Steem4Nigeria Weekly Contest - What I Believed Versus the Real Picture// by @dave-hanny // 10% to the community

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Introduction

Hello gentlemen and ladies, I am glad to have you all on my blog, it's amazing having you as friends and I must appreciate every time and energy you spent on my blog. The above topic is indeed a reality in the sense that, so many beliefs got stocked to our heads and as children growing up in the world, elders know better than us, as a kid, you have no option than to believe some things been told by elder ones. Below, I will be sharing my experience with such beliefs from people which I will mention in one of the questions I will be answering below so, be relaxed as you read from my blog and I believe you will find it interesting.

Question

What have you believed on for a long time only to discover it's untrue later?

Sweeping at night

While we were kids, we've been fooled by so many beliefs which later on turned out to be untrue and one of them is "sweeping at night". What happens when we sweep at night? While growing up, I loved cleanliness and I loved to sweep the living room even when it was night, I hate feeling sands or dust while walking in the living room barefooted and for that reason, I sweep at all times even at night.

vintage-1823607__480.png

Source

My granny always tell me to stop that, but I never wanted to stop because of the reasons I gave above. One day, she had to tell me the reasons she always says so and the reason was that, when you sweep at night, you sweep away your destiny which means whatsoever I want to be in life. She made an instance of my wish and dream of becoming a nurse i.e I have been sweeping away my dreams of becoming a nurse. I became so scared that I wouldn't become that nurse I want to be in the future and since then, I stopped sweeping once it was evening because of the belief she told me.

Question

Is there anyone or body attributed to that belief? and how did you get to know the true picture?

I mentioned my granny to be the one attributed to the belief I had because of the gravity and the time she used to inform me about that. She also made it look as though it will be wicked of her as a grandmother if she refused to tell me about that and that was the reason I had to stop sweeping at night which also means I'm sweeping to notify the ghost that they are welcome to my house.😯

doctor-3187935__480.webp.jpg

Source

Yes, I get to know about the true picture myself, I wrote jamb with the thinking that, the mistake I did while sweeping at night might affect me not to get admission into the university to study nursing but I got to know all of these were not true when I'm given admission into state university keffi to study nursing😄 I got admitted and I'm currently serving.

Question

What was your reaction when you finally understood the truth of the matter? Has the old belief affected in any way (good or bad) it was any lesson learned in the process?

It looks funny when I got to know about the real truth and unfortunately, I lost my granny before getting admitted into the university else I would have loved to ask and know how true the fact of sweeping at night is. I laughed my life out in tears even because it's unbelievable that I was depriving myself of sweeping to keep my room clean because of a belief that was not even true.

The belief didn't affect me much. Though I could not enjoy this sweet part of my life of sweeping at all times, it doesn't affect me because I could become the person of my dream.

Question

Do you think you can easily believe something similar to that in the future?

I will not at all believe anything of such either similar or the same as that because it's not true at all. My dear friends, most of these things are not true, it's mostly the belief of our forefathers may be in which they were fooled and they so much believe it because they have not taken their time to access it as I did.

Conclusion

Hey friends, it's normal that such belief is another part of life that makes our life complete. We have granny and elderly people around who passed this same belief to us and most of us believe it because we've not tasted to know how true it is and I know we all had different beliefs, thank you all for reading through my post, I look forward to your support and comments.

I invite @gabikay @ishayachris @kingworldline to participate in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...

Lol, all this beliefs erh. How can one's destiny be swept away by simply sweeping?
I love your entry dear, keep on

 2 years ago 

Sweeping at night!! It means I have swept out all my destiny oo hahaha this is so funny.

What we believed, can you imagine?

 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @fredquantum

We have a new contest running in the community and we look forward to your entries- Steem4Nigeria Weekly Contest - What I Believed Versus the Real Picture.

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Thank you somuch for your support, the best is what i always wish to blot out as i keep steeming.

it's normal that such belief is another part of life that makes our life complete, yea is really impressive, nice write

Thank you friend, your comments are warming, thank you somuch and i wish you the best.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56