The Diary Game - The Experience I Had At My Son's Place With My Grandson - (25/10/2022)

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, I hope you're all enjoying yourselves. Since Tuesday, October 25, also happened to be a pretty unusual day because there was no school in the entire state of Lagos, I'll be presenting my entire day's events today. The Lagos government gave all the schools a one-week midterm break; this was actually the first time it had occurred. I haven't yet figured out the reason for this—whether it was politics or some sort of self-decision on the part of the educational sectors, I'm just really curious.

5628CB52-1FEE-40B5-9F3F-F016B0C6939A.jpeg

The sky is beautiful, and it looks like it will be warm today. I began by cleaning up the house and preparing breakfast. I decided to get everything organized because I'll be spending a week at my first son's house, who his wife just put to bed months ago, since I intend to spend some days with them, I instructed my last son, David to manage the store while I am away.

So, before leaving, I went to the supplier of nylon to get some extras of the items that are always in demand as well as some nylon products that were unavailable.

01891FE1-D2B6-48FC-99B0-38F883422AEA.jpeg

After making sure everything was ready, I quickly rushed to shower since the trip would take several hours and I would need to leave early in order to beat traffic and arrive on time. As soon as I told my son that I was getting ready to move, he asked me to help him buy his favourite recipe in the market, Spinach, also known as ugu leaf in my native dialect. I quickly grabbed some cash and hurried over to the neighborhood market since it was close to my house and accessible by foot.

I arrived at the market on time, and went to the woman that was selling veggies, I asked if she have fresh ugu leaves that is the ones that they recently harvested on the farm. She said yes, and showed me.

I informed her to pack 1,000 Naira worth of Ugu leaves and to assist me in slicing it since it was indeed fresh. She completed the slicing in just two minutes, and I paid her before heading to the meat store.

I went to my favorite vendor store, where I asked the man to cut fresh cow meat for 5,000 naira, approximately 36 STEEM. When I queried why the meat was smaller than the last time I bought it, he replied that prices had increased and butchering cows now comes at a very high price. Finally, he added a little to it, and I paid him.

I have the intention to buy beans, but the type I wanted was unavailable, and the one vendor who had it offered to sell to me for an absurdly high price, so I decided against buying it because it was too pricey.

E24CBBBD-9AB4-452F-A780-1A6059DE4610.jpeg8E2698AF-2001-4FD6-BF63-FA4B787F81C2.jpeg

Palm oil, fish stock, and seasoning are among the additional items I bought for the dish that my son loves.

In addition, I bought King's vegetable oil, and snacks for myself. The list of ingredients and other items I bought, along with their prices in Naira and STEEM.

ITEMSNAIRASTEEM
Meat500031 STEEM
King’s Oil200012 STEEM
Ugu Leave10006 STEEM

I quickly pack the items and set up after leaving the local market, hopped on the bus destined for Badagry, and arrived at the bus stop in less than 90 minutes thanks to the lack of traffic. My daughter-in-law, my son's wife, and I met at the bus station after I immediately called my son. Upon seeing me, she was ecstatic. We got on the bike and rode right to the home with her helping me with the loads.

The first thing I did when I got to my son's house after dropping off the loads was to carry my grandson, Miracle who has grown since I last saw him. I was giddy with joy.

Following a nap, I made the decision to help my son in cooking his favorite recipe. His wife objected, but I insisted on making it myself. She then made the decision to help me cook, but I assured her that she need not worry. I started preparing as soon as I got to the kitchen. I'll be discussing the recipe preparation incase you intend to try it out yourself at your home.


The ingredients


  • Ugu leaves (Spinach)

  • Palm Oil

  • Locus beans

  • Meat and Smoke fish

  • Red Pepper, Onions & Tomatoes

  • Seasoning to taste

Seasoning the meat and the smoke fish, then set aside. Preheat the cooking pan and heat the palm oil, then fry the onions. Get a clean blender and blend the red pepper and tomatoes together and add to the onions and allow to cook for some minutes.

D5zH9SyxCKdAD9rYwjD1VDFVfes4J8WBmiaYPdeXw9S3pRGBWsJ9EUoBsE87meB1R2ojogYkUbpRrzskDsfS5Rx53dRizm4wMqzAJ7hqpDMpz8bVZvTBjAgkHEmw7FzxhAKgB8.jpegD5zH9SyxCKdAD9rYwjD1VDFVfes4J8WBmiaYPdeXppyptmkTA2p9BhD8uKtSMdZDHEE3ZDT2aaz2ABc2x9FthJKm5THLjk6peZJtJkPsJ6oojGRcepQMbpefhzTrbWc1x4TaRt.jpeg

Remember the ugu leaves have been sliced already, just rinse it and add to the sauce, cover and allow to cook for some minutes. Add the seasoned meat and stock fish then finally turn off the heat and serve with any swallow of your choice.

D5zH9SyxCKdAD9rYwjD1VDFVfes4J8WBmiaYPdeVMfhfAJvm2PyXMJ8CmnpQDFpAgMBWSRCw91Z18SWrujaG3pgQT8AV4CKa4McQLpV5pm6EiZyYrj4qs4EeCJxKoKmLuRbyVY.jpegD5zH9SyxCKdAD9rYwjD1VDFVfes4J8WBmiaYPdefXhZYrqwqix1aKef5ePXQ5WdgoNoP2ikEtFChFr68jHK1Nwcjr1wDwBrHCyZk62WY75UUDcYuKdjvr7WcBtXWuS6Gu8JjMY.jpeg

My son was extremely amazed by my continued cooking prowess, and his wife eventually helped me make the semo (the swallow to consume the vegetable soup)

After we finished eating, I begins to play with my grandson, Miracle while his mother went to the market. Miracle started crying while I was carrying him. He was clearly hungry, so I called his mother as soon as I could and asked her where she kept her food. She said that's exactly what she went to buy, and she's already on her way. Miracle, on the other hand, wouldn't stop crtyoy, but as a mother with experience, I knew exactly what to do. I had to sing to him and then put him to sleep while I waited for his mother to come back.

935C43A5-0538-4FBD-9594-3C23564AA84E.jpeg

When his mother came back, she was astounded to see Miracle sleeping. She inquired as to how I had managed to pat him to sleep, and I winked and said I still had the ability. She laughed and thanked me.

When I asked her what she would like to make for dinner, she said rice. I told her I would rather have pap and beans cake because I wasn't interested in eating rice. That's a light food she responded, I immediately told her not to worry that I'll be okay with that...

While we are discussing Miracle woke up with cry, his mum rushed to quickly prepare his food and I carried him and managed to pat him back to sleep yet again....

His mother simply sat there in shock and kept looking at me. When Miracle finally woke up again, his food has been prepared and his mum fed him. After that she went to the kitchen to make Rice, but since I've decided to take my Pap and beans cake, she didn't really bother to cook much Rice, she just cooked the one for herself and her husband.

One aspect I liked about this place is the constant power. It was on the whole time and it was great to witness this kind of light, and the neighborhood is cool and quiet. And besides Miracle gave me an unceasing smile, and I was happy to see my grandchild.

IMG_20221027_141652.jpg

Me and my sons, my oldest son and his wife, and my grandchild Miracle

Sort:  
Loading...

TEAM 4 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @mato445

amazing.gif

What a great day you had and your family looks really great together I appreciate that you shared this with us

Thank you for you kind comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46