Handling rejection

in Steem4Nigerialast month

INTRODUCTION

Good afternoon dear Steemians. It's good to be here. I came across this contest by @Ihorgic and I was excited to take part in it because I wanted to use it as an avenue to express what I faced years ago. Join me as I walk you through my experiences and opinion on rejection.

MEANING OF REJECTION

Rejection! A word that can't be explained enough for another to understand except one has the experience.

Rejection is unacceptance, it is treating someone with disdain or contempt. It is discrimination and segregation of a person or people. It brings all kind of emotions to the rejected, from sadness to depression. When someone is rejected, it means the person isn't liked, valued or seen as important. Negative words like dismissal, non acceptance, declining, turning down can be said to be synonyms of rejection.

I have faced rejection at different times in my life. Rejection can come from anyone like friends, family member, peer to anyone. Rejection can be in terms of relationship, employment, marriage in relation to race and religion, etc. In life, rejection is inevitable.

stamp-1726352_640.jpg
https://pixabay.com//

MY REJECTION EXPERIENCE

I have faced rejection by family and friends at one point or the other in my life. Growing up, I was rejected by some family members because I was a different child from the others. I was not social or outgoing and less playful unlike other chicken, and because of this, most times when family members go out they will refuse taking me with them, they will take my cousins. I felt rejected because I was left alone and the result was, i became more withdrawn than I should have been and moody. Most times the people rejecting you do not say it out rightly rather, their nonverbal message sends a message across to the rejected one.

pexels-mikhail-nilov-7929424.jpg
https://www.pexels.com/photo/

In my secondary school, I faced rejection from friends. I was not as matured as them, I had a small stature, very lean and frail while they were more matured, so because of this, they refused walking with me. When I talked when they were talking, they will tell me it's matured girls talk, they made me feel left out and treated me as an outcast which made me always withdrawn and quiet.

The last camel that broke the camel's back when it comes to rejection was when I graduated from school. I went fur a job interview and in the department I applied, I scored the highest. The interview was in another local government very far from where I resided. The written and the oral interview was on the same day. I was called again in order to talk about the job and the salary and I was very happy, prepared and paid my way down. I was kept waiting for hours and I was later told that they were sorry, that they didn't look at my certificate and I didn't have the qualification for the job. I can remember being so broken abd crying in transit on my way back, but I had to comfort myself that life didn't end there.

pexels-keira-burton-6147132.jpg
https://www.pexels.com

LESSONS LEARNT FROM REJECTION

My rejection experience taught me so many things. The truth is in life, every experience we have can be made into a lesson. I learnt through my experiences that as long as you dint give up, the right people will find you and treat you better.

One of the ways of handling rejection is by accepting yourself first. Love yourself, love and appreciate the things about you. If you dint love yourself and accept who you are, working in your weak points, no one will be able to accept you. There is no one who is without weak points.

board-2433978_640.jpg
Pixabay

Speak positively to yourself. Rejection should even gurl your desire to succeed more. Even if you are rejected in terms of employment like I was, dust yourself, aim higher, even if it means going back to school or getting more certifications and let those people who rejected you see your back as you are climbing up. Remember that even Jesus our saviour was rejected.

ladder-2713346_640.jpg
https://pixabay.com//

Always embrace rejection as a stepping stone towards improvement and success. See rejection as an opportunity to come back stronger.

Thank you for having me here. I'm calling on @endurance2

@bela90
@seancyril to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Focus on your success which is the key... in work place so many things do happen but when one stay focus He or she will overcome.

 last month 

So glad you could encourage yourself in spite of the rejection you faced. From all of these experiences, I can tell you have become stronger. Thanks for your participation, I wish you the very best.

Loading...

It's ridiculous how some people enjoy making others feel bad .
Congratulations for coming out of rejection.
You're the best version of yourself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57940.42
ETH 2359.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36