Contest: The level of absence of rights in my countrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in Steem4Nigerialast year (edited)

Welcome to my blog. It's really good and nice to have you all here today. I will like to drop a hint on this very interesting topic organized by @josepha. Absence of rights has been something we fully face here in my country.

Screenshot_20230221-065204.jpgSource

When there is good human rights policy, I don't think that those bad things happening today in my country will ever happen. The police are out there taking young boys who are innocent and most times killing them or even putting them in jail for no good reason. I think it is time that my country should change for the better. There are so many other things that are done by the government or government agencies that violate the rights of the civilians, therefore putting the people of the country in great fear and agony.

How is the level of human rights in your place?

I can say that the level of human rights is extremely bad and annoying; if you take a close look at the things happening in my country, you will regret why you were born here in Nigeria. The rights of humans are totally violated in such a way that they have nothing to do since they are poor and have no one to come on and speak for them. Now I will share with you the ways in which the rights of civilians have been violated in my country:

  • Doing an illegal arrest:

Is it good that someone would be arrested from your house or while walking on the way without showing someone the arrest warrant? This is a thing that happens in my country every day; the police will even barge into your home without knowing or informing you for some minutes. The SARS or SWAT will even see young boys in the way and automatically beat them and put them into their vehicle, without any good reason or just because they are wearing good clothes and using expensive clothes.

  • Shooting at the masses during protests:

Screenshot_20230221-064849.jpgSource

This is one human rights violation that got me crying. There was a time when some group of government workers decided to go on a protest because they are not paid at the end of every month and they have no other way to take good care of their family and loved ones. When the protest started, the army at Lagos fired guns on the masses and many people died, some were injured, and a good number of them ran away. Do you really think this is a good thing for a country like Nigeria, which is called the giant of Africa but has no good human rights policy and at times falls short of some policies?

There are so many things that are done that violate the rights of humans; some of them include not giving the civilians the opportunity to say what is going wrong in the country so that they could be helped, and many other things.

Do you think you are currently enjoying the fundamental human rights of your country? Tell us how you are enjoying it.

I am not enjoying this right in any dimension, because they are not properly carried out by the government and are also violated by them. How can a government agency come to arrest you and start beating you immediately without any good reason? How can a government agency come to arrest you without showing any arrest warrant by the court or by the government? How can the masses be killed because they want to protest to the government so that they can be paid and so that they can take good care of their families?

Why are the citizens not given the right to speak and the right to life? Why is everyone in my country always afraid to say the bad things happening in my country just because of the things the government does to them? Why are young boys being arrested or killed for the way they live their lives?

Do you have any stories where your life was tainted?

Yes, I have such stories because I have been a witness to them.

There was a day I was just walking down from my school and the sun was really hot. I saw one brother who lived in the street and he was with his fancy bike, and then he called me so that he could help carry me home. I was really happy because he has saved the stress that I could have fallen into, so we drove from one junction to the other, but unfortunately we saw some SARS agents.

They stopped us and took his phone. So that they can view it and see if he was a fraudster, at the end of everything they couldn't find Andy's evidence against, they threw many wrong questions at him but luckily he answered everything correctly, they now told him to give them some money, but he refused, and after telling them to make it clear to him why he would give them money for just moving on the way, all of a sudden they started beating him, and I came down off the bike, they told me to run away, and I ran away, and I was watching them from one corner.

The beat this brother till he was down. They took him inside his bike and carried him to the police station, so I ran back home and informed his parents. They went to their station to know the reason why their son was embarrassed. The SARS agents said that his son is a frauster, which was really wrong, but the parents had nothing else to do because it is that brother that is even providing for them. They paid some good money and he was released.

I think the rate at which human rights are being violated in my country is too high and needs to be stopped with immediate effect. Thank you for reading my post. I would like to invite @richy20, @graceani, and @fortwis09 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

Hmm, I remember the time of SARS. It was really terrible especially to young ones in the country. I know of many people who suffered from the hands of those so called officers. Nice one👍🏿

 last year 

Thank you bro for this nice comment, truely during that SARS period, things were hard.

Your post has been supported by @josevas217 from team 2 of the Community Curation Program. We invite you to continue sharing quality content on the platform, and continue to enjoy support, and also a likely spot in our weekly top 7.
Voting date: 21/02/2023

image.png

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66903.13
ETH 3103.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74