THE DIARY GAME/24-02-2024/THE MANTLE OF LEADERSHIP

in Steem4Nigeria5 months ago

THE MANTLE OF LEADERSHIP

IMG_20240224_131855_108~2.jpg

•A tree cannot make a forest•

Have you ever made a hard decision in your life which you never regretted. Yesterday happened to be one of those days for me.

•Some months ago, one of my course mates met me and informed me of an upcoming event in one non-governmental professional organization know as American Society Of Safety Professionals(ASSP) concerned with safety of which she's a member but for one to become a member of this professional body the sum of $15 must be committed. This organization has it's headquarter in the United States but the chapter she belongs to is just a stone throw from our school campus.

She reminded me of the event a day to the date and told me to try as much as possible to be there, stressing that the event would only last for 2hours. I never wanted to attend the event because of the work I had on my desk but because I never wanted to hurt her feelings I had to reschedule my task to attend her inauguration.

IMG_20240224_132345.jpg

•Who the cap fits, Should wear it•

I actually woke up early as usual even though I went to bed late due to the numerous activities I had to do. I decided to take a nap after preparing breakfast and doing some house chores but I slept off beyond expectation only to be interrupted by a phone call from my brother and surprisingly when I checked the time it was past 10 Am already, I hadn't taken my bath and the distance from my house to the place where the events was to take place could take more than 30 minutes on foot. I hurriedly took my bath dressed up and moved out of the house. I had to use a tricycle because I was behind schedule.

I had never been to that place before though I've been passing by. It was an eatery in the heart of the town that also have an event centre. I walked into the building majestically with boldness and confidence. I met three well-dressed persons walking out of the building who I asked for direction to where the events was holding in the building.

IMG_20240224_121942_861~2.jpg

•The moments of handing over•

On getting there, lots of people were already seated. I wasn't surprised because I was late and she as well told me that there'll be nothing like African time which meant that the event will start by 10:00 a.m prompt . I took my seat beside her after having a quick glance of the people already seated to discover that many of the participants were students of my institution.

The place was well-ventilated and quite appealing to the eyes. Been there wasn't really a waste of time to me because I learnt a lot at the event.The lecture was on safety leadership.

IMG_20240224_132548.jpg

•Making new friends•

•I learned that as a safety professional you must not look away from any hazards, you must always be ready to ensure that hazards are being removed from the surrounding. The event was really an eye opener for me, I got to know that if we have a water splash on the floor that could result to slippery, the first thing to do as a safety professional is not to go and get a mop but to set barricades so as to prevent others that may not observe it.

Also, I learnt from the meeting that in safety leadership, the leader must not criticize the subject, the leader must be ready to fill up the gaps; also in an establishment settings, the leader should not just sign any document presented before him or her, he or she must go through the document to know if it is safe to let out certain things that are being requested for in the document; for instance if the workers needed of a particular equipment, let's say a scaffold in the establishment or any other device that requires some technical-know- how to operate, such should be restricted from those workers to guarantee their safety if they don't have the technical operative knowledge of such device.

IMG_20240224_121933_007~2.jpg

•Numerous responsibilities•

My course mate happened to be among those that were handed the mantle of leadership in the Uyo chapter of American Society Of Safety Professionals (ASSP).

She as well as others were given the certificate of office and were advised by the handing over zonal president to be committed to their duties as to who much is given much is expected. She's to serve as the assistant secretary.

IMG_20240224_132423.jpg

•Leadership is not for the weak•

The president of this professional body in Nigeria alongside the student advisor of the organization were in attendance. They also advised the incoming cabinet to do their best even more than what their predecessors had done. It was a joyful moment as the incoming chapter zonal president was decorated by the outgoing zonal president.

IMG_20240224_132534~2.jpg

•The newly elected zonal president of the chapter•

•I ceased the opportunity to establish contact with some prominent individuals in the chapter even though it was my first time being there I was so excited when I got their contacts.

She said she was so happy when she saw me walked into the hall. She felt honoured.She thought I wouldn't make it to the event.

***The hours spent at this event wasn't a waste, it really paid off. I was glad to contribute to her happiness yesterday.

@bossj23 @nsijoro

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44