Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 21: The Power of Forgiveness

in Steem4Nigeria7 months ago

Greetings

Hello there, my fellow steemit friends. In my article today, I will be writing on forgiveness. The subject matter "Forgiveness" is based on a contest I participated in.

Meaning of Forgiveness

Pixabay
female-alcoholism-2847443_640.jpg

Forgiveness is personal. In my own view, forgiveness is the act and decision we take to let go of bad feelings or vengeance toward someone or a group of people who has done us wrong, deliberately or not, regardless of whatsoever they did to us, we let it go and forgive them. Forgiveness is also the process of forgiving or being forgiven. As I said earlier that forgiveness is personal, it implies that we all have the ability to forgive one another. Forgiveness is not only for christians, Muslims, etc, it is for everyone. We all can forgive and be forgiven.

Pixabay
pair-3361949_640.jpg

Forgiveness is important in maintaining a healthy relationship because forgiveness is mercy related. Showing someone mercy is accepting the shortcomings and flaws of other people and giving them a second chance because we all make mistakes and we all are imperfect. After forgiveness, reconciliation comes in. Reconciliation I mean, that we move on with these people after giving them a second chance. Forgiveness has great importance which includes;

  1. Forgiveness helps in repairing broken relationships. After forgiveness, we reconcile and we move on, no turning back.

  2. Forgiveness allows us to heal from past wounds, develop compassion and empathy towards others, reduce stress and anxiety and as we maintain a healthy relationship with others.

Pixabay
breakup-908714_640.jpg

  1. Forgiveness prevents interpersonal conflicts, marital conflicts and inter- communal conflicts.
    Forgiveness prevents envies, wars, etc. It reduces the risk of loosing life. It also help us in building a good relationship with others as well as maintaining it
    .

Forgiving each other makes our relationship bond stronger and stronger. It makes us realize that our we will stay with each other in every troubles by accepting all good and bad qualities.

I faced a challenge in forgiving someone when I was in secondary school. We had a little disagreement and she had to tell me we are not friends anymore. She was serious and I was not happy about it. I became angry with her and I refused to talk to her. I told my friends about it and I was told to let go. I decided to forgive her and we moved on without any problem. We became friends again. Everything became settled through forgiveness.

Forgiveness played a significant role in the life of one of my friend. He was violent in nature and loved causing trouble. He injured a boy in school one day and the injury was serious. He was found wanting and the parents of the boy decided to take action by arresting the violent boy. But because the injured boy was compassionate, he decided to forgive him and told his parents to forgive the boy as well. This was how the violent boy turned to a good person. His life was transformed through the little incidence that happened.

Pixabay
on-a-yacht-2920946_640.jpg

What I understand by "Love and forgiveness are twins that cannot be separated" is that without love there is no forgiveness. So we must all learn to love others as we love ourselves so that we can forgive our offenders. To forgive we must love.

Conclusion

I hope we all have learnt a lot about forgiveness in my own view. Forgiveness is important in our daily life. Thank you all for reading my article. Your thoughts and opinions are welcomed.
I invite
@bossj23
@uduak3287
@emmy01, to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 7 months ago 

Estimado amigo. Ciertamente, el perdón es una decisión personal que solo nosotros podemos ejecutar. Que bueno que has entendido lo que es el perdón. Bendiciónes para ti

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For November 2023 Curated by - <@karianaporras>

https://unsplash.com/

https://pexels.com/

https://Freepik.com/

https://pixabay.com/

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

 7 months ago 

I want to say a very big thank you for the encouragement and I am looking forward to do better.

 7 months ago 

I want to say a very big thank you for the encouragement and I am looking forward to do better.

Indeed, when we forgive we heal. When we forgive we fix any broken relationship. And when we forgive it prevents conflicts. Such a nice write up

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53