SEC15 WK1: "Life on Social Media"

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago

iMarkup_20240115_233100.jpg
source

Hello friends, good being here and participating in the very start of the season. Social media is a known platform that comes with a lot of benefits since its launch on the Internet. It has helped in the improvement of lives and many other sectors of endeavors. However, we can also perceive the grey areas as they also endanger us.

Do you support that our daily lives should be put up on social media all the time?

It is a No-No for me as I've never supported living our lives online. I still wonder how people feel comfortable doing all that. The little I put which isn't enough to cause any damage still makes me feel unsafe. I feel someone somewhere is getting to know enough about me. I know this may sound funny, but that is exactly how I feel.

For instance, when I put up a status update, it takes me extra effort to monitor those who already viewed it, and possibly when it is becoming too much to know those who viewed it I remove it from untimely before its expiration.

I feel usually compromised when exposed unnecessarily to public space and this makes me a little reserved in my posts and updates on those platforms. I have seen, heard, and known the dangers associated with this kind of exposure.

image. png
freekpik

Have you ever experienced or seen any case where a person has the habit of showcasing his life on social media and the effects turned out well?

My girlfriend and sometime colleague at my former workplace is a social habit indulger. She never stays a day without posting updates on her WhatsApp page. It is a bad habit that she discusses with people with her updates. She calls out all her friends and family members with this style of life.

It has worked out well for her as she derives joy from it and probably receives aid from her contact lists. Since her life depends on this, she did post everything thereby narrating both her happy and sad moods.

Most importantly, one thing that has worked well for her is the fact that she advertises some of her brand products that are up for sale. Leveraging on this channel has also improved her daily sales.

Do you think all the showcases on social media are true?

More than 50% of social media platform content is either untrue or hyped to impress and oppress others. This is common among my female gender. Since we want to slay and look our best, we go the extra mile to do everything to achieve this purpose.

We can see the outings in exclusive places posted without the poster either having direct knowledge of such environment or knowing there at all. Since the advent of Artificial Intelligence (AI), it has hyped the deceit found in social media platforms.

image. png
freepik

Do you feel safe on steemit with your information? What can you say about steemit

Steemit is a decentralized social media platform that could also serve the same purposes as the conventional centralized system but it also goes a step ahead to reward participants who engage with it.

I can hide my identity and whatever the shows to the public domain is who I am since I can make use of my username. The username makes it a little discrete for third parties to know who you are.

Moreover, this is more of a blogging and learning center for most users. The then SteemitCryptoAcademy and now Steemit Engagement Challenge (SEC) are well-thought-out initiatives that are impactful and my participation is more educative than harmful.

The steemit platform is a better and safest place to rely on vis-a-vis other social platforms that are marred with identity theft.

This is my contribution to the topic for the week. I wish to invite @eveetim and @hisgeneral.

Sort:  
 9 months ago 

Es importante saber cuales el limite de lo que se debe o no publicar en cuanto a la información personal. Como bien lo mencionas, no existe la necesidad de publicar el día a día de forma literal para lograr tener un contenido atractivo.

Hay que tomar en cuenta que quizás queramos dirigirnos a nuestros seres queridos y conocidos, pero hay que tomar en cuenta que existe un publico no identificado que tiene la capacidad de ver el contenido publicado por nosotros.

En la actualidad existen muchas maneras de violar la seguidita de muchas redes sociales. Muchos lo hacen los famosos hackers, otros son los mismo dirigente de redes sociales que usan la información de los usuarios para venderla a empresas de marketing.

Esto sin mencionar el crimen organizado que puede hasta hacer una visita a domicilio ya que se ha publicado donde se vive, lo que se tiene en casa, tipo de carro, entre otras cosas.

Simplemente hay que saber poner limite.

Te felicito por tu publicación. Suerte en el concurso.

Hasta la próxima...

 8 months ago 

Sincerely, I am a user of most of these social media platforms, because I derive leisure and ease off with some funny skits that come from it. But unfortunately, I am a discrete user when it comes to sharing my information indiscriminately. Thank you for your detailed and elaborate comments

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.

Curated by : @pelon53

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hello friend

It's interesting to know that you learn alot from the engagement challenge and the crypto academy. The identity on other social media platforms could be marred or compromised but the steemit is exceptional. I'm glad you take your security to discreet, taking caution in people who view your status and moñitor you. I enjoyed your entry and success in the challenge

 9 months ago 

I take my security discrete and ensure i do not share privacy unnecessarily. No one could be trusted, talk less of a public domain. Thanks for commenting on my post

 9 months ago 

Steemit is really a safe place for those who don't like those showoffs. Like you rightly mentioned, it is more of a blogging and learning social media unlike the others.

I wish you all the best in the contest my friend, thank you for the mention.

 9 months ago 

Thanks for always coming around.
Steemit has been exceptional when compared to other social media platforms.

Your cautious approach to sharing personal information on social media resonates highlighting the potential risks. The example of your colleague leveraging social media for business success is interesting. Your skepticism about the truthfulness of showcases on social media is valid. Its reassuring to hear your positive view of Steemits safety and educational value. Well-expressed thoughts.

 9 months ago 

You indeed summarized my post with those concise words. Those were my exact thoughts about the topic in question.

Loading...
 9 months ago 

¡Saluds amigo!😊

Cuando compartimos de manera detallada nuestra cotidianidad, nuestra vida deja de ser vivida por nosotros ya que, esta pasa a ser vivenciada por otras personas y, en lo personal, no me agrada por lo tanto, suelo marcan muchos límites y, no es que no haga vida en el mundo digital pero, evito caer en la exposición.

Te deseo mucho éxito en la dinámica, un fuerte abrazo💚

 8 months ago 

That's the key.. Having limits to the much we release out there is very important. This allow us to live our lives alone. At least for our sanity and safety, it is important we limit the exposure we create.

 8 months ago (edited)

Esa sensación de inseguridad cuanto pones algo de tu vida en las redes sociales, es justamente lo que muchos no sienten. Hay demasiado ego en las personas al exponerse demasiado con su vida privada sin límites y eso es una irresponsabilidad enorme.

Vivimos una innovación con la IA que ha potenciado todo ese ego. Lamentablemente los jóvenes e incluso los niños han sido víctima de una ola o moda absurda a la que son arrastrados por el hecho de sentirse aceptados.

Gran post estimada amiga, te deseo mucho éxito.

¡Un fuerte abrazo!

 8 months ago 

Exactly! The exposure from thr social media is I always want to shy away. We don't have to be all out with little reservations for ourselves. It doesn't mean well as do not live the desire lives of ourselves but for others.
Hug well accepted...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60583.13
ETH 2342.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48