"FOOD CHALLENGE CONTEST| My Ugboguru soup with Achara

in Steem4Nigerialast year

Polish_20230414_143717467.jpg

Ugboguru or Anyu is one of the most African food. Once being planted, it grows and have a seed like watermelon. But not as big as water melon. So, the seed is being cooked and enjoy as a meal while the leafs is being used to prepare porridge yam or Okra soup. So, there are a lot of things that makes up this food not only the Ugboguru leaf's and they are as follows.

  • Dry fish
  • Crayfish
  • Achara
  • Ugboguru leaf's
  • Palm oil
  • Seasoning cubes
  • Fresh tomatoes
  • Pepper
  • Okra
  • Ugba
  • Salt and
  • Onions.

Procedures.

Immediately I came back from the market with the above-mentioned ingredients. I washed my hands first. Then, I put the Okra in a clean bowel, washed it twice with water and salt.

Polish_20230414_143912617.jpg

After washing it, I sliced it. I divided each into 4 and now used knife to slice them little by little.

After the Okra, I poured the Achara inside bowel too and washed it because it's already been prepared by the market women. Then, I washed both onions and fresh tomatoes and sliced them together.

The Ugboguru leaf's has a strong rope like tissue covering it. So, I put it in a tray to remove those rope's.

Polish_20230414_143814657.jpg

After removing those rope's, I washed it twice too and used my fingers to chop the leafs which is the normal process.

Polish_20230414_143845905.jpg
Preparations done

Cooking

I washed my pot, put the dry fish, crayfish, Achara and Ugba in it. I added the seasoning cubes together with salt , pepper and onions

Polish_20230414_143936373.jpg

I placed the pot on fire and added 1/2 cup of water to it and allowed it to boil for 15 minutes. After boiling, I poured it out and placed the pot back in the fire. As soon as the pot dries, I put the palm oil and immediately add another onions with the fresh tomatoes. I fried them together for few seconds and add the sliced Okra. I fried the Okra for another 5 minutes and pour black the steamed ingredients to it. After few minutes of boiling, I add the vegetable which is Ugboguru leaf.

Polish_20230414_143647871.jpg

Oh yeah!!! My soup is ready. You can enjoy it with Eba, weat or semovita.

Polish_20230414_143744663.jpg

As for this food, it can be taking any moment of the day. It can serve as breakfast, lunch or even dinner. Though some persons prefer taking soups in the day. But it doesn't matter to me.

Health benefits of Ugboguru (fluted pumpkin)

Ugboguru leaf's is good for poeple suffering from blood shortages because it improves blood production. It's strong enough to fight high blood pressure because it contains polysaccharides and ethyl acetate which work is to lower the blood sugar levels in our body.

While Okra on its own has a lot of health benefits. It contains both Vitamin A and C. And the antioxidants contains in Okra can fight Cancer, diabetes, strokes etc.

Conclusion

When you look at my list, you will agree with me that this soup has a lot of health benefits. Check it again and please, make more research on those things I mentioned. Am inviting @mesola, @yourloveguru, @jueco to participate in this contest.

Cc @rich20

Sort:  

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @irawandedy

Screenshot_20221130-164846_Canva.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63026.81
ETH 3462.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51