Steem4Nigeria Weekly Contest : What I Believed Versus The Real Picture @chiomzy810

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

10% to @smilenigeria
Hello steemians of Steem4Nigeria , how are you all doing, I believe this contest to be like flashback to everyone of us because back in those days we had a lot of things believing.

InShot_20220904_155618773.jpg

I will be answering few of the asked questions included in the contest.5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScKB9kVbR6zuG2i3AKHf1ZvWwJRgN4VCELf55dkM3Di1UcfwsAQiKvKgdbwHBRPwnk1PHmWr6WMPDfjgpANcVqLU4RH67itxg8S9U2fEZQJ2.png

5ShzsKnKF7vppGeV6VN3m3GSDcLoRruAhMmifZtFSDkYScKB9kVbR6zuG2i3AKHf1ZvWwJRgN4VCELf55dkM3Di1UcfwsAQiKvKgdbwHBRPwnk1PHmWr6WMPDfjgpANcVqLU4RH67itxg8S9U2fEZQJ2.png

WHAT HAVE YOU BELIEVED IN FOR A LONG TIME ONLY TO DISCOVER IT'S UNTRUE LATER?

image.png

When I was much younger I had a lot of stories I was told but now I have come to realize the real picture now, here are few of them;

  • In the old times I was told when I was small, that when a girl gets to play with a boy or when a guy touches a girl, she would get pregnant. It was later in my teenage age that I discovered that real truth which is, a girl can actually get pregnant only when she has sexual intercourse with a man.

  • Back in my those days, I was told that squatting while eating will cause the food to enter your legs and you will grow thin and can become ill. But the real picture here is that squatting while eating is actually a bad habit and could cause indigestion.

  • I also was told that ghost would appear when you look at yourself in the mirror at night but here later realized that it was said inorder for me not to near the mirror or break it at night.

  • This one is funny because until now, it sounds like truth to me. In those days too I was told that any person that has kyphosis (hunch back) is a Carrier of gold and normally hides away from people. But now the main reason why the kyphosis patients stays indoors is because of the mockery and fear of being used for rituals.

image.png

IS THERE ANYONE OR BODY ATTRIBUTED TO THAT BELIEF? AND HOW DID YOU GET TO KNOW THE TRUE PICTURE?

image.png

Of course there's, All this fallacies were told when I was little and a also a very early stage of teenage age. They were all told by our landlord's son back those days, even my mum and my Aunty's to contributed to some of them too.

And I got to know about the real picture when people from outside brings up a topic to discuss then boom! From there I will grab their discussion that so so thing is actually a fallacy to scare children away and eventually stop them from doing it engaging in a particular thing.

Sometimes kids or younger people don't get to believe things just the way it is but when you apply this fallacies it becomes more believable.

image.png

WHAT WAS YOUR REACTION WHEN YOU FINALLY UNDERSTOOD THE TRUTH OF THE MATTER? HAS THE OLD BELIEF AFFECTED YOU IN ANY WAY? (GOOD & BAD) OR WAS ANY LESSON LEARNED IN THEY PROCESS?

image.png

OMG!! That was my reaction, like I felt amazed and some how felt not being taken seriously. And sure the old belief have affected seriously and that's for good because if not for them I wouldn't have understood the bad things and avert from them, And also learn from the good easily.
I saw moral lessons in it which is trying to make us organize and respect ourselves.

image.png

DO YOU THINK YOU CAN EASILY BELIEVE SOMETHING SIMILAR TO THAT IN THE FUTURE?

image.png

I won't believe it but somehow I might believe it because it most times have morals attached to it. On the other hand I won't believe it because I don't think like a kid anymore and I know what can be the truth.

IMG_20220829_100742_2.jpg

image.png

CONCLUSION

image.png

This untrue stories told to us is actually like an eye opener because without it, some of us won't get to believe what is been really talked about. Cool contest indeed
I invite @joymm @olabillions and @hannybanny.

MBE7H8nhjQjDbEhvaT8mMU7RhZ4KtA5mTP7sx6jjqVtuj2SChRptgpqgEWvTXvmgie6hZtWPch1Lr6GZhSWwXVTZE5tdPp3BQzxRJPYizGqLKntxesVE5je452YcZMTaQwSEpEHHpHFPK6LWazKGfuoviDxjcFpzNdzTbN1iWQeJSQt9GfaNGz6NVBnR5dhNQQdc7cq7WknpZ1tJk467ETMxHk.jpeg

Cc:
@steem4nigeria
@frequantum
@ubongudofot

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Your second believe really caught my attention. I was told that too and I believed it. Am glad we know better now

Thank you dear for reading

The first story sound funny, when I was told the same story I was wondering how this could happen by just touching only to realize that the story teller could not explain it better than what they know.

What you don't know if full of confusion.

That was the world for us then

 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @fredquantum

We have a new contest running in the community and we look forward to your entries- Steem4Nigeria Weekly Contest - What I Believed Versus the Real Picture.

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62300.84
ETH 2421.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56