Steem4nigeria Accelerator Contest Week 34: Time Changes

in Steem4Nigeria4 months ago

The only constant thing in life is change This is a popular saying by everyone because change is the only thing that is constant in this world.
As humans, we always have a change in our lives either for good or for bad, sometimes we have friends we trust so much, but they will end up betraying us.

Mention 5 things that were there in your country 10 years back that isn't here now?

vintage-tv-1116587_1280.jpg
Source

Tortoise car: I remember back then they were a car that is very small and portable, then if you are an owner for this car you're a very rich man.
In fact, it was among the trending cars then, but all of a sudden, I could find it again. It seemed it's no longer in my country.

Lamptain: You will hardly go to a house that you won't see a lamptain there, it a local constructed item that uses kerosene to function as source of lights, but I can not fund it anymore in my country because it outdated.

20240311_135649.jpg

Black Berry phones: I know it will spin very funny but it is the truth, there are no black Berry phones in my country and if you ask me the reason I don’t know, all of a sudden it just disappeared from my country Nigeria and for about 8 years now I haven't set my eyes on any black Berry phones.

Old television This is the television that has a big back and it very small in size, and since the introduction of flat screen television, this television has gradually left my country.

Cooking stoves: Back then this was what many people use in cooking their favourite meals, but now you will hardly go to a person house ans see him using such item to cook because we now have gas cooker everywhere and it's very fast and reliable.

Is the value of currency used in your country appreciating or depreciating?

20240311_134934.jpg

So sad, my currency Naira is among the worst currency in the world because it keeps depreciating every day.
About 8 years ago, a dollar was equivalent to 200 Naira, but now it is about 5 times higher than this value.

My currency keeps depreciating everyday, though sometimes it gain balance bit it very difficult for my country currency appreciate, many country that the value of our currency was higher than theirs now we can't compete with them anymore because of how our currency have massively depreciate.

Deliberate on the prices of 5 commodities in your country 10 years back and now.

20240214_091129.jpg

  • A bag of sugar 10 years ago was sold for 20,000 Naira, but now it costs about 110,000 to acquire a bag of sugar. You can see how the price of goods and services has massively increased.

  • 10 years ago , we normally bought a packet of noodles for 50 naira, but now it costs 300 to purchase these same noodles noodles noodles.

  • A litre of petrol cost 160 Naira 10 years ago, but now it's been sold for 700 Naira, how painful it is.

  • I personally bought a normally buy a bag of rice for 10,000 at abakaliki, but now the same bag of rice costs about 80,000 Naira. You can see how the price has massively appreciated.

  • Ten years ago, a bag of cement was sold for 2,500 Naira. Currently, it has massively increased as it costs 12,000 Naira to acquire a bag of cement in my country.

The economy of my country Nigeria have made things difficult for we Nigerians because we are finding it very difficult to survive and cope with the economy, price of goods and services have increased massively and the government are not concerned at all but I believe one day everything will be better for us.

Has these changes affected you? If yes, how. If no, tell us your secrets

20240311_134913.jpg

Yes, of course, these changes have affected me in a very negative way, and it has only been God since this hardship started.

I am not sure if there's anybody that has not been affected by these changes imagine spending your entire salary just to acquire foodstuffs at home, and the cost of transportation which have massively increased and it has been a problem for all of us.

I remember when we went into cashless policy where people use money to buy money, it is a shame for us because our citizens are the ones contributing to the hardship we are facing

Without doubt, the changes in my country have affected all most every citizen in my country and its not been easy fir us but I believe one day everything will become history.

I am using this opportunity to invite @pandora2010, @josepha, @kuzboy and @adachukwu to join me and participate in this wonderful contest


Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76