A lesson about my skill by @dave-hanny

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)
Greetings able steemians,
i am excited to be part of the contest. I want to appreciate this amazing community that brought about an interesting topic as this.I wouldn't forget to say a big thanks to my lovely friends who would read my post to the end, i hope and believe you would enjoy the skill i want to write about, so keep reading.

Introduction

img_1653407105568.jpg

Before i write in detail about my skill, i would like to introduce myself. My name is David Dorcas and my username is @dave-hanny from akwanga, Nasarawa state, Nigeria. I am a fashion designer, I learnt while in school at my 300level to be specific till i finished my studies, doing that was not easy but i knew it would pay someday. After this two years, i was given my certificate and i decided to start sewing for customers at home.

I love my skill because it pays me and also makes me look good, i sew for myself beautiful styles to attract more customers but the only problem i am having is that, it takes much of my time and so, i give fewer time to steemit platform.

Because of my skill, i made my way to serve in my State of origin inorder to maintain my customers. I enjoy my service because my skill keeps me busy and i have alot of customers who are coppers, to be sincere, i love my skillLooking good is a good business

What i would like to teach

I wouldn't like to borther you with a difficult style. Taking more than two years to learn tailoring means that, the skill cannot be understood within two weeks or a year but more than. Tailoring is not too hard but your determination, zeal and concentration matters.

The type of sewing i am into is more of pattern drafting which is, after measurements, i divide the values by some constants and then do my drafting using those values i got as answers. So we will be using my measurements of which i will do the cutting and joining. I want to teach you how to sew a simple short skirt,which you can wear with any top of your choice.

Here are the entire things i will be using.

IMG_20220524_115107_814.jpg

Step 1. Measurements.

IMG_20220524_115530_057.jpg

W-- waist, measure round the waist 28 ÷ 4 constant = 7.25

H--hips, measure round the hips by taking the tape to the fullest part of the hip 38 ÷ 4 constant = 9.5

SWK--side waist to knee, place the tape from the waist point to the knee = 24 no division because it is length.

SWF--side waist to floor, place the tape from the waist and measure to the floor or where you want it stop= 40 no division because it is length That is all that is needed for skirt measurements. Remember, we are going to be sewing a short skirt.

Step 2.
IMG_20220524_120023_387.jpg

This is the plane paper well arranged using seal tape

Step 3.Pattern drafting.

Please follow the steps carefully and you will understand.

Firstly, measure two inches from the edge of the paper downward to have a topline shown below.

IMG_20220524_120313_116.jpg

Secondly, measure hip measurements from left to right and notch to have a straight vertical line downward do that till the down or end of the paper and on the left side of the paper, write unfold.

IMG_20220524_120542_767.jpg

Thirdly, on the paper then at the right hand side place your tape from the top line and notch 6,8,10.

IMG_20220524_120725_392.jpg

Fourthly, we now get dart for waist shapping by getting half of the horizontal line, using ruler to take it down to 6. Also, place 0.5 on the left and right hand side of the center line and then close the dart also measure 1 inch inward and connect to point 6.

IMG_20220524_121039_501.jpg

IMG_20220524_122018_118.jpg

Step.4

Place the tape to measure from the waist(horizontal line) downward and measure SWK and SWF if that is the style you want to do. So, take 2inches inward on the topline and connect to 10 also, connect to swf(side waist to floor)

IMG_20220524_122255_173.jpg

Step. 6

At this point, depends on any style you want to make.
Here is the drafted paper ready for cutting the style of my choice.

IMG_20220524_123121_071.jpg

So for the style we are going for, we will cut the up part from the drafted paper and the down part

IMG_20220524_124417_215.jpg

Placing the drafted paper on the material and linen (optional) then cut by giving two inches for allawance and half inche for hemming.

Note:

- That for any cutting, you fold the material into two. Using pattern drafting, it doest matter if the material is turned in or out, it will give the exact thing you want after joining.

  • The front part must be at the unfold in order not to have joining at the front side.

  • Always give 1inche for zip.

Lastly, i did the joining

IMG_20220524_130151_417.jpg

Looking good is a good business

img_1653411829679_1.jpg

The need for the above knowledge

The fact is that, looking good is part of everyone be you man or a woman. There is need to acquire knowledge on fashion because;

- self-employment: My skill provides all i need because a day never passes by without a customer, therefore, it makes me self employed, everyone needs a tailor in his or her life. A good tailor would always have many people because of the good works.

  • Fashion designing, makes a designer looks good.
  • knowing how to saw clothes, lesses your expenses of going to a tailor's shop to pay for workanship.
    Come join the queue as we make everyone look good.

How technology has affected my field.

Technology has affected my skill in a positive way. When I was coming up as a teenager, i always see magazines of styles in every tailor's shop for customers who would come to choose the styles they want. But now, people go online checking for what will suit them and take to the tailor. Customers goes to a designer prepared because they have what they want in their phones.

Conclusion

I am glad to write on my skill and to be part of this amazing contest, I invite @josantos and @yakspeace to come participate also in this contest.

Sort:  
Loading...
 2 years ago 

Thank you for the invite my dear friend. Your skill is good and from your article I can see that you are very good at it. I hope to learn more from this your wonderful skills.

Thank you for sharing 🤗

Thanks dear for the comment, i am happy you went through my post, i hope to do better than this.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60231.53
ETH 2321.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51