Unquenchable Desires: The Allure of Greed

in Steem4Nigerialast month (edited)

Complement of the day my beloved Steemians. It gladdens my heart that I am participating in this beautiful contest which I believed I can say I personally have a lots of experience on. Big thanks to @sahmie in Steem4Nigeria for putting this amazing contest.

3jpR3paJ37V8JxyWvtbhvcm5k3roJwHBR4WTALx7XaoRovX7KeooRVbuTugchdTiVz34iiLiD6SLSUPVJfDqdJmPdXLyt8aFD1dksu4qYMVAYj3hfG6xH5jFEd1tQfiphfB9Y.png
Source

Knowing what Greed is all about, what do you think is the difference between ambition and greed?

When we talk about "ambition" it is a situation where someone has a kind of strong craving or yearning towards achieving a set goal or dream. While "greed" on the other hand is a situation where someone is extremely yearning to get more than what is normal, more than what is enough.

istockphoto-637601856-612x612.jpg
Source

With greed no matter how big your achievement is, you are never satisfied while with ambition ones your goal or plan is achieved you are satisfied beyond reasonable doubt.

An ambitious person after having his target spelled out will make sure he work hard to achieve his dream goal while a greedy person will not necessarily care to work hard towards getting what he deserves but will violate any genuine methods even if it means sitting on others or taking what rightfully belongs to them.

Can greed ever be a positive force, or is it always destructive?

To my understanding, greed is never associated with genuine positive attitude or actions because of its excesses.
Greed may lead to crimes, stealing and even cheating to get what you did not work for or deserve. Greed can lead to committing murder, because one will do anything to get what he want.

Greed in anyway cannot be a positive force, it is the factor behind kidnappings, rituals and such likes; thus making it destructive by nature because of its negative effects.

How does greed affect relationships and trust among people?

pexels-photo-5700152.jpeg
Source

A greedy fellow can never be trustworthy, this is because of their selfish nature. Such persons are always looking towards their own satisfaction by all means and will not mind to have everything to themselves living others without.

Thus, affecting relationships and trust. Relationship is supposed to be with mutual benefits, but where one is always thinking highly on what would benefit him alone living others; beyond reasonable doubt that can easily destroy relationships and can breach trust as well.

Do you think greed is a natural human instinct, or is it something that is learned?

To my opinion, greed is a natural instinct. As humans we seems not to be satisfied with what we have, and we are always wanting for more and more which sometimes may look impossible to get. It is inside us to always desire for more which is natural as humans.

Such cravings or desire if not properly and carefully guided might gradually graduate to greed because excess and uncontrollable desire can amount to greed.

Have you ever witnessed or experienced the negative effects of greed in your own life?

By carefully examining ourselves, if we will be sincere to ourself we will definitely find out that we have once fall victims of the negative effects of greed in one way or the other.

I have been a victim of many scammed platforms, infact that was one of the reason that make me delayed joining steemit. Beside such platforms where I lost plenty money; I lost from this 419 people who once called me on that faithful day.

In a nutshell, they made me believed that I will get doubled of whatever amount I invested in the next 45 minutes. I know some people here know what I mean because this is very common in my country. Though it is common now but then it was a new strategy, they advised me not to tell anybody which I obeyed.

Immediately I did the so-called investment my eyes cleared, I knew that i have been cut off with the negative effects of greed. I waited after 45 minutes, like a joke 2 hours came and go, 4 hours, 24 hours without any return; I couldn't share with anybody. It was so painful but I learned my lessons.

I will like to invite my friends @rakiya, @gentlesun and @rossnenye to participate in this contest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68846.60
ETH 3872.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66