Investment that changed my Finances By @benton3

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

IMG_20220310_102844_156.jpg

It is another wonderful day to us all. Great morning from here to you all. Hope we are all doing great.

Introduction

It is a pleasure to me seeing the contest hosted by @fredquantum with the topic Investment that changed my Finances. This is great considering the plethora of investment opportunities we have.

What is the name of the best investment you have been involved?

I have been involved in so many businesses and investments, right from buying and selling of goods to selling of services.

But out of them all, the one that I will regard as the best so far, having so much impact in my life is investment in Stocks, under the umbrella of the Nigeria Stock Exchange.

Many of you now may not be too familiar with it. But trust me, it is very profitable and can also lead to so much losses if investment was not made at the right time.

What financial sector does it belong to?

This belongs to the Stock Market Sector. It comprises of various stocks of companies that have things in common. The companies worth is represented by the value of their shares in the stock market.

The shares are the units which may be owned by individuals or companies representing their level of ownership in that particular company. So when the company does well, the value of the shares appreciates and when it does not, the value falls.

The stock market sector is divided into categories depending on the type of company and what it does.

What is the outcome of the investment? Successful or the other way.

I would always say any day anytime, that my my investment in the stock market have been very profitable.and successful.

I was advised by a senior colleague in my office to be saving 5% of my salary every month end by investing in the stock market.

Then we can buy as low as 1 unit of share. It was very easy doing so then. I was talking about the year 2000. First bank shares could be bought at 3-5 naira/share

By the time stocks appreciated with its peak in October 2008, My finances was definitely improved. It helped I and my wife a lot during our wedding even though my salary was still very low. This is just an aspect of the outcome of my investment in Stocks. At a point, the money I make through trading in stocks was more than my salary for the month.

Are you still living on the effect of the investment?

I will say yes. As it stands, there are some stocks in my portfolio bag. Just tried making some sales a month ago, and it was like wow after more than a decade of not touching it. Since I had other things doing to take care of the family, the stocks were left in a cooler.

Would you be willing to go into a new investment anytime soon? If Yes, what type of investment, and what is your plan towards achieving it?

I would like to go into new investments. I love trying out new opportunities. I would have loved to enter into real estate investment. But I do not like much publicity and so much regulatory infractions which definitely comes with investment in real estate. So I want to expand my investments in the stock market to buying international stocks while increasing the quantity I have in our local stock market(NSE)

Buying stocks like S&P, Nasdaq, etc. With these kind of international stocks, yearly dividend payments is enough to take care of your needs at advanced age.

I had a elderly friend though late now. who always advises me to go for stock investment. The least he can earn is 50 million naira from dividends every year. But you will never know his worth since it is not something the public sees. And he was never interested in land and buildings because as he said"It involves much stress"

I also wants to be a huge investor in steemit so that my dependence on the curators will totally stop. Knowing that with it, my needs will be taken care off.

I hope to achieve this once there is upward price movement in the crypto space. I am also practicing crypto trading. Once I achieve 80% success rate, I intend to inject funds and trade, raising funds for my future investments.

Conclusion

It has been lovely writing this contest. Maybe, later I can write more about the stock market so that many can learn from it.

Thank you @fredquantum for organizing this contest.

I am inviting @goodybest, @madilyn @eliany.

Sort:  

@benton3 - If you had mentioned some of the stocks you actually invested in, and the returns you gained, the post would have had a lot more credibility.

Otherwise this post really lacks any real substance or worth, and would count as poor curation by @chiabertrand.

cc @fredquantum @chiabertrand @kouba01

 2 years ago (edited)

Thanks for the notification, @steemcurator01. We have hammered within our team many times on the importance of selecting only outstanding articles on a day of one's duration. We have seen cases when curators come up with two or more posts seeking the team's resolution on it as regards the best. We are sorry for this occurrence and promise to be more careful subsequently.

Loading...

Respect curator01, so sorry for the choice I made. I didn't realize I had to judge base on the examples of real proof of @benton3's post about him showing us some of the benefits on his stock investment such as his gains and returns

But promise to be more careful on my next selections

Thanks for bringing this to my noticed curator01. Will be extremely very careful next time after learning from this incident

Cc: @steemcurator01

 2 years ago 

Stock market investment Is great. It really helped us to take care of our experiences then and it's still helpful now. Sometimes I wonder when you where able to buy those shares. Am glad you did at least when we are at a very tight corner, you will just dispose a little for support.

Thank you for your entry.

 2 years ago 

You have shared about your investment and how it has changed your finances in this article. Thanks for sharing quality content in the community, we encourage you to continue sharing great articles. Your entry is noted.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for sharing a well written posting. I believe that to be a trader on must have "hair on your teeth". I think I get way too nervous and too quickly.
Best of luck from achieving your goal!

Thank you for your best wishes.

Awesome piece from you, @benton3. Glad to learn from your investment in Stock market, that's one of the most profitable financial sectors.

Looking forward to expanding your shares in the stock market and investing in Steem are great choices. I wish you the best in achieving it. Thanks for making an entry.

Hello @benton3, thanks for sharing this quality content here with us. I believe it will go a long way to help any person that come across this

I am so happy I did something a person can learn from. Thanks for going through.

Your post has been successfully curated by our team through @chiabertrand. Thank you for your committed efforts, we invite you to do more and continue to post high-quality posts for a chance to win a valuable upvote from our curating team and why not be selected for an additional upvote later this week in our Top Seven.

received_495607172074545.jpeg

Note: Always use the tag #fbcrypto to quickly access your post.

Nice piece of work from you

 2 years ago 

Wow, this is great and it's good to learn about other investments apart from what I know already, thanks for sharing sir.

Being a big investor in steemit is a nice idea and being independence is the sweetest because is simply the best place to invest in. Crypto trading is the next thing on my mind to learn and by then, I will come knocking at your door.

Hahaha, once I know it to the level I want, I won't have problem with you knocking at my door.

Hahaha, thanks boss and we move.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59737.47
ETH 3186.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43