My Calling (3/4/2024).

in Steem4Nigeria3 months ago

Hello Steemians, it's good to be here again. I hope you all are enjoying your Easter holidays, that is for those on holidays. I'm here to talk about one's calling. This is one topic I love so much because everyone has one calling or the other, and through this topic, we get to know different ways of discovering it.

How I understand 'a calling'.

A calling can be explained to be an internal thirst for a particular vocation, job, profession or skill to reach a goal and be fulfilled. In some cases, the person isn't trained in that area but he hungers for it and when he or she later do it, he or she feels fulfillment even when there is no money. Just as our faces are different, our callings in life are different. Some people realise their calling early while others realise late. Some die even before they discover theirs. One might have a calling in bone repair, taking care of the needy, being a missionary, being a professional farmer etc.

How well can someone discover his or her calling?

Though many people have different callings but some do not discover their calling in life, while others may discover late. But it's better to discover late than not to discover at all because it might turn out one's life may not have a purpose of one's calling isn't discovered.

In discovering one's calling, the person has to look at what he or she loves doing and which gives him or her joy and peace even in the midst of a bad time. That thing one does passionately for hours and it seems time stands still. It might be a job, vocation, skill, or gift etc. It might fetch little or no money yet the effect isn't felt. It's always about fulfillment. One can discover his or her calling through internal gifts example someone who has the gift of singing and finds joy singing even in the midst of storm has a calling in that, now this calling might lead to healings, it might bring joy to many people. Also, another way of discovering one's calling is through passion. What is your passion? What do you do that gives you joy even when there is no money in it example teaching. Another way to discover one's calling is through dreams. You might find yourself doing the sane positive thing in the dream, night after night, and you won't have peace until you dive into that in the physical world. One can also get to know one's calling through prayers. If one is confused on what is one's calling, the person can pray about it and God will reveal it to him or her. Some might even discover their calling through mistake. When one does something that isn't his or her calling, it's tiring. Example a man who had a calling as a pastor but the father insisted he must study law, he studied law and graduated and took his degree to the father telling him he didn't want to disobey his father, then he decided to honour his own calling.

pexels-fireworks-uche-14436625.jpg
https://www.pexels.com

Do you think some people have multiple calling in life than others?

Yes, tho people many have more than one calling, but some get to discover only one calling. Most times, when people discover their calling, they sit back and relax working on only that one calling they discovered. I think some have only one calling, others have more than one calling but discover only one and we still have people with more than one calling who discover their different calling and make use of it. People that have multiple calling and discover all making use of them are few. Example, one might have the calling to be a pastor, and also a doctor and a philanthropist. We also have people whose calling is to defend the poor and cater for them, they also have a calling in farming. They love to farm and harvest crops. We have people who have passion for teaching and also have a calling in the media world. Tho when one has more than one calling and answers all, the person might focus on a particular one as the major one and the others come as second.

IMG-20240314-WA0046~2.jpg
One might have a calling as a pastor and a teacher

Have you discovered your calling?

For now, I can say I have discovered one of my calling. I hope to discover another sooner or later. I have a calling in teaching. I discovered my calling through my passion in teaching. Tho I didn't study education, but due to lack of jobs in the country, i dived into teaching and realised it's something I do effortlessly and with passion. I have passion for teaching and even tho the money isn't much, I enjoy it and look forward to doing it. The passion for it brings fulfillment. I get fulfilled knowing that my students are successful and are in the universities.


Passion is the driving force

Screenshot_20240403-192044~2.png
I feel happy when I'm in school

Do you think some people are more successful when they discover their calling

Success is not all about money. There is a big difference between success and satisfaction or fulfillment. While some may be satisfied in their calling and working hard at it knowing success will come later, others are effortlessly successful in their callings. A woman who has a calling in taking care of orphans and one day establishes an orphanage home might be said to be satisfied because she's putting smiles on the faces of children who have no parents but she might not be successful at first probably because she still needs financial help to cater for the children. But also there are people who are very successful in what is not their calling, example a person who works as a programmer may be very successful even though that is not his calling so answering one's calling does not really mean one would be successful immediately. Success may come later but most times, it is always fulfillment first. Success goes early to people who work smart even in areas that isn't their calling. As a teacher I can say I'm satisfied with teaching but I can't say I'm successful for now

What are your fears about your calling?

One of the fears about my calling is the fear of not touching enough lives. Another fear I have is quiting due to discouragement and the economy of the country. Though it is very good to honor or answer to your calling and put passion first before money, but one must ask himself or herself some questions like will my calling pay my bills? Will it feed my family? Though it's good to look up to God who is the supplier of everything but I also like to be realistic. I would like to establish a school someday but I have the fear of not meeting up to my expectations. Also, I have the fear of settling for less.

Screenshot_20240403-201758~2.png
All shots taken from Infinix note 5

Thank you for having me here and reading through.

I invite @usoro01, @Ninapenda @chant to join in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 3 months ago 

"Your insightful reflections on discovering one's calling resonate deeply. Your journey to find fulfillment through teaching is inspiring. Keep nurturing young minds with your passion and dedication. Wishing you continued success and fulfillment on your path."

Thank you, i appreciate your encouragement

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

 3 months ago 

Very beautiful entry. Good luck friend.

Thank you

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

You will have to improve on your markdown tools as well as in your paragraphing. This would make your publications more better to readers.

Regards,

Thank you, i appreciate

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54