Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 40: My Worst High School Experience

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago

My Steemians, Happy New Month. I am delighted to have you read through my post organized by Steemit Kids.
I am a Nigerian from the North Central part, of West Africa.

illustration-group-diverse-young-high-school-students_10045-819.jpg
Source

Give us a brief introduction of your school, its name, location, and why it stands out in your location.

My high school is a technical education school established in 1956 and known as Kaduna Technical Institute and later in 1963 was upgraded to Kaduna Polytechnic offering at first engineering and commerce.

And it offers so many technical, engineering, commercial, environmental science and designs, etc.

Kaduna Polytechnic is located in Kaduna the capital city of Kaduna State in North West of Nigeria in West Africa. It's about 300 kilometers from where I live and about an hour's drive depending on the road and route taken.

Share with us your worst high school experience.

I had some worst experiences in high school before admission and during the period of my study.

When I got to collect my admission letter, it could not be found and it took me five days to get it and was passing night with someone I knew from the village who worked there.

Having collected, I came home to look for registration which wasn't easy because my parents weren't buoyant enough to raise such an amount, so I had to engage in some manual labor.

brainstorm-meeting_1098-15871.jpg
Source

I registered and also paid for accommodation and when I prepared to take possession to start attending lectures but Porter told me, that my card could be found, and I tried all I could but all efforts proved fruitless.

So, I took another time to find accommodation outside the school which was higher and a little far from the school. That have marked the beginning of my worst time in high school.

With all these, I was already behind time because classes started and some classwork and assignments were already carried out by my coursemates.

I later changed my initial course registered which is Cartography because it involves design which requires some equipment like tressing paper, rotary pen, scale rule, and others.

I wasn't meeting up and if I would force myself I may end up forfeit the study. I then later changed to Estate Management which doesn't require all these apart from technical drawing which I had to spend less.

That was after six weeks, and I had to start all over again. I struggled to meet up, but not perfect. And coupled with my distance to school. I was not close enough to my mates to interact with mates to enable me to share academiactivitiesty them them themes with.

And I did come from a distance of about four kilometers and because I was not buoyant enough that forced me to too to to to rek sometimes.

I worked with extra time to meet up with the academic activities with my made but didn't see much light. I was affected academically. But was able to graduate.

I did sometimes intentionally forfeited lectures to find some casual job in the town to make ends meet.

Kaduna is far from my village, and my relation I have there lost his job and I cannot run to anybody for help. I operated mostly on 0 - 0- 1 means, I ate mostly once in a day, even if I ate more than once I only ate to fill my stomach and not for perfect satisfaction probably that is why I developed some stomach ulcers.

Was there any lesson learned, kindly share it with us

Yes, a lesson was learned.
The scenario helped me to take to face the reality of life.

It made me believe in myself to face whatever challenges that I encounter.

It also helped me to realize that hard work pay

lt also helped me to believe that God can do it for me and any other person at any time.

I want to invite @dave-hanny @josepha and @simonnwigwe to join the contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48