I tried to gather the report from the villagers before the hours. How ever, women were seen in side the house, cooking for their husband and children. Doing their domestic work and when My Neighborhood Watch Reporter deeply enquire some facts,it was discovered that every compound have make their local fencing, using stick and palm trees leafs to make sure no one can see from inside what is going on out side.

As the hours getting near for the Expo Masquerade to set in, the whole of the community was in silent mood, the road was empty no vehicle was moving. It was just like declaring a state of Emergency in a particular town.

1000004200.jpg
The road in the Ikot Ntu Village.
At this point, only people living close can going out,in case the masquerade comes they will turn and run in side the house.

Neighborhood Effects Of The Masquerade

As My Neighborhood Watch Reporter ended another close community, the major road linking the two villages was also affected by this Ekpo masquerade festival,no vehicle and no body was moving in or out, every one were in fear of the Ekpo masquerade festival. As you can see the major road linking the two villages.

1000004199.jpg
Ikot Ntu/Ikot Esia road
So at this point,My Neighborhood Watch Reporter @ etette have filled his report, not to break the community rules of the Ekpo masquerade festival, that says every one should be indoor.
Because they normally said "When You Are In Rome,Be like Romans"
So it was an unbelievable scene, that such a primitive culture is till ongoing in some villages.t
Though culture is the way of the people but blocking everywhere is an issue that needs urgent attention.

I hereby invite my friends: @goodybest @bela90

@etette Reporting for My Neighborhood Watch #59- Reporting Events Around us

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @scilwa, which is a curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community. We can also be found on our hive community & peakd as well as on my Discord Server

Manually curated by @ abiga554
r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Felicitaciones, su publication ha sido votado por @scilwa. También puedo ser encontrado en nuestra comunidad de colmena y Peakd así como en mi servidor de discordia

This isn't surprising, I ones went to visit a friend in one certain village and this happens, we wasn't allowed to go out, talk loudly or shout, even to look out on the window when the masquerade approaches was prohibited, to make fire which brings out smoke wasn't allowed, we were all inside, pressing phones from morning till dawn.
I wonder why such culture till existing, it's should be flush off, too dangerous in this modern life.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61639.07
ETH 2982.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46