Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 39: "The Games I never missed"

in Steem4Nigeria2 months ago (edited)

Hello Everyone 🤗

Happy New week

Trust you are keeping well and ready to smash your new week goals.

About that, let's get started.

So, I will be making my entry for this exciting contest in @steem4nigeria community and as far as I can, leave wonderful comments in other contestant's posts.

What is the game and why is it special to you??

I will be talking about a game I never missed and that would be CHESS 😔 well, even as I am typing this, I wish I could play this game so well but let's get right into it.

Albescent White Colorful Soft Texture Background Rounded Rectangle Frame Mockup Photo Collage (7).png
Designed in Canva
It's special to me because it's not just a game; it's a mental workout and a challenge to me. Every game is unique, but the endless possibilities of chess keep me coming back for more even though I am yet to master it.

Here, I will talk a little about this game as my knowledge can carry me 😂

Chess is a boardgame where two players move different pieces on a board to capture the opponent's king. Each player has a set of pieces with moves to make. The goal is to use your pieces wisely to trap the opponent's king while protecting your own.

In chess, players take turns moving their pieces across the board. Each type of piece moves in its own way like this:

  • The king moves one square in any direction.
  • The queen moves any number of squares horizontally, vertically, or diagonally.
  • Rooks move any number of squares horizontally or vertically.
  • Knights move in an "L" shape: two squares in one direction and then one square perpendicular.
  • Bishops move any number of squares diagonally.
  • Pawns move forward one square, but capture diagonally.

images (15).jpeg
Get image, here

They have a special first move option of moving two squares forward.
The game ends when one player checkmates the opponent's king, meaning the king is in a position where it can't escape capture.

How long do you spend playing this game?

Well, previous years, I was really into this game that I spend like 3 hours weekly just to figure out what it is all about but at the moment, I seldom do this because of schedule.

Now, why exactly do I not miss or enjoy this game?
As much as I have this little knowledge, I will still choose other games over chess because countless times, I've tried to put out my knowledge and it didn't work.

I had this uninterest for WHOT sometimes ago but during one of my long vacation with a friend, we turned the game into gambling where in my friend taught me every scheme I need to work around the game so just we can win our opponent and make a fortune and we constantly did that.

IMG_20240422_204722_398.jpg

Alternatively, you shouldn't dislike something just because you were unable to learn it right?
Yes. But what I am trying to say is essence is that as much as I missed those days with WHOT same is not the case for Chess.

Do you think this game has helped develop your mental ability?

Definitely, Chess has greatly improved my mental abilities. It requires critical thinking, and pattern recognition. Over time, playing chess has sharpened my mind and taught me valuable lessons in patience, focus, and resilience.

While in school my brother taught me over and over again about chess and times without number, I have lost to my opponent. So, I can never boast of a time I had a winning or an amazing experience to fall back or miss chess as a game.

But the goodness is, with Tuned Onakoya coming up as the Guinness world record breaker of 58 hours playing chess game in New York, it brought back the why chess in me.

If you were to choose between online and offline games, which would you choose and why?

Both online and offline chess have their merits, but I would choose offline games for it's human connection. Playing face-to-face allows for social interaction.
So, I am going back to put in more effort in this game just for the fun of it.

I will be inviting the following individuals to tell us the game they'd never miss:

@juec
@jaywise
@cinnymartins.

Have a good time and thank you for reading through.

Sort:  

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Loading...

Wow so interesting 🤝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64789.68
ETH 3498.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40