SEC WK2 : The language in my country

in Steem4Nigeria8 months ago (edited)

When the Holy Spirit descended unto the apostles, they started speaking different languages. Sometimes, I wonder how they managed to cope with each other during that period.
I am sure that cross river state is one of the states with, if not the highest amount of languages in Nigeria.
I live in Cross River state and I will proudly tell you that they have more than 100 languages because inside a local government they are more than 20 different languages, some times I wonder if they are a state or a country.

I am very pleased to share with you all about the different languages in my beloved country, Nigeria.

What is the name of your country? How many languages can be found in your country?

nigeria-1577895_1280.jpg
Source

Nigeria is my country, a place of joy and happiness, Nigeria is popularly known as the giant of Africa because it has reached abundant natural resources.
Nigeria is located in the western part of Africa, and it has borders with countries like Cameroon, Chad, Benin Republic, and Niger.

The motto of my country is Unity and Faith, Peace and Progress

I am very proud of my country, Nigeria, even though things aren't going well for us due to the corruption and bad government that we are facing in the country.


Nigeria is a country with more than three hundred ethnic groups and over five hundred languages with many clear-cut religious and regional differences.

The three main ethnic groups in my country are Yoruba, Hausa, and Igbo.

We normally say anywhere you go, and you don't see any of them better run for your life because it's not safe for you.
My country is considered one of the most ethnically varying countries in the world because it has numerous cultures and traditions.

Among the listed languages in your country, how many are you familiar with?

I am only familiar with 3 languages, and there are as follows

  • Igbo
  • Hausa
  • Tiv
  • Pidgin

IMG_0508.jpg
My humble self on my igbo attire

  • Igbo: I am proudly an Igbo man as I am from Ebonyi state, Nigeria.
    It is normal for me to be familiar with my language because here in Nigeria, it is advisable for one to speak and understand his language fluently.
    Whenever I travel to my hometown to spend some time there, I enjoy the treatment I get from people as they care about me.
    I am very proud of the culture and traditions of the Igbos as I am more familiar with it than any other language in my country.

  • Hausa: All my life, I have lived in a military base, and I was born in the northern part of the country precisely in Biu, Borno state.
    In the Barracks, the most common language is hausa, and that was how I became familiar and comfortable with this language.

fulanis-4917820_1280.jpg
Source

These people are very united together, and they love one another genuinely, it will be very hard for you to see a person that lives in the Barracks for a long time without hearing of speaking hausa language.
I am also familiar with their meals and cultures, and with no doubt, I enjoy leaving with them.

  • Tiv: This is my mum's language and I can somehow speak it but not fluently, I enjoy their culture because once you visit them as a stranger they will trat you like a king, in tiv land they don't joke with food at all because there once you see someone eating and you're interested in joining him you're free to go without being invited.

  • Pidgin: This is Nigeria general language it's commonly speak by people all over nigeria wether you go to school or not you will be able to speak pidgin language, and honestly speaking it's a very good language that many countries loves speaking because they enjoy it.
    My self i grew up and met this language and it has really helped me alot.

How has this language improved/helped your life and business?

dance-8085491_1280.webp
Source

Honestly speaking, being able to speak different languages will be an added advantage to you because it will help you in different ways.

Speaking Hausa has helped me infact it has saved my life before, they was a time that a little argument about a little piece of land between 2 different communities and our community was occupied with strangers so it escalated to a fight and they started kill the strangers in our area.
I was caught by them, and it was because I could speak hausa fluently that they spared my life, I pleaded with them with their language, and they released me.

It's very important to learn how to speak different languages because you don't know where you might be tomorrow.

The igbos are very good in business strategies, and as a confirm Igbo, being able to speak my language have really helped me because they was a time I travelled to portharcout City Nigeria, and the place that I was working was occupied by Igbo people and they helped me settle well and also taught me how to become successful.

Are you willing to teach your children these languages? Yes/No. State your reason

church-2658753_1280.jpg
Source

Why not? I will definitely teach my children these languages, and if it's possible for me, I will even teach them more different languages because it will really help them in life.

Reasons

My language has helped me in different ways, and I want to do the same to my children.
Being able to speak different languages has saved my life before, and this is a very important aspect of my life.

My children will have huge benefits and advantages of being able to speak different languages, because when they go to a new environment it will be very easy for them to adapt.

Igbo is a very good tribe and out of the three main ethnic group in my country I am capable of speaking 2 so it will be a bonus point for my children if I teach them this language and probably add Yoruba to it.

I am using this opportunity to invite @josepha, @pandora2010, @kuzboy, @pahoglas and @adriancabrera to join me and participate in this wonderful contest


Sort:  

TEAM 5

Congratulations! Your comment has been upvoted through steemcurator08.

Curated by : @josepha?

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.

Hello! 🌟😄

Your entry brought more than one smile to my face! 😄 It's fascinating to learn about the diversity of languages in Nigeria and how you've learned and engaged with them.

Your story about how speaking Hausa saved you in a tough situation is amazing. Speaking different languages can truly be a superpower in unexpected situations!

And I love that you want to teach these languages to your future children. They will be budding polyglots! 🌍 Plus, your reasons are very solid, especially considering how these skills have benefited you in life.

Thanks for sharing your experience and participating in the contest. Until next time, and keep being a proud Igbo! 👋😊

Wow thank you very much my brother for adding value to my post, i really appreciate 😀 your valuable comment

Loading...
 8 months ago 

Hello dear, I wish to you to be in peace and living their best moments of life.From your post it came to light that you have knowledge of many languages, it is a very good thing, language is an important means of communication with people.I enjoyed reading your post. Wish you good may you always achieve whatever you aim for yourself in life and make the best journey .Greetings from me Have a beautiful.

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment on my blog 😀 i do appreciate 😊

It's amazing to know that in Cross River State of Nigeria, over 100 languages exists over there. This shows the diversity nature of my country Nigeria. Being a multiliguist is very beneficial. Teaching your children your mother tongue will ensure that the language doesn't go into extinct. Good luck on your post.

Thanks for adding value to my post i really appreciate 😀 🙏

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64