The boarding school effects on children"

in Steem4Nigeria9 months ago (edited)

Introduction

Boarding schools offer a unique educational experience that can be beneficial for some students, but they may not be suitable for everyone. The decision to attend a boarding school should consider individual needs, goals, and preferences.

girl-3038974_1280.jpg
pixabay

Have you or someone close to you experienced life in a boarding school? Would you like to share the experience?

The first day I left my family for school, was like a death sentence because I was going to live with people I didn't know, start life on my own, and do everything by myself.
I cried when my latent dropped me and left.
I was running after the car because I did not want to stay. Days passed, weeks passed and months and I was getting to it.

I was so beautiful, small, and smart, and as soon as I got there, they gave me a school mother, school sister, and caretaker.
All these people washed my clothes, gave me their food,d and did so many things for me. The kind of provision and money I take to school, there is nobody who does not want to be around me. My mum made pretty and very fitting wear for me, uniforms, compound wear, etc.

girl-1721392_1280.jpg
pixabay

We do social night every Saturday, and that was where I learned what the devil basket is. We write shoutouts to our loved ones. We danced and acted in drama, and there were so many things we did for fun.

The existing part of being a border is the visiting day, my parent will come with plenty of food and provisions even though the one I have was still plenty. They usually give those taking care of my money. At some point, a lot of people got to know my parents, and they usually came to call me when my parents came.

I was this very stubborn girl then in school, I could hardly get bullied. I am very smart, attentive, and brilliant. I can speak very well and I always win arguments. Even as small as I was nobody could intimidate me. I report every case to the matron or the principal. Or even the corners serving in the school.

I attended an all-girls school and at some point, you are going to see the true attitude of people. The bad ones, the good ones trying to get bad, the already bad ones trying to possess the other. The school was filled with so many bad attitudes. Some of the girls jump out through the fence to go and party late at night and you dare not report them. Some introduce junior students to lesbianism. and a whole lot more. They forget they are destroying the leaders of tomorrow.

school-3980940_1280.jpg
pixabay

The one thing that made me leave there before my SSS3 was the case of a bush baby. One night I went to sleep in my school sister's room in the red house. Because I was in the blue house. I got there she was not around and I had to just lay on the bed waiting for her. And I slept off on the up bunk, at midnight I heard a cry like that of a little child, I didn't know what it was at first but since I already heard stories of bush baby I knew it was it. I was so scared to my bone marrow, I began to think what if it brought its hand through the window because the bunk was very close to the window and the only option I was left with was to throw myself from the bed to the floor and that was how I slept on the floor and the next holiday I told my parents I was done at first my dad refused and insist I will go back but I told him I already made another school uniform for a different school and this time a day school and that was how I left the school.

fantasy-3340944_1280.jpg
pixabay

Would you love to send your kids to a boarding school? Please give your reasons.

Boarding schools are not the way it is to be, a lot of things are going wrong, although not all the schools
would love to send my kids to boarding school because most of the exposure and experience I have today was the result of my time in boarding school. Boarding school is a place of fun and associating with potential friends or foes. I remember vividly back in school days when I was claiming to be a badass runner and I was selected to run for a house in the next coming inter-house sports.

So one early Saturday morning5 a.m. they told us prospective athletes to come train. With the cold and my sleepy eyes I slaggy went. Omo the first kick I did not even see myself able to run the other guys without having a machine on their legs. After I just had to quit. My housemaster called me to educate me on the downside of procrastination and it’s the effect that I learned my first lesson.

Keeping to time is another thing. Like a training ground to culture and crop down one's excesses. That’s why I don’t play with time. My interaction with people today started from my boarding school days.
Boarding school is a building place for a child to choose right or wrong. Being a border taught me resilience, courage, and so many other things. Being a border taught me to be social.

women-655353_1280.jpg
pixabay

What has been the experience trying to relate, bond, or adjust to a kid after spending years in a boarding facility?

Well, I would say nothing much. I grew up with my both parents and going to boarding school restricted me from having the childhood fun other kids that were not boarders had. So now that I'm older, sometimes I still feel like there was a lot I missed about being a child. We do lessons during holidays. We read and travel. Nothing fun about my childhood especially not being able to play with and like other kids.

Also, I would say, that I barely mingle with people who are not on the same level as me, I like to have educating conversations and I do that with people who match my energy. I'm very social and learned that from school, so now I'm trying to minimize of level of socializing. I want to love like an introvert for a while and get to know what it feels like.

mother-1077334_1280.jpg
pixabay

Do boarding schools produce people who are ready and able to cope with the reality of life with or without parental guidance?

I would say is not really about the school but personality. The decision every child makes is what suits them. Aside from that, I learned to be outspoken in public, I also learned to speak only when I ought. Bring up a child in a way that is good and when he grows he won't depart from it does not work anymore. We live with how the system of the government is moving. We are always strategizing to keep living fine. So I would say some so many children will be able to cope and love with traditional parental guidance.

woman-1845517_1280.jpg
pixabay

Can the discipline obtained from such an institution equal that of the parents at home? What can't be learned in a boarding facility? Do you think they are missing one of any important aspects of their development?

There is nothing that can be compared to what our parents taught us. My dad taught me contentment, my dad taught me appreciation, my dad taught me hard work. The school taught me to endure pain but did not teach me how to put the pain behind me. The school instructed us to pray but my dad taught me how to pray.

There are lots of things that can't be learned in boarding school.

1: Cooking
2: Skills
3: Patience
4: Obedience Etc

Yes, they are missing some important development, which is there should be a subject that teaches skills.
Like soap making, tailoring, crafts, etc.
They need to teach the children how to survive on their own after school, especially those who won't be able to study further after writing the WAEC.

grandmother-988989_1280.jpg
pixabay

Thank you for reading all about my experience as a boarder, I look forward to reading yours too.

I'm inviting @bossj23, @emmy01, and @darr22 to participate in this contest.

Sort:  

This post has been upvoted through -Steemcurator09.



Team Newcomer- Curation Guidelines For October 2023 Curated by - @karianaporras

Note:

We invite all newcomers from 0 to 3 months of existence in steemit to use hashtags #newcomer and #country.

 9 months ago 

Hello @blessingogah-1

I think you need to check the title of this your post and make the corrections because the actual contest with this title expired a long time ago.

Call my attention when you do.

Ok ma

Haha, sorry for your first experience as a boarding student, i also feel sad when i left my lovely family to stay with strangers.

Cooking like you mentioned is something all female gender should know how to do perfectly, so with this, i think it's right for children to stay with parents while continuing their academy.

I enjoy reading your post, though it's long but interesting. Goodluck dear

@ruthjoe i have done it ma.
Thank you for calling my attention to it ma.

Loading...
 9 months ago 

It is true that when you are in boarding school, you do your work with punctuality.It is a building place for a child to choose right or wrong.

Exactly.

Boarding school is a place of lesson.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67315.02
ETH 3517.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09