Steemit Engagement Challenge S2W3 | Steem4Nigeria Contest | Nigerian corn cake "Massa"by @dave-hanny

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Introduction

Hi friends, i remain my humble self @dave-hanny and I am proudly a Nigerian.Thank you all for your presence in my blog presently, I really appreciate the warm visit and i want to thank also the steem4nigeria community for bringing such an interesting topic, i am very glad to share on one of the peculiar recipe in my country which is made from corn and it is popularly known as Massa. Keep on reading as we roll together to know more about what I am eager to share.

I am a Nigerian. Nigeria is one of the west African countries and is the only country tagged " the giants of the whole Africa" every thing done in my country is unique and special.We eat nourishing foods that makes us look giant as anything in every part.For someone to be giant, the person needs Carbonhydrates which is one of the classes of food.The recipe I want to write about is more of carbohydrate.Carbohydrate gives or provides energy to the body system for most stressing and hard works.

Question

What is that special recipe peculiar to your country?

In my country Nigeria, we have somany peculiar recipes. Nigeria is a combonation of different ways of life of people which is culture.What I meant Is that, in some part of my country Nigeria, example eastern part of Nigeria cannot eat some foods in especiallly the northern part of Nigeria and reason being that, they are not adopted to such foods and verse versa but Massa is what almost all Nigeria citizen knows and loves eating because in most wedding or occassion, is been served for invitees.

One of the special and peculiar recipe in my country Nigeria I want to share with steemians is what is called Massa. Massa is consumable. It is a type of food that is mostly found in the northern part of Nigeria. Massa is been processed in different ways depending on what you want as the end product. Before the end of my post, I believe you will find it interesting to make it yourself. Massa is one of the classic delicacy Nigerian loves eating.

Question

Do you think you can do without taking them for some time?

Yes! I can do without taking Massa for some time because in Nigeria, we have different varieties of food and at any time i might have a different appetite for a different delicacy. Massa looks white and fresh made up of sugar(low), is sweet and soft while eating. Some would definitely love eating the corn cake which is called massa whenever it is ready for consumption but for persons like myself, I eat massa once a while and I said earlier that, there are somany recipes for consumption and in a nutshell, it means my country is full of variety of foods and i love eating Massa.

Question

How is massa been prepared?

Massa processing has less stress compare to other snacks such as cake itself.Below, are the steps, follow it carefully as you learn from my recipe.

These are the items to be used

The measurements depends on the quantity you want.

IMG_20220623_083657_665.jpg

  • Maize(corn)
  • Rice
  • sugar
  • onion
  • Baking powder
  • pepper
  • Vegetable oil.
  • Salt(for hidden taste)
  • Grinded paper.

Step one

Soak the corn and the rice for an hour. Wash separately.

IMG_20220622_172914_859.jpg

Step two

Cook the maize for an hour to be completely softened.

IMG_20220622_172342_853.jpg

IMG_20220622_173115_988.jpg

Step three

The next is the grinding.Mix the maize and rice then grind. I grinded in a commercial engine.

IMG_20220622_065607_601.jpg

Step four

At this point, we mix all the necessary things that is, the salt, sugar, baking powder, onion and pepper.After which, mix well for the sugar and to get dissolved.

IMG_20220623_092628_223.jpg

IMG_20220623_092715_648.jpg

Step five

Place the toasting pan on the fire, here, we use little quantity of oil to heat for some seconds.
Put gently into every hole with oil and allow it fry for a while.

IMG_20220622_101710_85.jpg

After some seconds using a small spoon,gently turn and allow it frying well.

Lastly, ready for consumption with the grinded pepper besides.

IMG_20220623_094924_354.jpg

In the northern part of Nigeria, we eat massa with either grinded pepper or fried grinded peanut mixed with pepper.

My recommendations for steemians about massa.

My recommendation goes to my friends and fellow steemians that, they should try this, follow the steps and try it for your family.I belief you will enjoy and attest to it.It is very sweet, soft and yummy.

  • It consumes less vegetable oil whoke frying

  • It is less expensive

  • It taste soft and yummy

Thank you all for reading through my post, I invite @yakspeace, @josantos and @josepha to join participate in the contest.

Sort:  

This is the first time I'm hearing about corn cake ooo. Chai Nigeria seems to have alot of delicacies. I cannot even keep track of how many different delicacies I've seen.

But his Massa is a must try yah. I need to know how it tastes for sure.

Yea dear, we have different varieties in our country Nigeria please try it and i believe you will like it.

I'm sure I will

Greetings and blessings my dear have, your snack is a unique one I must say, being a Nigerian I van say I have never come in contact with such snack, maybe because I am an indoor person, but one this is familiar is the name of the snack “Massa” the mass I know is always fried, look small round physically totally different from the end product you presented regardless it is a snack I will like to take
Best wishes

Smiles.. Thanks you domuch for your wonderful comment, we have different end product but its thesame ingredients used. In the north, that is how is been prepared, I wish you the very best.

Understood, I wish you luck too
🤗

Simar dish we prepare on using leftover idly batter. But your recipe is very new to me. I must try to prepare in my home.

Thanks for sharing us. Take care.

Please try it and you will love it,thank you somuch dear and wish you the best.

Sure i will try it soon.

 2 years ago 

Massa, a corn cake, made in Nigeria and that represents an important part of its gastronomy.

Thank you for sharing with us part of the gastronomic composition of your country, and presenting us with a great tutorial for the preparation of this dish.

Successes in the contest.

Thank you somuch for visiting my blog, yeah, in Nigeria mostly northern part, we eat this cake alot you can try

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Hello @dave-hanny I must say that I like everything you have done. I had never know how to prepare Massa nor the ingredients that is use in preparing Massa because I have never age it before. But from what you have share now know that Massa is very rich. Thank you for sharing.

Thank you @josepha for a warming comment, i love eating massa it taste sweet and soft, you can try it and i believe you will enjoy it as well and it wont cost you much.wish you the best in the contest.

Hold on😂. That didn’t go where I was expecting it to go .

I though masa was actually a drink and then I remembered am from Ghana and you are a Nigerian.

Down here in Ghana masa is a drink that people love generally. But would definitely love to try yours and see how it tastes.

But am not surprised we have the same name and then they are totally different delicases.😂☺️

Smiles... Massa in Nigeria is a corn cake my dear, i belief they are synonymic words then right? Thanks dear for your wonderful comment,goodluck.

 2 years ago 

Woow this look yummy, Masa my favorite meal 😋😋 you have explained how to prepare Masa so well and I most say the steps are so easy. Thank you sharing with us there.

Please send my own oooh😋😋

I will dear, thank you somuch for honouring my invitation and i wish you the very best.

 2 years ago 

🤗🤗🤗 welcome

In my country Ghana, we also have masa which is prepared slightly different from yours. We only use baking powder without maize and rice. I will surely try your way of preparing masa.

Thanks dear for your comment, ours in Nigeria is made so different from yours, wish you the very best.

Thank you for contributing to #LearnWithSteem theme. This post has been upvoted by @daytona475 using @steemcurator09 account. We encourage you to keep publishing quality and original content in the Steemit ecosystem to earn support for your content.

Club Status: #Club5050

Sevengers Comment GIF.gif

Regards,
Team #Sevengers

The #learnwithsteem tag focuses on teaching through tutorials and lessons some knowledge, skill or profession that you have. Please avoid using it if it's not about that. Thank you!

Thank you somuch, i belief and hope i will do better than this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65897.19
ETH 2706.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88