Lets show how creative you are: Drawing a crocodile

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago

INTRODUCTION

Hello members of steem4Nigeria, I'm so happy to be here again. How are you all? Welcome to the new week. This drawing contest is one contest I look forward to because it challenges me to display my artistic work even tho I'm not close to perfect. This week we are drawing a crocodile and it's a challenge I'm ready to take on, so sit back and read about the reptile, the crocodile but please don't laugh at my drawing.

MY MATERIALS FOR DRAWING

My materials for drawing was just 3: my plain sheet, pencil and eraser.

IMG_20240429_164654_459.jpg

MY STEPS TO DRAWING A CROCODILE

• I started by drawing the eye of the crocodile, this was by drawing a circle and putting a dot in the circle. Then I went ahead to draw the mouth of the crocodile, tho I made the upper jaw longer than the lower jaw, I later on had to change because the jaws of the crocodile are almost the same.

IMG_20240429_170338_061.jpg

The next thing I drew was the hind or the front limbs of the crocodile. These I achieved through curving of a line close to the head and then drawing the limb.

IMG_20240429_170944_255.jpg

Then I drew the other limb and added the complete body and long tail, and my crocodile was complete. I then went ahead to do the scales on the body.

IMG_20240429_171859_593.jpg

I finally completed it by completing the scales on major parts of the body. I wasn't satisfied with one crocodile, so I went ahead to draw the head of another crocodile in addition.

IMG_20240429_173924_698.jpg

ABOUT THE CROCODILE

A crocodile is a largest semi aquatic reptile on earth. It weighs over 2,200 pounds, that is 1,000kg. Reptiles are cold blooded vertebrate. A cold blooded animal is unable to maintain a constant body temperature, therefore it seems out sunlight to keep the body heat up. The crocodile does this by lying out in the sun for long period of time.

The crocodile is carnivorous feeding mostly on vertebrates such as fish, reptiles, birds and mammals.

The male crocodile grows much larger and more rapidly than females.

Crocodiles are mostly nocturnal animals. They are predators and spend most of their time in water.

They are dark green when adult, yellow with black stripes when young. It's bite id 10 times more powerful than a great white shark.

They live throughout the tropics in Africa, the Americas and Australia.

WHAT MAKES THE CROCODILE SPECIAL

There are so many things that makes the crocodile special but I will only mention few.

The crocodile closes it's mouth to crush anything except the Egyptian plover birds. The Egyptian plover bird goes to the mouth of the crocodile to eat the leftover remnants from its teeth and mouth. While the bird eats to its satisfaction from the crocodile's mouth, the crocodile gets it's mouth cleaned by the bird and doesn't crush the bird in the process.

Crocodiles do not die of old age, they only die due to starvation, disease or they get killed by other crocodiles in the fight for territory.

They can outrun humans. An average human runs between 16-24km/h while a crocodile runs between 24-34km/h.

They can live up to 140 years.

They can live without breathing for 8 hours and can reduce their heart rate to 2-3 beats per minute.

They are able to replace each of their 80 teeth up to 50 times during their lifespan.

Their main weakness is that the muscles that open their jaws are weak so that a pair of human hands can hold their jaws together.

Larger crocodiles can go for over a year without eating a meal.

I'm inviting @m-fdo
@imadear
@chinaza09 to join in this contest.

Thank you @benton3 for this contest and thank you everyone for stopping by.

Sort:  
 2 months ago 

Nice drawing
Crocodiles is one of the animals i don't like especially their scaring appearance/body.
There's totally nothing to admire about crocodiles.
All the best 🤝

Thanks

 2 months ago 

You have a really lovely drawing

Loading...

Nice drawing mam all the best .

@rashidaakter, thank you

 2 months ago 

The way you drew the crocodile is excellent, and it's clear that you were very committed to winning the drawing contest. The step by step explanation of your drawing technique and the knowledge you shared regarding crocodiles are really appreciated. You just taught me how to draw😊 keep up the great effort

@zekanem, thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60097.61
ETH 3373.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51