Mini Contest -- My Steemit Name Is @benton3

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Polish_20220807_113205783.jpg

Hello friends, hope we are having a great weekend. It is another great week that just got started.

I am starting this week with this great contest from @goodybest in Steem4Nigeria community entitledWhat Is Your Steemit Name?

IMG-20220608-WA0007.jpg

Introduction

A name is important for identification of a person or thing. As humans, the names given to us may indicate the events surrounding our conception and birth, it may be that we are named to remember a very close relative, could be that we are given such name to show our appreciation for such gift from God.

This is also applicable to the names we give to projects, business and other things we do.

IMG-20220608-WA0005.jpg

Tell Us why you choose your Steemit name?

My steemit username is @benton3. The name came out from a name a that I have always had in mind to use as a business name if I grow up.

It is the short form of benetton, which was the name of my dad's friend who was so playful and kind. He is an Israeli and was always with him when I was small. He was fun to be with and cared much about us.

Since after he went back to his country, we lost contact but the name and kindness associated with him makes me not to let the name disappear from my mind. From them on, I decided that I would use it as a business name when I grow up. So sometimes, I use the full name, other times, I use the short forms.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

Is there someone you've dedicated the name to?

Like I said earlier on, I make use of it to remind me of that my dad's friend. He did what no one can do for you today. In the early 80s, he normally send shipment of containers filled with fabrics to my dad without payment. My dad would then sell the fabrics and send back whatever he tells him is the cost of those goods. He will leave all the profits for my dad to make use of. It was a source of livelihood for us then. It required so much trust and great tolerance for anybody to display that level of kindness to you today.

IMG-20220608-WA0007.jpg

Are you satisfied with your name?

I am very much satisfied with the name. It brings good and appreciable memories to me. Whenever the man visits Nigeria, I enjoy staying with him. He loves bananas a lot, so my mom will always buy bunches of bananas for him until he goes back to his country again.

This always reminds me of great kindness shown to me and impresses on me the need to be kind to others irrespective of their race, colour or language.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

If you're given a chance will you change your name?

I don't have any intention of changing the name whether now or in the future, even if I am given the chance to do so.

IMG-20220608-WA0006.jpg

Conclusion

A name is very important in everything we do. The same is applicable to our steemit name. My steemit name is very important and dear to me.

I invite @madilyn02, @fortwis09 and @ngoenyi to join in this contest.

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Wow! This is the first time I am hearing about how this username came about. The man, Benetton is really a good person to have assisted your dad in that regard. Such persons are hard to find now. Success with your entry

Thank you so much for going through my post.

 2 years ago 

Congratulations, your post has been supported by @steem4nigeria. This is the official community account of Nigerians on Steemit. You can reach us here on our community account.

Manual Curator : @Reminiscence01

Subscribe and Join Steem4Nigeria Telegram
Discord Facebook Twitter

Hello, I will like to invite you to the ongoing Power up promotion and stand a chance of winning 2000SP in delegation. This is a great opportunity you wouldn't want to miss to build your Steem power and win delegation rewards. Join the contest using the link below.

Contest Alert (#growwithsteem-naija) Let's Grow Bigger Naija (Powerup/Promotion) by @ngoenyi. Win Monthly Delegation

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04.

Curated By - @msharif

Curation Team - The Efficient Seven

 2 years ago 

It's so thoughtful of you to dedicate your username to your dad's friends, him helping your dad as you explained shows he is a kind and wonderful person. I hope you both reconnect one day.

I looking forward to that day. Thank you for stopping by.

 2 years ago 

You are welcome

Let's say your username is a tribute to this great man. I can't imagine how awesome he must have been during those days for you to have adopted the name. A wonderful piece about your username, @benton3.

Thanks bro, the man was an example of kindness for real. Thank you for going through my post.

An interesting story lies behind your the choice of your steemit name. Your dad's friend is such a kindhearted benevolent man.

Great to read your story.

Thanks for stopping by. Really appreciates.

Loading...
 2 years ago 

Wow! It's good to read reasons behind your Steemit name, Benneton was such a kind person for you to used his name as remembrance. Thanks for sharing with us, I really appreciate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60354.53
ETH 2608.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54