Ngoenyi Contest: Five things I like about my city Lagos state // presented by @beautybb 21/2/22

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago
Happy to be in @steem4Nigeria, I will be grateful to write about Nigeria and its residence. This contest is a wonderful way to write about Nigeria,but today my focus is on my city of residence which is Lagos State.

Five Things I like about Lagos State

1) Medical support(Hospital)

As a nurse with 12 years working experience, I can rightly say that Lagos state has a good medical facilities, that are well equipped with qualified nurses and doctors.

In the Eastern part of Nigeria some death are as a result of non equipped hospitals, before you get a hospital thar has a ventilated Intensive Care Unit(ICU) you need to travel for hours with the sick patient sometimes they wont make it, in some cases when you get there the price of those facilities will be too expensive that the patient relatives may not afford to pay, and the person will die.
But in Lagos you don't need to travel that far, both the government hospitals and private hospitals are well equipped with those needed equipment to save life, because of this I like the health sector of Lagos State.

why am writing about medical support.

Personally I have benefited from this provision, currently I was sick and because there was a good diagnostic centers I was able to get adequate solution to my problem.

2) Roads and safety.

Lagos is a small city with over a million in population, as a result Lagos is number one when it comes to traffic.
To reduce this traffic the Government built some many crossover bridges and head bridges, this helps Lagosians to travel back home from work without much stress.

Some areas in Lagos they have what is called one way rule, this also reduces traffic and saves time.
Because of the good road in Lagos, the rate of accidents are few.

why am writing about Road and safety.

Lagos is the only place you will see a spoilt commercial bus conveying people to their destinations and collecting money.

They will load passengers, and wait for another bus to push them from the back, and like is a joke they will take you to your destination.

And you will not hear cases of accidents because there is good roads and the follow instructions as due.

Business

Lagos is a place where a serious pure water seller can become a millioner.
No matter what you sell, people will patronize you, just be serious about it.

Food

Hunger can never kill you in Lagos, no matter how difficult life deals with you, as little as 200 niara (1 steem) you will have a full and healthy meal, just buy roasted plantain and beans, you will be filled, or beans and bread and you are full.
Everywhere you go, you see different type of affordable road side food, and you eat and continue your life.
In Lagos state you see different types of fast food restaurants like:

  • Chicken Republic
  • Cubby spot (small chops Center)
  • Southern sharwama
  • Spar and shoprite Centers
    Just to mention but few.

One good thing is that, as a result of advance in technology, you can just order from your destination and you will get whatever you want in 45 minutes, with the help of an application called jumia food.

Culture

Lagos is a city with people from the North, South and Eastern part of Nigeria, it even consist of people who are not from Nigeria.
So when it comes to culture everyone lives according to his or her own culture.
But the dominant culture is Yoruba culture, I to be honest I love their in some areas, they don't discriminate because of religious background.

When its comes to marriage they don't take bride price or demand huge things like the Eastern people.
Just a little preparation of Ewedu and Amala with big meat, marriage is done.

why I like this.

Is funny, because thet don't suffer on the name of am getting married,whatever you can provide is ok by the parents or your inlaws.

I hereby invite @donpearl, @princeshope @sammylove to join in this contest

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thanks for sharing with us, you have got a beautiful city and with no doubt, it's one of the largest commercial cities in the country.

 2 years ago 

Wonderful description of how Lagos city. I have been in Lagos city and I understand the traffic situation and the type of vehicles that ply the road. I am glad about waulys that has been put in place to reduce the traffic congestion.

The medical support system is wonderful. That means I have a city with all I need for medical emergencies.

Thank you so much for taking part in this contest. I wish you success

 2 years ago 

Thank you for checking on my blog

 2 years ago 

Wow! 200 niara is very cheap. It will not even buy half a bread in South Africa. Thank your sharing your city!

 2 years ago 

Yesoooo very cheap and healthy food

Lagos is the only place you will see a spoilt commercial bus conveying people to their destinations and collecting money..... this one got me cracking my ribs 🤣🤣🤣🤣.... seriously funny. But I like Lagos o... very interesting environment.

 2 years ago 

Thats the truth ooo, it happens every day

Very funny indeed.

Lagos my Lagos, I remember when I was in this city jumping from one moluwe to another,😁😁😁 God really saved me and my family we never fell down from a moving moluwe because drivers may never stop properly for passengers to board the popular moluwe bus. Thanks for reminding me of Lagos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59695.98
ETH 2665.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48