My Neighborhood Watch #54 - Reporting Events Around Us

in Steem4Nigeria25 days ago

Hello Steemians, I am so delighted to participate in this beautiful contest in the Steem4Nigeria Community and it is my pleasure to drop my entry. Please feel free to go through my post. Thank you all and I love you guys so much.

Tell us about those life events/Activities happening in your neighborhood.

IMG_20221028_141922_657.jpg

Marriage is one of the cultures in Nigeria.
So today is the 25th of June, 2024.
My neighborhood daughter decided to introduce her husband-to-be to her family members today.

My neighborhood Indigenous tribe is the same as mine which is Eggon language, the tribe is one among the subtribes in Nigeria, and our culture and tradition demand that when a woman wants to properly marry the love of her life, the first steps and marriage rites must be done:

IMG_20221028_135548_191.jpg

The lady must bring the husband to her family members for a formal introduction and after that, the husband-to-be will again have to bring his family members and the necessary items e.g, palm wine, beer, soft drinks, and a small amount of money that was demanded the special introduction to take place after the guy presents all the items, he is free to ask for his girlfriend's hand in marriage.

After the guy asks for the girl's hand in marriage and her family members agree and he also presents the items that were demanded of him, this time the girl's family member will declare to her that she is a proposed wife and she is not allowed to make any relationship with any other man apart from the man she has already presented and she is not also allowed to present any man to her family again because it is against our culture and tradition.

Though this is just an introduction part, the main wedding will also take place and it is the lady and her fiance that will notify every about the white wedding in due time.

IMG_20221028_142127_591.jpg

So today, step one of the marriage is officially done and dusted to the glory of the lord almighty.

It was a colorful day as a lot of people showed up for her, there was a lot of food and drink for the people who attended the the introduction ceremony.

I appreciate the time that you have dedicated to reading my post and I will never take your kindness for granted. Thank you and I love you all.

I want to invite @josepha and @simonnwigwe to join me in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Marriage is a beautiful thing indeed, what a lovely celebration and congratulations to both the groom and the bride. Extend my greetings to your neighbors daughter on her successful marriage and introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67383.45
ETH 3525.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70